See site in english Voir le site en francais
Website skin:
home  download  forum  link  contact

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: [closed] DeltaGlider IV Public beta release  (Read 33590 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Twilight

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 43
  • Karma: 0
Reply #75 - 19 May 2007, 22:03:31
Download Page Typo

Hit "Downloads" on the side...
Look at UMMU
Line reads "MMu can -=((transfert))=- beetween docked ship. "

Other then that, I want to say...

DGIII was fun to fly.

DGIII>DGIV Beta 4 seemed to be a huge update

DGIV B4> DGIV Gold Beta+Prelude.... wow.


Offline MattNW

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 333
  • Karma: 0
Reply #76 - 20 May 2007, 00:43:37
Quote
Twilight wrote:


DGIV B4&gt DGIV Gold Beta+Prelude.... wow.

Same thing I was thinking. DGIV is a fantastic upgrade to the DGIII but Prelude and especially Ummu opens up a whole new
dimension in Orbiter. Once add on developers start adding Ummu to other ships a lot of possibilities are available. Imagine a
large deep space vehicle with several DGIV riders and choosing crew members by their specialties for different missions.


Offline Heywood

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 90
  • Country: Spain es
  • Karma: 3
  • Pardon for my spanglish
Reply #77 - 20 May 2007, 01:09:09
Space vehicle with several DGIV riders... 8o ;  it can be a good suggestion that Dan develops it in a future... :pfff:

Heywood



Offline MinusSeven

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 0
Reply #78 - 20 May 2007, 02:26:46
I installed OrbiterSim and DeltaGlider IV yesterday. When I load it today, it says the BETA version has EXPIRED.

Am I still able to use it? If so, is there anything disabled?

Thanks,

Regards,
Peter


Offline Cairan

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 28
  • Karma: 0
Reply #79 - 20 May 2007, 05:45:24

DELTAGLIDERIV BUG


Short description:

Cargo Container list mixed-up in Payload dialog and wrong dds textures shown


Severity

serious


Complete  description

I did a set of 15 cargo containers with various stuff in them and various textures. When I try to select any of these,
including the basic ones which come with the base DGIV package, they are listed in alphabetical order in the dialog, yet the
payload selected does not match the one actually put in the DGIV cargo bay.

Further more, the wrong textures are shown for half the containers, and when it is shown the incorrect one, it is limited to
only 2 of the cargo containers textures. I've verified the .cfg and .msh and the correct textures are referenced.


Reproduce bug

Install the cargo containers I put on the upload section as well as other's contribution and it should show up...

Miscallenous

Email me to have the containers' .zip file if you want to check it's not on my side of things, but I'm pretty sure it isnt.



Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #80 - 20 May 2007, 12:15:43
can you mail it to me please ?

I tried with your upload it work without problems

Dan



Message modifié ( 21-05-2007 23:18 )


Offline Jim Lovell

  • Global Moderator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 1530
  • Country: Belgium be
  • Karma: 31
    • Mon site
Reply #81 - 20 May 2007, 13:24:59
Quote
MinusSeven a écrit:
I installed OrbiterSim and DeltaGlider IV yesterday. When I load it today, it says the BETA version has EXPIRED.

Am I still able to use it? If so, is there anything disabled?

Thanks,

Regards,
Peter

+1...

Nothing is disabled, it's just an annoying message...

Don't forget it's a Gold Beta, Gold but still Beta ;)


Jim Love:love:LL
C'est en se plantant que l'on construit ses racines....


ConneXion

Offline Heywood

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 90
  • Country: Spain es
  • Karma: 3
  • Pardon for my spanglish
Reply #82 - 20 May 2007, 13:33:22
It can be solved with file .dll that is in this link:

http://www.dansteph.com/publie/DeltaGliderIV_Beta20070521.zip

Heywood



Offline Delta Glider3 lover

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 65
  • Karma: 0
Reply #83 - 20 May 2007, 17:15:14
well, skins are Easy to desing and for Trauma center second opinion fans, I made a Caduceus skin and a Delphi skin. If you
are a fan, You'll KNoW what I'm talking about. If you want them, I'll uplad them. and for those who want to know, I'm currently on X5. Very hard.



Post Edited ( 05-20-07 17:18 )


Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #84 - 20 May 2007, 21:51:06
Quote
Tachyon a écrit:
Short description:
Retro and hover doors with mains off line - sound fx stuck in loop.

Should be solved in next beta, thanks to check "your" bug
in next release.

Dan


Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #85 - 20 May 2007, 22:20:42
Quote
Tachyon a écrit:
Short description:
MFD's forget what mode I left them in.

Sorry Orbiter bug, same bug happen in stock deltaglider.

Dan


Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #86 - 20 May 2007, 22:25:55
Quote
Cairan a écrit:
Short description:
Cargo Container list mixed-up in Payload dialog and wrong dds textures shown

Must be solved in next beta, the selector had "sort" option on wich made data sorted
alphabetically, hence wrong selection. I removed the sort property.

Now I really wonder why this showed only on your computer, did I had incredible
luck and created payload in exact alphabeticall order ? don't know...

Thanks to check "your bug" in the next beta and report if not ok.

Dan


Offline Tachyon

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 118
  • Karma: 0
Reply #87 - 21 May 2007, 02:13:19
Quote
DanSteph wrote:
.. thanks to check "your" bug in next release.
Dan
By that  I assume that you're saying that you'd like me to check to see that it is fixed in next release .... sure thing,
will do.


Quote
DanSteph wrote:
Sorry Orbiter bug, same bug happen in stock deltaglider.
Dan

:)  You mean to tell me that the great Dan is not fixing Orbiter bugs while he's at it.... :wor:  :applause:  ;)

okay - I thought they looked familiar... wasn't sure how far back they went .... evidentially all the way back to
DG!!
:stupid:


My god - it's full of stars !

Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #88 - 21 May 2007, 02:16:49
Quote
Tachyon a écrit:
By that  I assume that you're saying that you'd like me to check to see that it is fixed in next release .... sure thing,
will do.

Sure, sorry I didn't found a better way to express that :badsmile:

Dan


Offline MattNW

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 333
  • Karma: 0
Reply #89 - 21 May 2007, 04:57:41
Quote
sunshine135 wrote:
I don't know if anyone else has noticed, but I have has some funky things happen with the DGIV, UMmus, and Scenario Editor. I
pause to mention any of this as a bug, because I have been unable to reproduce it.

In one example, I accelerated the time three years ahead with the scenario editor, saved the scenario, and my Captain UMmu
just started going nuts. It was trying to get him to walk forward, and all of a sudden he started warping across Cape
Canaveral like Flash Gordon! I think it had something to do with the state he was in, because he kept flying more than
walking on Earth. I exited and reentered the scenario- no other problems.


Testing a few more things- I may have a bug to report yet.

Cheers,




Quote
MattNW wrote:
@FetDaniel


I installed the latest Catalyst drivers yesterday to see if I could resolve the panel and mini HUD problems and that didn't
work. Since both of us have an ATI card I wonder if it's an issue with the video card. Anyone else have an ATI card and
problems with the mini HUD showing data?



The reason I quoted my own post is that trying to fix one bug has produced the other. I downloaded the latest Catalyst
drivers to fix the mini HUD and ended up getting what sunshine135 reported. Orbiter started having a jump every few seconds which made any Ummu astronauts run about 100 meters in one rush. Breathing was labored as if they had run the whole way in real time but it happened in an instant. It also affected turning. You try to turn a few degrees and they would turn all the way around sometimes several times around.

Stepped back to my old drivers and the problem was gone. Present driver version: 6.14.10.6476.



Post Edited ( 05-21-07 05:01 )


Offline n122vu

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 150
  • Karma: 1
Reply #90 - 21 May 2007, 05:36:07

DELTAGLIDERIV BUG



Short description:

Engaging hover autopilot while in Wrp 0.1x time acceleration produces momentary excess in G's.

Severity

minor


Complete  description

If you load the autopilot program PRO200SPEC7, or any other hover-related autopilot, then reduce time acceleration
to 0.1x, engage the autopilot and set vertical acceleration to +1m/s, you will receive several messages
reading "Warning: G excess!!!"  This seems to occur right up until the hover doors open, at which point the message
disappears.  A check of DISP3 during this time shows the G's oscillating between 0 and around 2-3 until the hover
doors open, then they return to 0.


Reproduce bug

Can be done on any "Earth - Landed" scenario, but here's the simplest one:  Load the scenario Earth Scenery ->
Landed KCS departure to ISS.  Immediately press P200S7 but do not execute.  Press R to reduce time acceleration to
0.1x.  Then, press E to execute the autopilot, followed by Numpad 2 to set vertical speed to +1 m/s.  You will
immediately receive 4-5 notifications from the autopilot computer about G excess, followed by the "Hover door
opening" and "Hover door open" messages.  You should receive no further messages about G excess.  If you press D
3 during this process, you will see the G values oscillating rapidly until the hover doors open.  

The message also disappears if you return to normal time acceleration prior to the hover doors opening.  

Miscellaneous

I actually found this bug while running the "Spacetech Corporation" and "Transworld Express" scenarios, in which you
are given 2 DGIV craft parked at the SLF.  I boarded both craft and prepared for takeoff, then reduced time to 0.1x
and executed PRO904SPEC42 on both craft to performe a simultaneous hover launch.  I received the G error
messages in both craft.



Post Edited ( 05-21-07 05:37 )


Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #91 - 21 May 2007, 12:19:36
Quote
n122vu a écrit:
Engaging hover autopilot while in Wrp 0.1x time acceleration produces momentary excess in G's.
.

Orbiter feature when it pass the ship from "landed" status to "orbiting",
when the door are not fully open the thrusters have zero thrust so nothing
I can do here.

Orbiter is very sensitive with landed->orbiting status.
Landed status is a weak point imho. This prevent us to do nice
pneumatic damper and améliorate the flare feeling on landing.
It also generate strange an irrealistic bounce on hard touchdown.
And finally generate the "light speed Mr sulu" bug when we deal with
height over ground etc etc...

This is the 1st things that I would see to be ameliorated in Orbiter,
ground handling...

Dan


Offline GW_Simulations

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 114
  • Karma: 0
Reply #92 - 21 May 2007, 20:25:24
Not sure if it's already known (I don't have time to read the whole thread), but when using the Payload, Crew, and
Skin selection centres in the scenario editor, there is no way of getting back to the main scenario editor. It should be
easy to fix by just adding a "back" button or something.

GW_Simulations.
Supreme Commander - UFMP.


(Thanks to http://imageshack.us for Free Image Hosting)

Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #93 - 21 May 2007, 20:28:25
Quote
GW_Simulations a écrit:
It should be easy to fix by just adding a "back" button or something.


Unless you're programmer and know the subject never assume something is easy.
Tried during 2 hours to get this F..... button to work doing exactly what other addon
do. Stopped before changing so much code and spending so much time that it become
ridiculous.

Anyway DGIV is not a "add/remove  passengers/cargo/ change skin" simulator
so it might be a minor annoyance.

Dan



Message modifié ( 21-05-2007 20:49 )


Offline Jay Gatsby

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 33
  • Karma: 0
Reply #94 - 22 May 2007, 02:49:43
Quote
DanSteph wrote:
Unless you're programmer and know the subject never assume something is easy.
Tried during 2 hours to get this F..... button to work doing exactly what other add-on
do. Stopped before changing so much code and spending so much time that it become
ridiculous.

Don't you just hate it when things like that happen?  Ugh! I feel your pain man.

Meh... it bugged me a little when I wanted to change the skin and set the passengers at the very beginning of a
flight, but it doesn't bother me after that, and considering all of the DGIV features we've been given, I'd say this is a
bit much to ask for at this point--I know that I, for one, can live without it.


-Gatsby

Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #95 - 22 May 2007, 06:49:07
Quote
Jay Gatsby a écrit:
Don't you just hate it when things like that happen?  Ugh! I feel your pain man.

It's frustrating but I must say its very rare that I abandon an idea. Usually I know
almost immediattely if something is possible or not. After it's all a question
of coding time VS benefice added, sometime it simply doesn't worth the time.

Dan


Offline Marc

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
Reply #96 - 22 May 2007, 21:07:20
Hi everyone..

Is it normal that in Speed Hold mode it's impossible to fly the vessel any longer?
I use numpad to controll the DG IV, and as soon as I innitiate Speed Hold I can't do change in attitude any longer - all the
keys are simply deactivated, the computer says "This command is not active during Speed Hold" or something like this...now
how am i supposed to do an approach now? :D


Offline MattNW

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 333
  • Karma: 0
Reply #97 - 22 May 2007, 23:55:02
Quote
Marc wrote:
Hi everyone..

Is it normal that in Speed Hold mode it's impossible to fly the vessel any longer?
I use numpad to controll the DG IV, and as soon as I innitiate Speed Hold I can't do change in attitude any longer - all the
keys are simply deactivated, the computer says "This command is not active during Speed Hold" or something like
this...now
how am i supposed to do an approach now? :D


I see what you mean. It assumes you  are flying with a joystick which isn't disabled. Are you absolutely stuck without a
joystick for some reason or just prefer flying by keyboard? A halfway decent stick can be purchased around $20. A pretty good
one for about $50. I got my Saitek X45 for $80 and that was before the X-54 came out. One like mine is probably in the $60 or
less range now. Wouldn't give it up for anything now. I can fly Orbiter almost without the keyboard.


Offline Jay Gatsby

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 33
  • Karma: 0
Reply #98 - 23 May 2007, 01:59:18
This functionality is certainly essential, as Dan does things for very good reasons, I'm sure that this configuration
prevents far greater evils from occurring.

Quote
MattNW wrote:
I can fly Orbiter almost without the keyboard.

:sigh: I wish orbiter had an input device mixer... Through my flightsim enjoyment, I've acquired a set of CH products
yoke, pedals, and throttles.  The throttle quadrant isn't really important... but with only one input channel, yaw
control only comes through the keyboard, as the pedals are unacknowledged... :( :rant: :sunk: :wall:  (P.S.  does
anybody know of a remedy add-on, just on a one-in-a-million-shot off-chance?)


-Gatsby

Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #99 - 23 May 2007, 04:06:40
Deeply sorry about that, gamer without joystick are very rare those days,
there is no logical free key available, key like "aesd" in the middle of
keyboard are a "no no" (already busy so you can't make a
logical "cross" easy to remind up down left right)
and so would penalise most peoples that have a joystick and anyway it would
require so much code change that I bet we'll restart another beta tour of
two weeks. (saturday 26 is the absolute limit for me)

Last: key like CTL+numpad** or SHIFT+? are impossible for an idiot reason:
there is no place on autopilot display to display a help text with such keys
and anyway would require again to much change etc etc.

In brief Orbiter being also a flight simulator you must have a joystick,
maybe I can add that in the min specs ?

Dan