See site in english Voir le site en francais
Website skin:
home  download  forum  link  contact

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: DGIII Alpha release 02.18 feedback here please (Closed)  (Read 23384 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Neal

  • Guest
Reply #75 - 20 February 2004, 19:50:23
Oops. I was wrong about when the bug started. It started some time earlier than the MMU addition. Anyway,
it's still a minor bug.

Neal


Offline Dave Grover

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 48
  • Karma: 0
Reply #76 - 20 February 2004, 19:51:13
I found the same bug Neal found about the Flight Computer saying the door isn't closed.

It seemed to start after an EVA in orbit.

Very cool, Dan!

Grover


Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #77 - 20 February 2004, 20:16:56
Thanks for report I'll have a look (I never use the inner door
so I missed this :)

Dan


Mainstriker

  • Guest
Reply #78 - 20 February 2004, 20:21:52
Hey Dan who do i create a transparent exhaust texture???

Bye Mainstriker


Offline Spacingbluefrog

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 96
  • Karma: 0
Reply #79 - 20 February 2004, 21:06:12
Hi Dan,

Beautiful!

Just two strange things :

-first, inside mmu, the texts are odd, like if they were two texts, one green, one yellow, with one or
two pixel of offset...difficult to read BTW....

-second, when you open the protection of the canopy safety button, then disable safety mode, close again
the protection, open it again, safety mode button is now on safe mode. It seems to me it's not very
reallistic thath just closing the protection make any action...

I will have more time this week end to play (test).

__________________________________________________________________________________
In space, nobody can ear you scream.

In space, nobody can hear you scream...

Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #80 - 20 February 2004, 21:30:34
Spacing:

For text : Either you are running at higher resolution than what the panel is made for
(ie: 1152x864) OR use AA (antialias) on your card OR resize the panel
in the Orbiter launch pad (should be 1.00)

Sorry for "high resolution guy" I solved this problem in a past release
but the solution broke the panel for smaller resolution (panel glue problem)
so I made it back.  Anyway 1152x864 is a good resolution not too small,
things look already good. When final will be released I may provide an
alternate "special high res" dll to run at 1200x1024.

The litle cover have a small plastic pin that push the button when you close it.
this is made because when a safety is disabled you MUST have a visual reminder,
so "cover closed===safety enabled"

Dan
"in space nobody... hmmmm... nobody !" :) (cf Bigard)


Benjey

  • Guest
Reply #81 - 21 February 2004, 12:52:43
Author: DanSteph
Date:   02-19-04 22:07

Hello Benjey,

Can you be more precise I didn't find squickin in google translate ?

I'm swiss too btw, you speak french by any chance ?

Dan

 
Well since you live near Geneva I assume you speak only french and my french is eaven worse
than my
english.
The "Röstigraben" is between us :)

About the sound I described (or at least tried....) I found out what is causing that: It is NAV-MFD

It plays a 3 tone squeaking (hope I get it right this time) sound when you apply the main thrust.
I just moved the files into my "Dont use this sound folder" and the problem is solved.

For those now wondering what it really sound like the filenames are: man100 man50 and man20.

Happy orbits
Benjey


Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #82 - 21 February 2004, 16:38:30
Well, I learned German during 7 years at shool
but I'm affraid it's to far now ;)

About your problem its an OrbiterSound limitation
all the sound are shared beetween vessel
so Nav MFD replace another vessel's sound by it's hown.

I'll rework OrbiterSound so the sound can be unique per vessel.
(but not yet)

Happy flying.

Dan


Bheick

  • Guest
Reply #83 - 21 February 2004, 20:56:41
Got a little bored, so I decided to try out the new functions of the DGIII. Love it!

Although I found that unlocking the canopy and opening it in space isn't very good for your health.
I have a suggestion though. When the air forced out the canopy annihilates the crew and captain,
it would be interesting to have a pitch down from the air expulsion to tumble the DG out of control.
Me thinks it would provide a interesting scenario for a tug like the dragonfly or similar craft to
retrieve an stricken DG and tow it back to a station.

The DGII has surpassed all of its predecessors in every fashion, and it’s flexibility, maneuverability,
and range provides so many hours of enjoyment.

Keep up the good work Dan.

Brian


Offline Wilko

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 76
  • Karma: 0
Reply #84 - 22 February 2004, 02:42:12
This is a shoutout to anyone who hasn't realised (like I didn't) that Dan forgot to mention
something in the new release :) The antenna/data transfer display is now on the flight computer!
Go check it out.

Just a spelling error there Dan, it should be data transfer, not data transfert



Post Edited (02-22-04 02:47)


Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #85 - 22 February 2004, 03:20:44
Oh well this part isn't finished yet this is why I forgot :)

I still wonder if I must bring this page automatically when
one click on the deploy button. What ya think ?

Also later on this display (sub menu) you will be able to download
patch for the computer (given that the antenna is pointed on a base)

Spelling error added to "todo" list Thanks for reporting.

I'm working on OrbiterSound 3.0 right now  it was really too limited so I ended
with patch everywhere in the DGIII & MMu code to bypass it's limitation.

New spec will be:
60 UNIQUE sound per vessel (work already)
PER VESSEL UNIQUE OPTION  (if one set an Sound option disabled
this will not affect other ships) (work also already)

And still to do (thanks the headeach) silent of space in external view
and external sound in atmosphere. ex: no button click from external view,
only wind, thrust etc etc.

(silent space can be disabled for those that love unrealistic external sound)


Dan


Offline Spacingbluefrog

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 96
  • Karma: 0
Reply #86 - 22 February 2004, 14:52:07
Hi Dan,

I try "An art of EVA" mission. Really good!

But... (there is always a ..but! :) ) I've got two CTD.
The first I was 500m far from GL Transworld,(stationnary) with antenna deployed and tracking it. I switch
to Transworld, performed the first EVA, I've not time to ear the bell, ...CDT.

The second, I was at the same distance, no antenna deployed, I performed first EVA, get the man onboard,
return to Transworld, performed the second one, put it on the right way to Rescue, return to Transworld
for the captain's EVA, preformed it and ...CTD.

After the first CTD I reload the last Quicksave scenario I had, and it just put me after the first orbit
insertion, before my align plane phase. (1.25° to correct, not so bad...:) ).

Now, I will have a lunch.

__________________________________________________________________________________
In space, nobody can ear you eating.

In space, nobody can hear you scream...

Offline Spacingbluefrog

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 96
  • Karma: 0
Reply #87 - 22 February 2004, 18:11:22
Well, after this technical pause,  I returned to space.

Load last quicksave, with one rescued man on board, performed the two last EVA and got them both on
board. Everyone safe on board at MJD 51982.9720. Return to Brighton Beach, safety land at 51983.0942.

But...:) (I miss the pad a few 100m, the emotion I think...) So I attemp to make a taxyway to the pad,
but was unable to turn, gear don't turn, nothing I try will success. Don't know why....

__________________________________________________________________________________
In space, nobody can ear you scream.

In space, nobody can hear you scream...

Offline Spacingbluefrog

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 96
  • Karma: 0
Reply #88 - 22 February 2004, 18:22:29
I'm an idiot, forgot the last part about taxyway, I wasnot on ATM mode.... (the emotion, I think)...

In space, nobody can hear you scream...

Offline reekchaa

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 649
  • Country: United States us
  • Karma: 2
Reply #89 - 22 February 2004, 20:29:28
WOO!  The Emotion Indeed!!
Hearing about being able to download Patches via the antenna, updating software in orbit, and
now Dan's already done all THAT with OrbiterSound 3.0?  WOWZERS!  
Quick!  let's get all Emotional and start making some more Demands!  :)


~ the Reekchaa

Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #90 - 22 February 2004, 21:46:29
reekchaa
Quick! let's get all Emotional and start making some more Demands!



Here is an automatic phone responder that answer to you, I'm currently
not at home and don't plan to return one day.  I'm gone with all the source
code on a tropical Island...

Heuu I mean.. err.. You'r welcome, feel free to ask :)

Dan


Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #91 - 22 February 2004, 21:52:06
BlueFrog:

Yes the crash you get happen *often* for me also it seem this mission and switching
to an EVA just after he was created is a good way to get a CTD (don't seem to happen
on any computer anyway)

After hours of tracking and search I did find it was the panel BMP that cause problem
to Orbiter. Also this happen not only with my ship but also with Orbiter stock ship
when you switch focus with ship that have panel. Widther the panel worse the problem.
It seem there is an Orbiter bug about panel surface not released properly.
Martin is aware of this I mailed to him.

Anyway welcome on the moon with the saved crew :)

Dan


Offline bgreman

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 34
  • Karma: 0
Reply #92 - 23 February 2004, 03:09:55
I will note that if I Ctrl-Q and then reload the current state, and then hit F9 to get Planetarium
mode...Boom, CTD.  Though I don't think its just with the DGIII.  Also, I didn't read the installation
instructions for the last one, and now my main engine just makes a beeping noise that gets louder
with increased thrust.  Anyway to get rid of it Dan?


CRASHBANGRUMBLEBUMPHISS

Houston...we've flushed our toilet.

Offline MattNW

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 333
  • Karma: 0
Reply #93 - 23 February 2004, 07:13:04
bgreman wrote:

> I will note that if I Ctrl-Q and then reload the current state,
> and then hit F9 to get Planetarium
> mode...Boom, CTD.  Though I don't think its just with the
> DGIII.  Also, I didn't read the installation
> instructions for the last one, and now my main engine just
> makes a beeping noise that gets louder
> with increased thrust.  Anyway to get rid of it Dan?
>
>


I had the same crash when I use "Planetarium Mode". Are you running Orbiter in full screen mode?
I found that I don't get the CTD in Window mode.

To undo an isntallation go back to the last version before you installed this one. Cut and paste the
elements in by hand and after pasting delete them while they are still highlited. That'll make sure
you get all the old DG III elements out. Next just unzip your new version of the DG III into the
Orbiter folder. That should isntall it correctly. That's what I do because I got tired of creating a
new Orbiter installation each time then adding all my other add ons.


Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #94 - 23 February 2004, 09:03:05
F9 is know to cause problem even with stock plane, there is some ressource not
correctly handled here.

the beep beep come from NAV-MFD that overwrite the first three sound
of DGIII, fortunately it will not happen anymore with the incoming version of
OrbiterSound. For now to get ride of this simply unactivate NAV-MFD.

Matt,

If your not low on disk space do as me : Do an empty install of Orbiter
with just OrbiterSound installed. Once done zip it and when time come
you just need two unzip (Orbiter and DGIII) and your set.
(with complete high res texture and OrbiterSound it make 72mo zipped)

Dan


Offline DocHoliday

  • Legend
  • ******
  • Posts: 2475
  • Karma: 2
Reply #95 - 23 February 2004, 09:03:57
Hi Dan,

Finally been able to test the Dg3 over weekend. It works very well!! The CTDs for Easy and
Medium mission are gone now. But I did notice one thing, wonder if other have as well. I chose the
Art of EVA and took off from moon using PRO200SPEC7 autopilot, which levels the aircraft and
maintains vertical velocitiy and it worked fine. I just used main engines to add tangential velocity
to reach orbit. When I was in orbit I deactivated the autopilot and prepared did a plane correction
to reach the GL-transworld. When I tried to use RCS linear thrust to make small modifications, DG3
started acted funny, instead of switching to RCS linear, it engaged Level Horizon autopilot, so I
figured it must have still been running the Pro200Spec7 program somewhere in the background. I
couldn't convince it to stop, so I quicksaved and exited Orbiter totally, then restarted the saved
scenario and it worked well.

Anyone else experienced the same anomaly after using the hover autopilot? It was possibly just a
freak thing, it only happened once, and I didn't test it again yet.

Thanks for all the work, Dan!

Janez

~~~

"Mood is a matter of choice. I choose to have fun!" -Vidmarism No 15

Offline Wilko

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 76
  • Karma: 0
Reply #96 - 23 February 2004, 11:44:39
Sounds like you need a software update for your buggy flight computer ;)

Sounds like a neat bug, I haven't had it happen to me.


Offline DocHoliday

  • Legend
  • ******
  • Posts: 2475
  • Karma: 2
Reply #97 - 23 February 2004, 12:58:24
Hehe, I'm deploying antenna for download and kicking the panel while I'm at it! :)

Maybe I should install a separate copy of Orbiter and DG3 after all, to minimize error variables.


~~~

"Mood is a matter of choice. I choose to have fun!" -Vidmarism No 15

Offline bgreman

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 34
  • Karma: 0
Reply #98 - 23 February 2004, 18:18:28
Thanks, Dan.  Getting rid of NavMFD fixed the problem.  Great work.


CRASHBANGRUMBLEBUMPHISS

Houston...we've flushed our toilet.

Offline DocHoliday

  • Legend
  • ******
  • Posts: 2475
  • Karma: 2
Reply #99 - 24 February 2004, 12:07:55
Well, the fresh install solved the RCS bug, or maybe it was just a freak thing.

My method of playing the hard mission is, I eject one astronaut at a time from the spinning
deegee and then F3 to the rescue DG and use Attitude MFD to automatically equalise velocities
with the EVA pilot then approach them to let them board comfortably :) then back to the spinning
DG.

They be all sitting in Brighton beach's Aldrin Cafe now, having beers, :beer::friend: thankfully
remembering the DG3's designer that made their survival possible :)

See ya


~~~

"Mood is a matter of choice. I choose to have fun!" -Vidmarism No 15