See site in english Voir le site en francais
Website skin:
home  download  forum  link  contact

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: [closed] DeltaGlider IV Public beta release  (Read 33296 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Cairan

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 28
  • Karma: 0
Reply #100 - 23 May 2007, 05:17:23
Quote
DanSteph wrote:
Quote
Cairan a écrit:
Short description:
Cargo Container list mixed-up in Payload dialog and wrong dds textures shown


Must be solved in next beta, the selector had "sort" option on wich made data sorted
alphabetically, hence wrong selection. I removed the sort property.

Now I really wonder why this showed only on your computer, did I had incredible
luck and created payload in exact alphabeticall order ? don't know...

Thanks to check "your bug" in the next beta and report if not ok.

Dan


Ok I did some testing... Now here's the funniest thing of all:

If I delete all containers except for a small group, I don't have any problems displaying and loading those... But as soon as
I copy back more .cfg files to renable the containers, they mix up again in the cargo bay and outside of it...

My files are named in the following manner: DGIVCargoHazMatXY, where X is a group number and Y an optional subgroup number

As long as there are only containers from one group, no problem, but if there are other groups, the wrong container is used
by the DGIV and also by orbiter when I spawn them from the Scenerio editor... However, this does not happen when there is no
subgroup number in the name...

I did test this behaviour on a clean Orbiter + P1 + OS3.5 + uMMU1.5 + DGIV + NewDLL installation... it produces the same result.

Edit:

As a further test, I renamed all my files, except the textures .dds files referenced in the 30 .msh files used for my cargo set, with unique letters, from A to O, as suffix instead of numbers. Voila! Now it works... Seems something weird is happening when a payload name ends in numbers or something like that... Before that test, I tried adding a 0 in front of single-digit numbered cargo containers, and it turned out that now those were also affected by the bug... Again, I'm not sure if this is DGIV or Orbiter itself which presents this bug, but it sure is one...



Post Edited ( 05-23-07 17:54 )


Offline Kooky

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
Reply #101 - 23 May 2007, 08:06:14

DELTAGLIDERIV BUG


Short description:

Click sequence causes crash to desktop (CTD)


Severity

CTD


Complete  description

Certain MFD key sequence causes consistent CTD.

Reproduce bug

Load a scenario (have tried with multiple DGIV default scenarios).
Either MFD, Switch to "Docking" MFD.
Select "VIS"
Select "HUD"

**CTD**

Miscallenous

Fresh Orbiter install (first time using program).  Disabled any supplimental modules, except OrbiterSound.  Can reproduce on
demand.. in orbit or on ground.


Offline pile0nades

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: 0
Reply #102 - 23 May 2007, 09:46:08
Quote
Kooky wrote:

DELTAGLIDERIV BUG



Short description:

Click sequence causes crash to desktop (CTD)


Severity

CTD


Complete  description

Certain MFD key sequence causes consistent CTD.

Reproduce bug

Load a scenario (have tried with multiple DGIV default scenarios).
Either MFD, Switch to "Docking" MFD.
Select "VIS"
Select "HUD"

**CTD**

Miscallenous

Fresh Orbiter install (first time using program).  Disabled any supplimental modules, except OrbiterSound.  Can reproduce on
demand.. in orbit or on ground.


I have seen that happen without DGIV (probably was in a ShuttleA when it happened last), so probably an Orbiter bug.



Post Edited ( 05-23-07 09:46 )


Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #103 - 23 May 2007, 11:17:51
Quote
Kooky a écrit:
MFD Click sequence causes crash to desktop (CTD)

Happen on Shuttla as well:
CTD On Docking Hud in VIS mode...
http://www.orbitersim.com/Forum/default.aspx?g=posts&t=8720

Thanks anyway

Dan


Offline Marc

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
Reply #104 - 23 May 2007, 14:48:22
Thx for the response, understand why it's done that way...
I now fly orbiter with my MSFS Joystick, which I didn't do because in space IMHO the keyboard is much more precise...well..in
space i can use it, can't I? ;)


Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #105 - 23 May 2007, 15:18:51
Quote
Marc a écrit:
Thx for the response, understand why it's done that way...
I now fly orbiter with my MSFS Joystick, which I didn't do because in space IMHO the keyboard is much more
precise...well..in space i can use it, can't I? ;)

In space i use key also, in flight joy is way more fun ;)

Dan


Offline Kooky

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
Reply #106 - 23 May 2007, 16:06:47
Quote
DanSteph wrote:
Quote
Kooky a écrit:
MFD Click sequence causes crash to desktop (CTD)

Happen on Shuttla as well:
CTD On Docking Hud in VIS mode...
http://www.orbitersim.com/Forum/default.aspx?g=posts&t=8720

Thanks anyway

Dan

Ok, I checked using the other Delta Glider and it didn't have the buttons, so I assumed the MFD was DGIV specific, sorry.

And I'm not sure if this is a bug, per se, (and if it isn't, maybe a feature request is in the works for next version since
this one is feature locked) but if you lower the in-cabin pressure to 0.0psi (and its registering that), why do you have
explosive decompression if you open the canopy?  This may/may not be related but if you have a vacuum inside the craft as
well, shouldn't you be able to open both doors of the airlock at the same time?  or at least be able to open the inner
airlock door with a vacuum in the airlock.  Just some thoughts.


Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #107 - 23 May 2007, 18:47:26
Quote
Cairan a écrit:
Cargo Container list mixed-up in Payload dialog and wrong dds textures shown

Definitively solved with the last DLL released today 23 may see first post of this thread:
http://orbiter.dansteph.com/forum/index.php?topic=12045.msg186226#msg186226

It solve problem with payloads.

Dan


Offline willy88

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 332
  • Karma: 0
Reply #108 - 23 May 2007, 21:08:48
Maybe a bit off-topic, but I've pieced together the bizarre cycle that I believe Dan goes through, and I think it goes a
little something like this:



Accuracy not guaranteed...


_________

Offline Nouzy

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 43
  • Karma: 0
Reply #109 - 24 May 2007, 02:52:35

DELTAGLIDERIV BUG


Short description:

Hold Alt ap causes hover door problems while on auto.  


Severity

Minor


Complete  description

When Hold Alt ap is engaged and the hover door switch is on auto, the hover door keeps opening and closing
because the hover thrust is let out in bursts.  This I think happens only on Mars and planets/satelites with such low
gravity because on earth this problem doesn't occur because the thrust all let out evenly instead of in bursts.  


Reproduce bug

Open any scenario on Mars, bring the DGIV to an altitude of about 1 km using hover and engage Hold Alt ap while the
hover door switch is set to auto.  Have Hor Lvl on as well.  

Miscallenous

This is not a very serious bug but it gets annoying because it spams the message box (hover door opening/closing).  I
understand the auto's function is to close the door when hover is not in use, but maybe you should make it
automatically open when such autopilots are on.  I know a simple solution to this is to turn the switch to open, but
one may forget about it later and cause a possibly fatal problem.


-------------------------------------------------------------------
Man I gotta love this site's wide array of smielies.

Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #110 - 24 May 2007, 02:57:13
Quote
Nouzy a écrit:
Hold Alt ap causes hover door problems while on auto.  

Ah didn't tought about this one, why do you use this one
instead of PRO200SPEC7 hover ? Same effect but much
more versatil for 200.

Dan


Offline Nouzy

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 43
  • Karma: 0
Reply #111 - 24 May 2007, 04:04:16
Quote
DanSteph wrote:
Quote
Nouzy a écrit:
Hold Alt ap causes hover door problems while on auto.  


Ah didn't tought about this one, why do you use this one
instead of PRO200SPEC7 hover ? Same effect but much
more versatil for 200.

Dan


Because pressing Hold Alt is much faster than typing pro200spec7, and if there is a shortcut, I didn't learn it
yet :badsmile: (even then pressing the button would be faster.)  Besides, I didn't even know there was a difference...

I'm sure I'm not the only one.  

So is it a bug/will you fix it?



Post Edited ( 05-24-07 04:06 )

-------------------------------------------------------------------
Man I gotta love this site's wide array of smielies.

Offline MattNW

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 333
  • Karma: 0
Reply #112 - 24 May 2007, 04:31:12
Quote
Marc wrote:
Thx for the response, understand why it's done that way...
I now fly orbiter with my MSFS Joystick, which I didn't do because in space IMHO the keyboard is much more precise...well..in
space i can use it, can't I? ;)


Keyboard should work in space. If not then it's a legitimate bug or keyboard problems. Actually a joystick in atmosphere is
much more precise than the buttons and DGIV is one of the sweetest flying Orbiter ships in the atmosphere.




Quote
Jay Gatsby wrote:
This functionality is certainly essential, as Dan does things for very good reasons, I'm sure that this configuration
prevents far greater evils from occurring.

:sigh: I wish orbiter had an input device mixer... Through my flightsim enjoyment, I've acquired a set of CH products
yoke, pedals, and throttles.  The throttle quadrant isn't really important... but with only one input channel, yaw
control only comes through the keyboard, as the pedals are unacknowledged... :( :rant: :sunk: :wall:  (P.S.  does
anybody know of a remedy add-on, just on a one-in-a-million-shot off-chance?)


No experience with CH Products but I think you are stuck if the yoke and pedals use seperate USB ports. My X-45 has yaw
control from the rudder paddle but it uses a single USB port.

I made an Orbiter profile that uses the pinky switch for Lin/Rot thrusters and the killrot is the trigger. With a little
practice you can roll, pitch and yaw simultaneously.


Offline Quantum Burrito Meal

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 75
  • Karma: 0
Reply #113 - 24 May 2007, 13:51:01

DELTAGLIDERIV BUG


Short description:

Opening airlock on Earth causes hypoxia


Severity

Annoying, but liveable


Complete  description

When both doors of the  airlock are open on Earth, O2 & pressure drop as if the ship was in space


Reproduce bug
Open any scenario in Earth, and open both airlock doors.

Miscallenous

None, really.


------------------------------------------
Proud creator of two (2) addons

One of which is soon to be out of date, and one is not yet useable. Great Success!

Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #114 - 24 May 2007, 15:14:38
Quote
Quantum Burrito Meal a écrit:
Opening airlock on Earth causes hypoxia
Severity

Annoying, but liveable

???? unable to reproduce, are you landed ?

Dan


Offline Ursus

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 68
  • Karma: 0
Reply #115 - 25 May 2007, 03:35:36
Quote
Quantum Burrito Meal wrote:

When both doors of the  airlock are open on Earth, O2 & pressure drop as if the ship was in space


I wasn't able to repro this one, either. I did notice that the CO2 levels dropped (fairly rapidly, but not instantly)
from about 600 (ppm, I think the unit was) to about 300 after the doors were open while landed (or while docked; ISS must
have better scrubbers than the DGIV).

I did notice some very quirky airlock behavior when trying to test it while hovering at low altitudes, but it'd probably take
more than a day to pinpoint them well enough for a proper bug report, let alone for Dan to fix them... Shoot, I just went and
tried to reproduce the quirky behavior I observed earlier, and couldn't. I might try later, and if I can get a proper
description of the behavior, I'll post it to the "Problems with the DGIV" thread for inclusion on the FAQ/Known Issues page...

Hmmm... that brings up a question... Once this project is "finalized", and you've started concentrating on putting bread on
your table, how much of a hassle is it going to be to update the "Known Bugs" page when reports come in? Will you have a
person or a team to help screen reports for ones that should be brought to your attention to be included in the FAQ (or maybe
even a person to add to the FAQ, if your forum software allows you to let only certain, trusted, people to add to a thread).

I guess the real question is, is it really worth it to be tracking down minor bugs at this point?


-----
Occasionally-visiting Grumpy Old Bear

Offline MattNW

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 333
  • Karma: 0
Reply #116 - 25 May 2007, 05:25:01
On a related issue. Does anyone know what DGIV looks for in a planet config file for atmosphere pressure and temperature. On
earthlike extrasolar planets my crew dies whenever I open the airlock or cockpit canopy either from hypoxia or temperature.
The D+3 display on the DGIV panel reports -200 or so temperatures. I've looked at the config files  and they are exactly like
the file for Earth. Where is DGIV finding the temperature and pressure?


Offline MattNW

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 333
  • Karma: 0
Reply #117 - 25 May 2007, 09:33:49
DELTAGLIDERIV BUG


Short description:

Pilot unable to return to DGIV from Ummu ISS

Severity

Moderate, Can't fly home without pilot. :)


Complete description

When docked to Ummu ISS and transfering DGIV pilot from DGIV to ISS and back to DGIV the ship is reported full with no seats
available.


Reproduce bug

Use scenario "Docked to ISS". Choose pilot of DGIV and transfer him to ISS. Now switch focus to ISS and try to transfer him
back to the DGIV and ISS won't let you. You get the message "Error, docked ship is already full. Transfer failed".

Miscallenous

Workaround: Transfer another crew member to ISS and then send the pilot back aboard the DGIV. Now the DGIV
reports a pilot aboard and you can then transfer the other crewmember back to the DGIV. Apparently the pilot's place in the
DGIV isn't being recognized as an available seat.


Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #118 - 25 May 2007, 10:48:52
Quote
MattNW a écrit:
DELTAGLIDERIV BUG
Short description:

Pilot unable to return to DGIV from Ummu ISS

Severity

Moderate, Can't fly home without pilot. :)


Glad you speak about this one I should add it to the faq, due to the specificall way
of DGIV handling pilot and crew separately you should first transfer the pilot then
the crew and it will work.

EDIT: Done

Dan



Message modifié ( 25-05-2007 10:54 )


Offline picto

  • Legend
  • ******
  • Posts: 5014
  • Country: France fr
  • Karma: 24
  • Criiii Crii Crii
Reply #119 - 25 May 2007, 17:07:57
Pas un bug, mais un truc embêtant.

En PRO 200 SPEC 7 à moins de 50 mètres d'altitude avec vert speed set to zero pour faire des flybys tranquilles.
La fille s'énerve à bord et n'arrête pas de dire ... Gear gear gear gear ... évidemment, le message GEAR NOT OPEN !
clignote en même temps ...

Et si j'ai envie de faire des survols à vert speed set to zero à moins de cinquante mètres d'altitude, je fais comment
hein ?



Message modifié ( 25-05-2007 17:08 )

Pic

Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #120 - 25 May 2007, 17:09:42
Quote
picto a écrit:
Et si j'ai envie de faire des survols à vert speed set to zero à moins de cinquante mètres d'altitude, je fais comment
hein ?

Tu fait pas ;)

Dan


Offline Spence

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Karma: 0
Reply #121 - 26 May 2007, 00:59:50
If for some reason you destroy your cargo bay door, why can't you ungrapple the cargo? I know it's not very practicle
in atmosphere, but imagine if you were ejecting in space with an mkssat...


« Last Edit: 26 May 2007, 01:30:28 by Spence »
'To See A World In A Grain Of Sand'

Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #122 - 26 May 2007, 01:18:14
Quote
Spence a écrit:
If for some reason you destroy your cargo bay door, why can't you ungrapple the cargo? I know it's not very practicle
in atmosphere, but imagine if you were ejecting in space with an mkssat...

Door destruction jam eject mechanic...

SOLUTION: don't destroy you cargo doors. (simple uh ? :badsmile: )

Dan

« Last Edit: 26 May 2007, 01:30:28 by DanSteph »

Offline Quantum Burrito Meal

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 75
  • Karma: 0
Reply #123 - 26 May 2007, 01:30:28
hmmm... maybe a UMmu grappleable hammer-like object, to fix problems like these... :)


« Last Edit: 26 May 2007, 01:30:28 by Quantum Burrito Meal »
------------------------------------------
Proud creator of two (2) addons

One of which is soon to be out of date, and one is not yet useable. Great Success!