See site in english Voir le site en francais
Website skin:
home  download  forum  link  contact

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: [closed] UCGO Beta test ver 091205  (Read 46833 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
05 December 2009, 04:11:32
Welcome to UCGO beta test ver 091205


1-This thread is only for registered beta tester feedback, all other post will be deleted.
2-If you want to register for beta testing see below "Register for beta testing"


Current version test special instructions

Please review the changelog.txt, check "your" bug and what was changed
test and repost bugs or remark that where not taken in account.

Changelog:
http://www.dansteph.com/publie/ChangeLog.txt


Bug reporting form

Please use the text form in the link below to report bugs: It's important !
http://www.dansteph.com/publie/beta_form.txt

Please follow "your" bug and once cleared (probably with a new version) check and
confirm in beta test thread that the bug is gone. It may be a good idea to keep a
list of "your" bugs.



Feedback

Feedback are importants, please be verbous, precise, don't hesitate to write what you
think or post anything you want about beta. I'm working 12h/24h on code so sometime
I may forget the big picture. Use the form above for bugs. Keep me informed of any status
change if you can't test anymore for example.

Never forget that the final quality of addons depend enterely of YOUR TESTS.

Much thanks for your help :beer:


Registering for beta testing

Team is complete yet sorry... maybe later ?
(appart if you are an Orbiter VIP of course, if it's the case then pm me)



Much thanks !

Dan



Message modifié ( 05-12-2009 04:43 )


Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #1 - 05 December 2009, 04:42:57
Okay uploaded, I'll take some rest... :beer:


Offline woo482

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 266
  • Karma: 0
Reply #2 - 05 December 2009, 04:53:59

UCGO BUG

Bug with: DGIV 2

Severity: Minor

Complete description
UCGO cargo selection box appears to be blank:
http://img37.imageshack.us/img37/9048/dgiv21.jpg

Reproduce bug
open a scenario with a DGIV then try and load a UCGO cargo threw the scenario editor



Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #3 - 05 December 2009, 04:59:08
AAGHHH I didn't took in account the file change for DGIV... I'll do it for the next beta.
For yet just spawn UCGO cargo in scenario and grapple them with DGIV-2, 4 should fit.

Dan


Offline insanity

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
  • Karma: 0
Reply #4 - 05 December 2009, 05:08:32
Quote
DanSteph wrote:
AAGHHH I didn't took in account the file change for DGIV... I'll do it for the next beta.
For yet just spawn UCGO cargo in scenario and grapple them with DGIV-2, 4 should fit.

Dan

I've tried a few times now and I can't get any UCGO in the DGIV doing that.



Post Edited ( 12-05-09 05:10 )


Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #5 - 05 December 2009, 05:13:53
AAAAHGHHHH....

Yes the DGIV-2 is messed because file organisation change, I didn't think to check
it after.

I'll post a DGIV-2 patch tomorrow. (I'm done yet, better not touch anything when tired ;) )



Message modifié ( 05-12-2009 05:18 )


Offline Shadow Addict

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
  • Karma: 0
Reply #6 - 05 December 2009, 05:47:22

UCGO BUG


Bug with:

UMMU


Short description:

No visual display for atmosphere analyzing


Severity

Minor non-bug


Complete description

When ALT-X is pressed, there isn't a visual display that says if atmosphere is present, only an audio one. I tend to
play with Orbiter muted, so it'd be nice to have it show up on the screen somewhere.


Reproduce bug

Press ALT-X to detect atmosphere


Miscallenous

This isn't a bug at all, just a feature request.


Offline Shadow Addict

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
  • Karma: 0
Reply #7 - 05 December 2009, 05:50:04
Also, I love the UMMU sidestep feature. Very helpful when lining up modules.


Offline sunshine135

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 547
  • Country: United States us
  • Karma: 3
  • I fly by the seat of my pants!
Reply #8 - 05 December 2009, 06:20:45
All Beta Testers:

FYI...All previously saved scenarios are invalid. If you saved a scenario in the Quick save folder, you will likely see a CTD
and a message in Orbiter.log like this:

Finished initialising world
>>> ERROR: No vessel class configuration file found for:
>>> ERROR: UCGOArrowFreighter
>>>        [C:\Source\Orbiter\Vessel.cpp / 248]
>>> TERMINATING <<<


"Sun Dog"

Offline Shadow Addict

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
  • Karma: 0
Reply #9 - 05 December 2009, 06:22:26
The scenario issue is fixable. You just have to go through and fix all the UCGO vessel names (i.e. take out UCGO from in
front and replace it with UCGO\[folder]\) and also I think fix all the cargo names that are attached to the Arrow. I spent a
few minutes doing this and now my scenario is working fine.


Offline sunshine135

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 547
  • Country: United States us
  • Karma: 3
  • I fly by the seat of my pants!
Reply #10 - 05 December 2009, 06:35:39

UCGO BUG


Bug with:

Arrow Freighter System Display


Short description:

Bay Door messages and virtual cockpit typos


Severity

typo


Complete description

1. Bay doors now function properly and give the correct messaging, but the message is not grammatically correct. Messages say
"Bay door closed", "Bay door open", "Bay door opening", and "Bay door closing" All of these messages should be changed to say
"doors"- the plural of door, because there are technically two doors on the docking bay.

2. Also, The transfer button for crew transfer is misspelled as "transfert". It should be transfer.

3. "Add From Disk" should be "Add to Disk"


Reproduce bug

Open Arrow virtual flight deck and open and close the docking bay doors. Observe the EVA panel.


Miscallenous

As major bugs are being eliminated, I am getting picky now.  :top:



Post Edited ( 12-05-09 06:38 )

"Sun Dog"

Offline sunshine135

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 547
  • Country: United States us
  • Karma: 3
  • I fly by the seat of my pants!
Reply #11 - 05 December 2009, 06:42:40
Dan,

On Frame Rate Improvements on the virtual Flight Deck- I am up to 60FPS!!!!


8o 8o 8o


I never get 60FPS with a virtual flight deck! That is huge with my simple 256MB video card in my laptop- an almost 100%
improvement over the previous frame rate!!!


You are truly a master!


Cheers,



Post Edited ( 12-05-09 06:43 )

"Sun Dog"

Offline sunshine135

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 547
  • Country: United States us
  • Karma: 3
  • I fly by the seat of my pants!
Reply #12 - 05 December 2009, 07:00:24
Tested ISOTAP, and the shaking movement is gone with the Autopilot. Even 100X ran smooth as silk. Autopilot functioned to
land the ISOTAP on the moon perfectly. I will test further with other bodies.

Time acceleration impact on the wheel is now slight. When you are full speed on the wheel at 1X baseline, the speed now
reduces by about 1/8 in time acceleration. It is slightly noticeable, but not enough to be annoying to me. I could use
another tester's eyes on that to give an opinion.

Mid-morning in Europe, but 1AM Eastern Time here in the US. I am off to bed!



Post Edited ( 12-05-09 07:02 )

"Sun Dog"

Offline Nemoricus

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 39
  • Karma: 0
Reply #13 - 05 December 2009, 08:24:01
I just tested the ISOTAP, and it works fine under high time acceleration, at least until shortly before the landing. If you
remain in high time acceleration, the probe will bounce off the surface of the moon. Time acceleration should be reduced
during the final phases of probe landing.

Now, as for extreme cases, I'm going to see how it does with a hyperbolic approach to Mercury and Jupiter.

DAN NOTE TO SELF: I must limit to 10x when near ground.


Offline Fox-Terrier

  • League of
  • Legend
  • ******
  • Posts: 1426
  • Country: Switzerland ch
  • Karma: 28
  • :D
Reply #14 - 05 December 2009, 08:46:01

UCGO BUG


Bug with:

cars


Short description:

CTD when pushing F5


Severity

CTD


Complete description

Load the AI cars dance scenario, select cockpit view (F1) click F5 (waypoint editor) and CTD !


Reproduce bug

Load the AI cars dance scenario, select cockpit view (F1) click F5 (waypoint editor) and CTD

Miscallenous

it has maybe something to do with a module that I have installed ... (I don't have LOLA MDF)



Offline Shadow Addict

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
  • Karma: 0
Reply #15 - 05 December 2009, 09:00:36
Couldn't reproduce the above bug in Orbiter 2009.


Offline Nemoricus

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 39
  • Karma: 0
Reply #16 - 05 December 2009, 09:02:59
Okay, I just attempted to smack ISOTAP into Jupiter at a velocity in excess of 110 km/s. It did not go as I expected. The
stock atmosphere slowed the probe down massively, so it was able to land essentially normally.

However, it was at a rather large tilt shortly before landing. I'm not really sure why. Might have something to do with
Jupiter's high angular velocity and large radius.

Also, the autopilot becomes unstable in an atmosphere at 100x time acceleration.

By the way, the ISOTAP's lost in space message is pretty funny.

EDIT: Another impact test. Tried smacking it into the moon at about 50 km/s. The probe couldn't brake fast enough and bounced off at far more than escape velocity.



Post Edited ( 12-05-09 09:14 )


Offline Nemoricus

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 39
  • Karma: 0
Reply #17 - 05 December 2009, 09:20:07
UCGO BUG


Bug with:

UMmu


Short description:

Captain UMmu has a problem with its eye texture


Severity

Detail


Reproduce bug

See any spacesuitless Captain UMmu.

Miscallenous


Offline the.punk

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 80
  • Karma: 0
Reply #18 - 05 December 2009, 10:22:10
Quote
Fox-Terrier wrote:

UCGO BUG


Bug with:

cars


Short description:

CTD when pushing F5


Severity

CTD


Complete description

Load the AI cars dance scenario, select cockpit view (F1) click F5 (waypoint editor) and CTD !


Reproduce bug

Load the AI cars dance scenario, select cockpit view (F1) click F5 (waypoint editor) and CTD

Miscallenous

it has maybe something to do with a module that I have installed ... (I don't have LOLA MDF)


Couldn't reproduce this.



Post Edited ( 12-05-09 10:28 )



Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #19 - 05 December 2009, 10:38:52
Quote
Nemoricus a écrit:
Captain UMmu has a problem with its eye texture

If you mean the blue circle they are supposed to represent glasses :sad:
Else it's the eyes ? in this case I don't see the problem in shots.

Quote
Fox-Terrier a écrit:
Short description:

CTD when pushing F5

Can you reproduce it each time ? (ça plante à tout les coups?)
What scenario ?
Anything you are doing (Une manip spéciale genre presser F5 dans deux cars différent?)

Anyway even with a module or whatewer  other addon a CTD mean there is a serious problem of memory overwriting
in car's module as waypoint are totally internal, nothing should affect it. (en bref c'est la merde)

Top priority as this may be a critical bug. I'll see in my code what can do that...

Dan


Offline the.punk

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 80
  • Karma: 0
Reply #20 - 05 December 2009, 10:51:26
Ok. Tested the probe. After landing on earth from low earth orbit the probe had about 99.2 % fuel left. Dan, have you
have you increased the fuel consumption.


PS: I like the new file structure in scenario editor.




Offline Nemoricus

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 39
  • Karma: 0
Reply #21 - 05 December 2009, 10:57:55
Oh, if they're meant to be glasses, then I suppose that there isn't a problem.

Also, I took a look at the ISOTAP. It has a delta-v of more than 110 km/s when fully fueled. It's far more likely that the
thrust of the engine will be a problem than the fuel capacity. If you fling the ISOTAP at an object with sufficiently high
speed, it can't compensate and will crash.


Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #22 - 05 December 2009, 11:25:08
Quote
Nemoricus a écrit:
If you fling the ISOTAP at an object with sufficiently high
speed, it can't compensate and will crash.

In fact there is already a cheat... if it can't
slow down enough it switch to "death star" like power
and revert to normal DV when slowed enough.

I know this is not very honnest :sad:  :badsmile:
but the ISOTAP should adapt to so much situation
that I had no other solution (appart spending 15 days on autopilot
while I wrote it in 2 day)

Nemoricus while you are in ISOTAP test can you let me know
if I can increase again the fuel consumption ? But... mhhh ? see below.

Quote
the.punk a écrit:
Ok. Tested the probe. After landing on earth from low earth orbit the probe had about 99.2 % fuel left. Dan, have you
have you increased the fuel consumption.

Yes now at least you see a difference :)
I'm not so hot to increase again the fuel consumption as said above
ISOTAP is supposed to land on almost anything, if on earth it doesn't need
so much fuel on jupiter it might be different ? (it might bounce on first attempt
and so require a huge load of fuel)

I mean I don't know if seeing the fuel used is really so cool that we take
the risk of running out of fuel ?


NEWS:
--------

Working on DGIV, you should have a working UCGO dll patch is a few hours
I'll give the link by broadcast Pm.

Dan


Offline the.punk

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 80
  • Karma: 0
Reply #23 - 05 December 2009, 11:31:39
Quote
DanSteph wrote:

Yes now at least you see a difference :)
I'm not so hot to increase again the fuel consumption as said above
ISOTAP is supposed to land on almost anything, if on earth it doesn't need
so much fuel on jupiter it might be different ? (it might bounce on first attempt
and so require a huge load of fuel)

I mean I don't know if seeing the fuel used is really so cool that we take
the risk of running out of fuel ?

Yes. There is a difference to last version. I think it's ok now.




Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #24 - 05 December 2009, 12:16:45
Quote
sunshine135 a écrit:
3. "Add From Disk" should be "Add to Disk"

Thanks I'll correct the text, howewer for this above I'm not sure.

This button browse cargo "from" HD we are not adding "to" disk
but to Arrow.

Any thought or more clear text for this item ?

Dan



Message modifié ( 05-12-2009 12:17 )