See site in english Voir le site en francais
Website skin:
home  download  forum  link  contact

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: DGIII Alpha release 02.18 feedback here please (Closed)  (Read 22880 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
18 February 2004, 05:09:57
As usuall


"So here is the new alpha version of the DGIII"

download here:
http://orbiter.dansteph.com/index.php?disp=dgIII

Odd things I have some CTD on the The ART of EVA mission
that I'm unable to reproduce at each try.....

Anyway if it work I hope you will be pleased with this new release :)


Dan


Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #1 - 18 February 2004, 05:11:03
bump :)


Offline jgrillo2002

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
  • Country: United States us
  • Karma: 5
Reply #2 - 18 February 2004, 05:45:00
trying it now



Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #3 - 18 February 2004, 05:45:54
mhhh anxious ?  does it work?


Offline jgrillo2002

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
  • Country: United States us
  • Karma: 5
Reply #4 - 18 February 2004, 05:52:20
WARNING WARNING WARNIG.

Dan I discovered a CRC error during extraction. Reason: CORRUPTED file!  

C:\Documents and Settings\Gateway User\Desktop\DGIII_alpha_040218_rev1.zip: CRC failed in
Meshes\DeltaGliderIII.msh. The file is corrupt


reupload immediatly!!!



Offline reekchaa

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 649
  • Country: United States us
  • Karma: 2
Reply #5 - 18 February 2004, 05:58:57
Beauty!  Works fine for me!  :applause:

I'm trying to save Joe Drank... Took a bit to find the Walk keys, but eventually found Keypad '8'
along with rotational 1 & 3 works pretty dang well :)  LOOOOVE that new Breathing sound. :)
there's a little side-drift when a miniscule amount of thrust is applied, but if I remember right,
that's an Orbiter thang?
Back to Rescuing Joe!  WOOOOOT!  I'll be up all night now too!  :)


~ the Reekchaa

Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #6 - 18 February 2004, 05:59:00
Just tried a fresh download it work, it seem that your download failed
do the usual things:

in IE got to "tool" "internet option" in the tab "temporary internet files"  
click on the "delete the file" and also "off line content" else the download
will take again and again the corrupted file from your cache instead of my
site.

Hope it help ?

Dan


Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #7 - 18 February 2004, 06:15:58
about key:

Use your joystick in rot mode in translation use numpad key  9=backward 6=forward
(default Orbiter's key)

Glaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaad that it work !!!! :friend:

I started at 10 am last day it make me 20 hours of work :)

Dan


Offline jgrillo2002

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
  • Country: United States us
  • Karma: 5
Reply #8 - 18 February 2004, 06:29:21
Ok. Report: EVA is ok but I found a bug, when I go to the bottom panel & try to scroll down to the
EVA tab, it wont me go up. its like im stuck.:( A workwround was to change to the main panel
view. please fix this



Offline reekchaa

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 649
  • Country: United States us
  • Karma: 2
Reply #9 - 18 February 2004, 06:46:28
I see that bottom panel scroll issue too... similar in the Suit Panel. (Sticks to bottom if scrolling
around in lower-res).

But HA!! ... I danced around on Mars, Spun around like a little girl until I started to get dizzy and
fall over, then I suddenly had RCS control thrusters (excited), but ended up flat on my back and
stuck with no one around to give me a hand up.  :)  Very fun.


~ the Reekchaa

Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #10 - 18 February 2004, 07:10:06
If your flat it's because your dead.

Look at the top at the suit panel there is O2 indication if it's 0%
and you are on ground,   ... your flat :)

Bug noticed and added on my tomoro.. todo list

At wich resolution are you running ? did you tried the 1152x854 ?
because it run fine at 15-30fps on my P400 (geforce2)

Dan :zzz:


Offline jgrillo2002

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
  • Country: United States us
  • Karma: 5
Reply #11 - 18 February 2004, 07:35:02
im running this on window. Good Night & great job



Offline DocHoliday

  • Legend
  • ******
  • Posts: 2475
  • Karma: 2
Reply #12 - 18 February 2004, 09:41:02
Damn, I wish I wasn't at work. Now I have to wait for 7+ hours to try out the DG!!!

have a better one,


~~~

"Mood is a matter of choice. I choose to have fun!" -Vidmarism No 15

marcozp

  • Guest
Reply #13 - 18 February 2004, 10:41:03
:) :)


Cooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooool!

(do not disturb, im in EVA!) :)


Offline DocHoliday

  • Legend
  • ******
  • Posts: 2475
  • Karma: 2
Reply #14 - 18 February 2004, 11:05:34
Heh, considering Eva is also my girlfriend I might take offense at your statement marcozp :)

Have fun with EVA :)


~~~

"Mood is a matter of choice. I choose to have fun!" -Vidmarism No 15

Offline canadave

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 531
  • Country: Canada ca
  • Karma: 0
Reply #15 - 18 February 2004, 11:10:11
Wow....

Did I say "Wow"?  I meant, WOW.  I mean, WOWWW.

I am speechless.  I want to give Dan a hug but I don't know how to do that from 7,000 miles
away.  Absolutely unbelievable work Dan, just amazing beyond words.

A couple of very very VERY minor suggestions:

--make the EVA thrusters weaker.  If I'm rotating the guy, I can stop on a dime by hitting the
KILLROT button in a millisecond.

--You should change the default setting for the DG3 skin to be "Set by scenario" in your DG3
download.  This is the option most people are going to want (need) anyway, so you might as well
set them up with it right out of the box.

--this is more of a question than a suggestion: would it be more real to have the EVA guy maybe
come out of the airlock horizontally oriented, rather than standing "straight up" in relation to the
airlock?  If he came out the airlock, he probably "crawled" out rather than "walked" out.

--the breathing is AWESOME, but it's a little disconcerting because it sounds like the guy's
hyperventilating :)  I'd suggest that either a) you re-record your voice (it IS your voice, right?) at a
slower speed, or b) can you find a WAV file of the breathing sound from "2001: A Space
Odyssey"?  I'll look for it for you.

All in all...an incredibly terrific job.  I don't know how we get Martin to include this and
OrbiterSound as part of the default Orbiter install, but it seems to me it would be a crime not to.

--Dave


Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #16 - 18 February 2004, 13:27:50
Thanks for comment,

No major bug no CTD ? cool :)


Strange I find the thruster not really responsive, I think it's a good middle
for noobs that like "saber laser" style and "heavy hard core old space chap"
Any other advice on this ?

The default will be changed to set by scenario once I'm sure all the scenario
have the proper input (you know I work fast even it don't seem, so
what I consider as minor detail can sometime lack my attention.
this will be fixed for final.)

I think horizontally will be disconcerting for noobs you must be used to
Orbiter, try it while horizontal it's not as easy as it seem (well it is for confirmed user)
Let say that the guy just went out with the help of his arm and just turned 1/2
Also men are done to stand straight up, it's not a simulator for lazy people :)

Perhaps you did ear the "rapid breath" that come at 80 cradiac pulse, try one mission
where it have about 65 70 the breath is more slow. (some mission as "rescue the dumb"
are done so it breath fast always after all this guy is under heavy stress.)
just counted the breath it make 24 breath per minute, a bit higher than natural breath
(12-20 bpm) but we suppose those guy are a bit impressed. Anyway I'll try a bit slower
sound when under 70 cardiac pulse.
Any other advice on this ?


What I find really cool and can preview what Orbiter sound will do is when you
travel with your spacesuit and switch beetween inside and outside view....
In outside view if you don't fire the thruster there is absolutely no sound and I think
this add a great ambiance.
Try it , you fire  your thruster to have some relative speed
(travelling around the ship) than you swap outside to see him moving and again inside.


Well I'll fix a couple of things and release again today in 4-8-12 hours ?
( my last "fix" took me 10 days ;)

Dan
"on duty"


Offline darkvoid

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 47
  • Karma: 0
Reply #17 - 18 February 2004, 14:18:22
WOWWWW! very nice work Dan....

I was flying in atmosphere with the DGIII at mach 0.5 and I tried to eject a person at 2km . hehe
VERY NICE... they fall like rocks....

But I notice two small problems
1º to open the "outer door" I had to adjust pressure for a long time!  

2º The autopilot "level horizon" sometimes cannot maintain the ship levelled with the horizon
flying at mach 2 or 3 in the atmosphere. DGIII Rcs low power?

> Strange I find the thruster not really responsive, I think it's a good middle
> for noobs that like "saber laser" style and "heavy hard core old space chap"
> Any other advice on this ?

I think the thrusters are well balanced in space but in the ground 5.5m/s is a little to fast... (my
opinion)

Keep up the fantastic work...


Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #18 - 18 February 2004, 14:42:45
At mach 2 the airflow pressure are hugh and no RCS in the world
would be able to counter act this.

Yes the airlock pressure is a bit boring but I think it's enough
unrealisticly fast. ;)
(the air of the airlock is compressed in bottle and not jetissoned in space)

6 m/s is about 21 km/h in fact you are running at this speed
(your heart will increase until 120 bpm)
I have put 2.5 m/s at first but it was booooring.
Anyway if you act gentle on the stick you can "walk" at 2.5 m/s ;)

But i's true I'll perhaps add a "tired" factore, after a moment your speed
will drop to 3 m/s until you take some rest.

Thanks for words :drink:

Dan


Offline Zamzara

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 23
  • Karma: 0
Reply #19 - 18 February 2004, 15:29:20
Wow, it's like waking up and finding Santa's been!! New DG3 update!!!!

The only 2 slight problems I have are:
1. Some of the panels don't scroll, such as the DG3 lower panel and the EVA panel, so at lower resolution
you can't read all the info.
2. The base distance and base direction in the custom HUD don't work.

No serious problem though, and some excellent features!


Offline ChristopherT

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 64
  • Karma: 0
Reply #20 - 18 February 2004, 15:34:52

 
  I'm back from medical leave, and I'm downloading it now. :D  Yours is the only project I'll be
actively testing, Dan!  

    Thanks for the EVA, lets see how Joe works.

       Christopher


Offline darkvoid

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 47
  • Karma: 0
Reply #21 - 18 February 2004, 15:56:33
DanSteph wrote:

> Yes the airlock pressure is a bit boring but I think it's enough
> unrealisticly fast.
> (the air of the airlock is compressed in bottle and not jetissoned in space)
The speed is realistic BUT in earth atmosfere (maybe under 4Km) it wouldn't need to ajust
pressure or it should be a very quick air burst. just a suggestion


> At mach 2 the airflow pressure are hugh and no RCS in the world
> would be able to counter act this.
Yup, I agree. But the RCS are still underpowerd because I can't do manual reentries. It only works
with autopilot (it uses up to 3 TIMES the RCS power allowed in manual use) But I know you are
going to work on this later ;)

And on the ground EVA the "turn rate" is very high... in 1 second I can rotate almost 360º... maybe
30º/second would more stable/realistic.

Darkvoid


Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #22 - 18 February 2004, 16:14:29
Ok turn rate adjusted

Dan


Offline ChristopherT

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 64
  • Karma: 0
Reply #23 - 18 February 2004, 17:21:16

 Okay, this might be a procedural error on my part, not a bug.  Load up the "Docked to ISS
scenario.  Open the inner and outer doors, load the crew configuration.  When that's done,
select someone to go "EVA" (as if to depart the DG3 through the airlock and go onto
the station.)  EVA won't progress, message indicates "Docked: Airlock Busy".  If this is just
a limit of Orbiter, that's okay.  I can write new scenarios that put the DG3 and ISS into a close
parking orbit.  I just think it reduces the functionality of the EVA a bit.  :)

  Otherwise, it's working great so far!  :applause:  I really look forward to spending the rest
of the day trying out some things.

  Thanks, Dan!

          Christopher


Offline canadave

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 531
  • Country: Canada ca
  • Karma: 0
Reply #24 - 18 February 2004, 17:37:34
Dan,

I understand your concern (regarding my suggestions) that "noobs" might have some issues with
horizontal spacewalkers and so on (although personally I don't think they would).  But my friend, I
don't know if you realize this or not, but the DG3 is not a ship for "noobs" :)  Any noob who would
have problems understanding why a spacewalker is coming out the airlock horizontally instead of
vertically would NOT be able to understand the DG3's systems well enough to drive it.  Trust me
on this--the DG3 is now officially an "intermediate/advanced user" ship--noobs would not be able
to handle it.

Dave