See site in english Voir le site en francais
Website skin:
home  download  forum  link  contact

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: [closed] UCGO Beta test ver 091205  (Read 46832 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Fox-Terrier

  • League of
  • Legend
  • ******
  • Posts: 1426
  • Country: Switzerland ch
  • Karma: 28
  • :D
Reply #25 - 05 December 2009, 13:43:07
Quote
Quote
Fox-Terrier a écrit:
Short description:

CTD when pushing F5

Can you reproduce it each time ? (ça plante à tout les coups?)
What scenario ?
Anything you are doing (Une manip spéciale genre presser F5 dans deux cars différent?)

Anyway even with a module or whatewer  other addon a CTD mean there is a serious problem of memory overwriting
in car's module as waypoint are totally internal, nothing should affect it. (en bref c'est la merde)

Top priority as this may be a critical bug. I'll see in my code what can do that...

Dan
[/quote]

I didn't do anything special

as I said, I load Ai cars dance, the view is on "TRUCKA/1" by default, when I push F5 in the cockpit, CTD, when I push F5
outside the cockpit, and then go in the cockpit, CTD

I will try on other kinds of vehicles and try to reload the installation file, perhaps it will solve something ...



Message modifié ( 05-12-2009 14:08 )


Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #26 - 05 December 2009, 14:15:17
Quote
Fox-Terrier a écrit:
I didn't do anything special

Unable to reproduce.
Can you try to disable all your modules (in module tab) and try again ?

Also after CTD post the orbiter.log.. maybe ?


Offline the.punk

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 80
  • Karma: 0
Reply #27 - 05 December 2009, 14:47:47
I'm also unable to second that. Does it work on clean install?




Offline sunshine135

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 547
  • Country: United States us
  • Karma: 3
  • I fly by the seat of my pants!
Reply #28 - 05 December 2009, 15:02:53
Quote
DanSteph wrote:
Quote
sunshine135 a écrit:
3. "Add From Disk" should be "Add to Disk"

Thanks I'll correct the text, howewer for this above I'm not sure.

This button browse cargo "from" HD we are not adding "to" disk
but to Arrow.

Any thought or more clear text for this item ?

Dan

Ah...I understand now! I thought 'disk" referred to the container system on the back of the Arrow. To suspend disbelief in
our virtual universe, maybe we want to "add" the cargo "to cargo rack"- Thus, instead of "Add from disk" (where else would we
add it from), we could "Add to Cargo Rack"  ;)


Verified rover doesn't drive through the unpacked base anymore in the base pack scenario.
Verified holes are closed in the sides of the VC. Black was perfect.
Rover Markings are awesome!!! Really nice work Dan.



Post Edited ( 12-05-09 15:53 )

"Sun Dog"

Offline sunshine135

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 547
  • Country: United States us
  • Karma: 3
  • I fly by the seat of my pants!
Reply #29 - 05 December 2009, 15:08:00
Quote
DanSteph wrote:
Quote
Nemoricus a écrit:
If you fling the ISOTAP at an object with sufficiently high
speed, it can't compensate and will crash.

In fact there is already a cheat... if it can't
slow down enough it switch to "death star" like power
and revert to normal DV when slowed enough.

I know this is not very honnest :sad:  :badsmile:
but the ISOTAP should adapt to so much situation
that I had no other solution (appart spending 15 days on autopilot
while I wrote it in 2 day)

Nemoricus while you are in ISOTAP test can you let me know
if I can increase again the fuel consumption ? But... mhhh ? see below.

Quote
the.punk a écrit:
Ok. Tested the probe. After landing on earth from low earth orbit the probe had about 99.2 % fuel left. Dan, have you
have you increased the fuel consumption.

Yes now at least you see a difference :)
I'm not so hot to increase again the fuel consumption as said above
ISOTAP is supposed to land on almost anything, if on earth it doesn't need
so much fuel on jupiter it might be different ? (it might bounce on first attempt
and so require a huge load of fuel)

I mean I don't know if seeing the fuel used is really so cool that we take
the risk of running out of fuel ?

Dan



Don't mess with the ISOTAP. It is fine the way it is. The probe does a basic job, so let it do its job. If someone wants to
develop a more accurate or purpose-built probe, let them build it. That is what UCGO is for.


"Sun Dog"

Offline sunshine135

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 547
  • Country: United States us
  • Karma: 3
  • I fly by the seat of my pants!
Reply #30 - 05 December 2009, 15:19:13
I cannot duplicate Fox's CTDs, and admit I am at a loss as to why this would happen- especially if it didn't happen on the
first release.


"Sun Dog"

Offline Nemoricus

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 39
  • Karma: 0
Reply #31 - 05 December 2009, 16:19:17
If you're going to keep the probe the way it is, I recommend upping the power of the emergency thruster so that it can handle
the most extreme cases a little better. Still, in any sane situation the probe has plenty of delta-v. The ISP is fine, at least.


Offline Fox-Terrier

  • League of
  • Legend
  • ******
  • Posts: 1426
  • Country: Switzerland ch
  • Karma: 28
  • :D
Reply #32 - 05 December 2009, 16:28:53
bug resolved : incompatibility with the module "first person" :
it is a cool module to go around in VCs, but when you push F5 it shows all the outside meshes  ---> CTD ... :sad:
it was coded by escapetomsfate if anyone knows him, please tell him ... it was such a nice module



Offline Xyon

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 35
  • Karma: 0
Reply #33 - 05 December 2009, 16:47:10
I never could get that first person module to work in the first place.



Offline sunshine135

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 547
  • Country: United States us
  • Karma: 3
  • I fly by the seat of my pants!
Reply #34 - 05 December 2009, 16:49:02
Dan,

I was using the DGIV-2 in the original Phobos Scenario and was thinking of a couple of things....Not so much Bugs, but things
that may help in some of the previous issues with cars on low gravity bodies.

Is there a way for you to limit the speed of the cars (mainly rover, azure, and forklift) on low gravity bodies) without it
being too time consuming? Or, maybe something simple would be to add a disclaimer that speeds over 3 kph can have undesirable
results on low gravity bodies?

Also, in a more morbid moment:

When a Ummu dies, is there a way that their body can be treated like cargo, and a UMMu could them pack them into a coffin? ;)
. This way, you could load it in the DGIV or the Arrow and have a space funeral for them. Since Ummu are typically vessel
objects, this may be too difficult to do (as I noted, you cannot repack your probe either).


Just a couple of thoughts, or maybe some things that will have to wait for UCGO ver. 2.0


"Sun Dog"

Offline Tom

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 367
  • Karma: 0
Reply #35 - 05 December 2009, 16:52:37

UCGO BUG


Bug with:

Arrow freighter

Short description:

Autolanding failure


Severity

Bug or no bug ?


Complete description

During auto-land, gears are not deploying automatically ! Is that normal ?


Reproduce bug

Just launch the land autopilot


---------------
Tom

Offline Tom

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 367
  • Karma: 0
Reply #36 - 05 December 2009, 16:56:23

UCGO BUG


Bug with:

Arrow freighter


Short description:

Text not clearing for gravity wheel


Severity

 detail or no bug


Complete description

When launching the gravity wheel, the right screen of the cockpit indicates Gravity Wheel Starting, but when the starting procedure is over, the message doesn't
disapear


Reproduce bug

Anytime just by launching the gravity wheel


Miscallenous

Don't know if this really is a bug



Message modifié ( 05-12-2009 16:57 )

---------------
Tom

Offline Fox-Terrier

  • League of
  • Legend
  • ******
  • Posts: 1426
  • Country: Switzerland ch
  • Karma: 28
  • :D
Reply #37 - 05 December 2009, 16:58:23
about the gravity wheel:
I tried and reproduced it, but after a (very long) time it is written deployed



Offline sunshine135

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 547
  • Country: United States us
  • Karma: 3
  • I fly by the seat of my pants!
Reply #38 - 05 December 2009, 17:02:47
Quote
Fox-Terrier wrote:
about the gravity wheel:
I tried and reproduced it, but after a (very long) time it is written deployed


I agree with fox. The wheel takes time to reach optimal velocity.


"Sun Dog"

Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #39 - 05 December 2009, 17:18:39
Tom,

Landing gear is a feature as "falling" from airlock if not deployed,
I can of course do automatic check but I love from time to time
to leave occasions for the user to do idiots things :)

Quote
sunshine135 a écrit:
I was using the DGIV-2 in the original Phobos Scenario and was thinking of a couple of things....Not so much Bugs, but things
that may help in some of the previous issues with cars on low gravity bodies.

For the car I'll no do anything, none would expect a car to function properly on low G body and if user fly they will learn
hard way the gravity law ;) As said above I don't want to protect users everytime in my view the simulation would be less
intteresting.

---

There is some intteresting idea as the coffin. Repacking is possible but depend of the module, Probe, UMmu or future user
module. The only problem is the time, 3-4h more on coffin is 3-4 less on other things and there is still a considerable
amount of work to do.

Dan


Offline gattico

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 337
  • Country: United States us
  • Karma: 15
Reply #40 - 05 December 2009, 17:38:37

UCGO BUG


Bug with:

(fueltruck)


Short description:

(fuel hose on top goes through the tank)


Severity

(detail,)


Complete description

(Fuel tank hose rotates into the tanker.  Not sure how to stop the animation.  pressed 1 and it started rotating,
pressed 1 again and it went in the other direction.)


Reproduce bug

(Start drive all vehicles and activate animation in fuel truck.)


Miscallenous

(If you have comments or something to add)



Offline woo482

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 266
  • Karma: 0
Reply #41 - 05 December 2009, 17:45:12

UCGO BUG

Bug with: UCGO SDK

Severity: Major

Complete description
UCGO appears to still be looking in the old cargo directory.

Reproduce bug
Compile a UCGO module using the current SDK files and try and load cargo, you will get a "none - selected" error



Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #42 - 05 December 2009, 17:56:56
Quote
gattico a écrit:
Short description:
(fuel hose on top goes through the tank)
$

That's a "feature" a way to stow the hose wich would look completely unrealistic with this shape.
And this shape allow to visually connect it to ship like here:

http://orbiter.dansteph.com/screenshot/dansteph/UcgoPreviewtruck5.jpg


Quote
woo482 a écrit:
Reproduce bug
Compile a UCGO module using the current SDK files and try and load cargo, you will get a "none - selected" error

Oops it seem I forgot to copy the new SDK lib into doc.

I'll broadcast another "patch" so you can continue working.

Dan


Offline gattico

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 337
  • Country: United States us
  • Karma: 15
Reply #43 - 05 December 2009, 18:13:19
I would think the fuel hose should be longer so when stowed it extends beyond the back


Offline Fox-Terrier

  • League of
  • Legend
  • ******
  • Posts: 1426
  • Country: Switzerland ch
  • Karma: 28
  • :D
Reply #44 - 05 December 2009, 18:13:43

UCGO BUG


Bug with:

docking


Short description:

docking when landed doesn't work


Severity

medium


Complete description

the arrow is landed, the DGIV isn't, I wanted to dock to the arrow and hop, everyone dead, system hover and engine failure.
afterwards the arrow is slowly pushed laterally (to the left) and RCS won't do anything. hovers can't lift the arrow either.
it seems like a heavy weight has been attached to the arrow. but why is it going to the left ???


Reproduce bug

simply dock a DGIV to the landed arrow

Miscallenous

landed vessels have strange reactions when you try to dock them. apparently one landed and one not landed vessel docking
doesn't work either
can you do something to it or is it Orbiter ?



Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #45 - 05 December 2009, 18:16:24
Quote
Fox-Terrier a écrit:
Short description:
docking when landed doesn't work

press "help" see "important note" :badsmile:  (Orbiter bug with dock when landed)

Howewer I leave it as todo as I must check if Martin have cleared this one in 2009, if not I'll put a warning like for gear
when approaching ground with docked vessel.

Dan


Offline woo482

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 266
  • Karma: 0
Reply #46 - 05 December 2009, 18:16:48
the above post by Fox-Terrier is an unfixable orbiter bug



Post Edited ( 12-05-09 18:17 )


Offline Fox-Terrier

  • League of
  • Legend
  • ******
  • Posts: 1426
  • Country: Switzerland ch
  • Karma: 28
  • :D
Reply #47 - 05 December 2009, 18:17:52
woops I didn't see that one ! :zzz:



Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #48 - 05 December 2009, 18:17:54
Quote
gattico a écrit:
I would think the fuel hose should be longer so when stowed it extends beyond the back

Well, it's good enough imho, whatewer solution you do there will always be peoples that would have done it differently.

Dan


Offline the.punk

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 80
  • Karma: 0
Reply #49 - 05 December 2009, 18:18:41
Quote
Fox-Terrier wrote:

UCGO BUG


Bug with:

docking


Short description:

docking when landed doesn't work


Severity

medium


Complete description

the arrow is landed, the DGIV isn't, I wanted to dock to the arrow and hop, everyone dead, system hover and engine
failure.
afterwards the arrow is slowly pushed laterally (to the left) and RCS won't do anything. hovers can't lift the arrow
either.
it seems like a heavy weight has been attached to the arrow. but why is it going to the left ???


Reproduce bug

simply dock a DGIV to the landed arrow

Miscallenous

landed vessels have strange reactions when you try to dock them. apparently one landed and one not landed vessel
docking
doesn't work either
can you do something to it or is it Orbiter ?


This is an known orbiter bug that you can't dock on ground also with other vessels. Weird things happend with
ground docking. So it's an orbiter limitation.

EDIT: Was posted by others before.



Post Edited ( 12-05-09 18:19 )