See site in english Voir le site en francais
Website skin:
home  download  forum  link  contact

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: [closed] UCGO beta test ver 091130  (Read 51368 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #25 - 30 November 2009, 23:56:58
Quote
reekchaa a écrit:
with the cargoes, can make difficult selection (there seems to be a grapling
order, not just closest to center taking place).

Noted in todo, I should sort cargo by distance so the closest is grappled first.

Cheers

Dan


Offline Xyon

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 35
  • Karma: 0
Reply #26 - 01 December 2009, 00:03:54
On that topic, the first time I tried to pick up a cargo from the back of the Azure Rover, I wound up picking up the other
UMMu and carrying him around for a bit instead. Worth a giggle, but a little bit odd - I didn't realise you were meant to be
able to pick up other UMMu's...


Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #27 - 01 December 2009, 00:08:36
Quote
Xyon a écrit:
On that topic, the first time I tried to pick up a cargo from the back of the Azure Rover, I wound up picking up the other
UMMu and carrying him around for a bit instead. Worth a giggle, but a little bit odd - I didn't realise you were meant to be
able to pick up other UMMu's...

I like dancing that's why :)

:beer:

Dan


Offline tl8roy

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 113
  • Karma: 0
Reply #28 - 01 December 2009, 00:11:05
First Impressions:

I am a bit short for time, but a basic rundown now.
Had a little trouble getting started, ID10T error.

Looks as beautiful in Orbiter as it does in the pictures. Only have had a play with the cars so far.
The cargos look pretty good, cars look spectacular.

Overall looks pretty good so far.
I will add feedback later.


TL8

"To Learn Programming you need not know the language but how to copy and paste."

Offline gattico

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 337
  • Country: United States us
  • Karma: 15
Reply #29 - 01 December 2009, 00:33:45
I deactivated all modules.  It crashes after loading ShuttleA:
**** Orbiter.log
Build Sep 29 2006 [v.060929]
Found 0 joystick(s)
Module AtlantisConfig.dll [API v.060425]
Module DGConfig.dll [API v.060425]

**** Creating simulation session
DirectDraw interface OK
Direct3D interface OK
Zbuffer: 16 bit
Render device: Fullscreen 1024 x 768
Device has no hardware T&L capability
Module Sun.dll [API v.050206]
VSOP87(E) Sun: Precision 1e-006, Terms 554/6634
Module Mercury.dll [API v.050206]
VSOP87(B) Mercury: Precision 1e-005, Terms 167/7123
Module Venus.dll [API v.050206]
VSOP87(B) Venus: Precision 1e-005, Terms 79/1710
Module Earth.dll [API v.050206]
VSOP87(B) Earth: Precision 1e-008, Terms 2564/2564
BaseObject: Parse error 1
Module Moon.dll [API v.041022]
ELP82: Precision 1e-005, Terms 116/829
Module Mars.dll [API v.060425]
VSOP87(B) Mars: Precision 1e-005, Terms 405/6400
Module Galsat.dll [API v.041022]
Module Jupiter.dll [API v.050206]
VSOP87(B) Jupiter: Precision 1e-006, Terms 1624/3625
Module Io.dll [API v.041022]
Module Europa.dll [API v.041022]
Module Ganymede.dll [API v.041022]
Module Callisto.dll [API v.041022]
Module Satsat.dll [API v.050206]
Module Saturn.dll [API v.060425]
VSOP87(B) Saturn: Precision 1e-006, Terms 2904/6365
Module Mimas.dll [API v.050206]
SATSAT Mimas: Terms 113
Module Enceladus.dll [API v.050206]
SATSAT Enceladus: Terms 33
Module Tethys.dll [API v.050206]
SATSAT Tethys: Terms 101
Module Dione.dll [API v.050206]
SATSAT Dione: Terms 59
Module Rhea.dll [API v.050206]
SATSAT Rhea: Terms 68
Module Titan.dll [API v.050206]
SATSAT Titan: Terms 100
Module Hyperion.dll [API v.050206]
SATSAT Hyperion: Terms 595
Module Iapetus.dll [API v.050206]
SATSAT Iapetus: Terms 605
Module Uranus.dll [API v.050206]
VSOP87(B) Uranus: Precision 1e-006, Terms 1827/5269
Module Neptune.dll [API v.050206]
VSOP87(B) Neptune: Precision 1e-006, Terms 391/2024
Finished initialising world
Module ShuttleA.dll [API v.060425]


Offline Xyon

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 35
  • Karma: 0
Reply #30 - 01 December 2009, 00:38:27
Hmm. No help there. Try loading one of the other (stock Orbiter) scenarios that have a Shuttle-A in them and some that
don't, see if you get crashes loading those.


Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #31 - 01 December 2009, 00:41:02
Quote
gattico a écrit:
I deactivated all modules.  It crashes after loading ShuttleA:
[API v.060425]

The next module loaded is accordingly to my log the dynamic cargo dll.
Can you try other scenarios with Cargo released (chute for example)
and see it they work ?

If yes can you try to copy the "unpack" scenario and remove the shuttleA
(just in case) if you know how to edit a scenario ?

much thanks

Dan


Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #32 - 01 December 2009, 00:49:43
Quote
gattico a écrit:
I deactivated all modules.  It crashes after loading ShuttleA:
[API v.060425]

Mhhhh thinking about it maybe one bug that was already seen with the shuttleA... !??
On some scenarios for whatewer reason the payload weight had a huge number like:

Code: [Select]
PAYLOAD MASS -6353455555555000000000000000000000000000000000000000.0

Try remove this line, set mass to zero or remove completely the ShuttleA from scenario.

thanks for feedback.

Dan



Message modifié ( 01-12-2009 00:50 )


Offline sunshine135

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 547
  • Country: United States us
  • Karma: 3
  • I fly by the seat of my pants!
Reply #33 - 01 December 2009, 01:43:02
Dan,

First- The Arrow is a virtually uncontrollable pig in Earth atmosphere. It takes much good piloting, and I landed somewhere
in the marsh at the KSC.

Second- I validated in the moon scenario that you should not land with the DGIV (or any other ship for that matter) docked to
the port. Good call to disable this function with the auto land. DGIV comes sliding out of the underside of the Arrow and
travels about 2KM unmanned.

The moon rover astronauts became alarmed and upset as the DGIV came crashing out. One Ummu now has a permanent brown stain on
the underside of his spacesuit :lol:


"Sun Dog"

Offline Shadow Addict

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
  • Karma: 0
Reply #34 - 01 December 2009, 02:03:05
I've been messing around with the Azure rover. I love the way it handles (at least on the Moon), and it looks great.
However, I can't tell if there's supposed to be a way to get it back into the Arrow. I tried putting it back on its lift but it
didn't raise, and its help file didn't include anything about it. Is there a way to do this?


Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #35 - 01 December 2009, 02:07:35
The position is maybe too strict ?

It should really fit in the lift as when it was released. Look in external view if it look okay. (internal view may give a
false feeling)

I think I'll loose the detection anyway someone that stow the lift even with a 10m far away Azure is more likely to want the Azure back aboard than not ?

Let me know

Dan



Message modifié ( 01-12-2009 02:08 )


Offline gattico

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 337
  • Country: United States us
  • Karma: 15
Reply #36 - 01 December 2009, 02:16:08
This is what I have:
SH01:ShuttleA
  STATUS Landed Moon
  BASE UMMU 2.0 Demo:1
  POS 33.4384840 5.1203650
  HEADING 312.55
  PRPLEVEL 0:1.000 1:1.000
  NAVFREQ 0 0
  XPDR 0
  PODANGLE 0.0000 0.0000
  DOCKSTATE 0 0.0000
  AIRLOCK 0 0.0000
  GEAR 0 0.0000
  PAYLOAD MASS 0.0 0
END

I deleted this and it worked


Offline Shadow Addict

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
  • Karma: 0
Reply #37 - 01 December 2009, 02:27:19
I like the detection being strict, though perhaps it's a bit too strict now. I'll try it again and get it on more precisely.

A quick suggestion: how about a probe without a heat shield for airless bodies?'

Also, a bug:


UCGO BUG


Bug with:

Probe


Short description:

Unlimited fuel


Severity

very minor realism issue


Complete description

The probe doesn't lose any fuel in any scenarios during either deorbit or landing. I have limited fuel checked, and
other fuel drains.


Reproduce bug

Any probe deployment scenario


Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #38 - 01 December 2009, 02:33:47
Quote
Shadow Addict a écrit:
Short description:
Unlimited fuel

The problem is that the Probe must work in a lot of very differents situations. The guy that release it very far from an
heavy planet (requering A HUGE fuel) as well as someone that release it close to a light moon.

This is why I've set a very low fuel consumpution..

Maybe I've exagerated a bit ? :)
I may lower a bit the number but still on normal release it will only use a few fuel to prevent extreme situation.

what y a think ?

Dam


Offline Shadow Addict

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
  • Karma: 0
Reply #39 - 01 December 2009, 02:48:00
Ohhhh, I see. I've been using it from low lunar orbits so it just appears to stay at 100%. I didn't realize it was limited at
all. Thanks for the clarification.


Offline insanity

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
  • Karma: 0
Reply #40 - 01 December 2009, 02:51:07
First thoughts:

I decided to take the Arrow, some Cargo, and a DGIV (launched from AIA) on a run to Europa in the scenario provided (nice
touch with the ISS in-front of the Arrow).

Loading cargo could be easier- I think a cargo minus button (to scroll back and forth) would be nice.

I really like the ctrl+alt+forward view in the VC... great for stargazing.

Docking the DGIV is a bit of a challenge as the Arrow's IDS tries to send you straight into the ship's engines and gravity
wheel. I don't think there is any way around it, and I started playing DGIV mini-golf which was fun.

All of the cargo that I brought with me worked as intended, which was quite surprising for a beta.

Maybe I missed it, but it would be nice to see the amount of fuel in kg besides percentage.

The only other suggestion I have is that you might consider better organizing the vehicles and cargo in the add-vessel
function of
the scenario editor. The added vessels make the list really congested. An example would be a separate folder for the vessels
like Universal Flag  uses. Anyways, I haven't had any bugs yet, but I'll keep looking.

Great work so far!

Cheers,
Eric



Post Edited ( 12-01-09 03:33 )


Offline Shadow Addict

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
  • Karma: 0
Reply #41 - 01 December 2009, 03:08:10
Just tested out the Autoland. It works great!


Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #42 - 01 December 2009, 03:26:52
Quote
insanity a écrit:
The only other suggestion I have is that you might consider better organizing the vehicles and cargo in the add-vessel
function of the scenario editor. The added vessels make the list really congested. An example would be a separate folder for
the vessels
Eric

Much thanks Eric.

I tagged your post as "bug" because I tought about organizing editor list but wasn't aware it was possible. So tag will
remind me to have a look at this.

Best

Dan


Offline insanity

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
  • Karma: 0
Reply #43 - 01 December 2009, 03:28:22
One more thing I noticed, I loaded up a scenario and added an Azure rover and loaded some crew in it to go exploring. When my
crew got out, they were all wearing the capt suit.


Offline sunshine135

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 547
  • Country: United States us
  • Karma: 3
  • I fly by the seat of my pants!
Reply #44 - 01 December 2009, 03:41:37
Quote
Xyon wrote:
Quote
gattico wrote:

UCGO BUG


Bug with:




Short description:

Orbiter appears to CTD on the "Construct a base by unpacking cargos" Scenario.


Severity

CTD


Complete description

(Orbiter appears to CTD on the "Construct a base by unpacking cargos" Scenario.)


Reproduce bug

(Load the "_UniversalCarsandCargos (UCGO) \ Features demonstrations - Learning \ Construct a base by
unpacking
cargos.scn "  it should CTD)


Miscallenous

(If you have comments or something to add)

Loaded scenario fine and unpacked every box - no CTD here. What does orbiter.log say about it?


I too cannot duplicate this.


"Sun Dog"

Offline sunshine135

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 547
  • Country: United States us
  • Karma: 3
  • I fly by the seat of my pants!
Reply #45 - 01 December 2009, 03:48:29
Quote
Shadow Addict wrote:
I've been messing around with the Azure rover. I love the way it handles (at least on the Moon), and it looks great.
However, I can't tell if there's supposed to be a way to get it back into the Arrow. I tried putting it back on its lift but it
didn't raise, and its help file didn't include anything about it. Is there a way to do this?

When you put it back on the platform, it has to be near what it was like when you offloaded it. I believe for the sake of
realism, you would want it like this. You would also have a Ummu at the base of the platform marshaling you back on to it.

I don't believe that changing the tolerances here is the answer, Dan. Maybe some markings on the lift so you know where the
front tire should be lined up. If the Azure is centered, then it should lift. Otherwise, the rover would jam in between the
lift and the frame.


"Sun Dog"

Offline tl8roy

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 113
  • Karma: 0
Reply #46 - 01 December 2009, 03:51:20

UCGO BUG


Bug with:

Forklift


Short description:

Forklift keeps accelerating


Severity

Medium


Complete description

Was playing with the Forklift and was trying to change direction (forward/reverse). Press 'End' and the forklift was
accelerating when my joystick was in the 'brake' position (ie pulled back). Holding the joystick forward didn't brake the car.


Reproduce bug

Jump into the forklift, go forward and back toggling the End key, after a while it might get confused what direction it is
meant to go and after that a few more tries will get it accelerating when the joystick is pulled back.



Miscallenous

Direction could be forward or reverse



Post Edited ( 12-01-09 04:22 )

TL8

"To Learn Programming you need not know the language but how to copy and paste."

Offline sunshine135

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 547
  • Country: United States us
  • Karma: 3
  • I fly by the seat of my pants!
Reply #47 - 01 December 2009, 03:56:07
Quote
DanSteph wrote:
Okay Thanks Sun, I'll have a look. If cars work there is no reasons that I can't solve this for UMmu.

Cheers

Dan

Dan,

Interestingly enough, I tried the Cargo Unpacking lesson and had no problems turning the Ummu here. Something in that
scenario is causing the difficult turning.

UPDATE:

I may have figured out part of my problem. I am using Flybywire to use my rudder peddles with my joystick. I think this may be causing some of the stutter. When I disconnected my rudder peddles, I saw dramatic improvement with the Ummu rotation. If this is not an issue for others, we might want to call this one resolved.




Post Edited ( 12-01-09 05:11 )

"Sun Dog"

Offline sunshine135

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 547
  • Country: United States us
  • Karma: 3
  • I fly by the seat of my pants!
Reply #48 - 01 December 2009, 04:07:41

UCGO BUG


Bug with:
Rover Pre-programmed Path in Scenario Construct a base by unpacking cargos


Short description:

Rover drives through the unpacked base in the tutorial


Severity

detail


Complete description
When you start the tutorial, the rover drives by the cargo crates in a predetermined AI path. This is fine until the
inflatable base is unpacked. Then the rover appears to drive through the middle of the base.


Reproduce bug

Start the scenario an unpack the inflatable bases.


Miscallenous
This is a clean up item.`


"Sun Dog"

Offline sunshine135

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 547
  • Country: United States us
  • Karma: 3
  • I fly by the seat of my pants!
Reply #49 - 01 December 2009, 05:28:42
Quote
tl8roy wrote:

UCGO BUG


Bug with:

Forklift


Short description:

Forklift keeps accelerating


Severity

Medium


Complete description

Was playing with the Forklift and was trying to change direction (forward/reverse). Press 'End' and the forklift was
accelerating when my joystick was in the 'brake' position (ie pulled back). Holding the joystick forward didn't brake the car.


Reproduce bug

Jump into the forklift, go forward and back toggling the End key, after a while it might get confused what direction it is
meant to go and after that a few more tries will get it accelerating when the joystick is pulled back.



Miscallenous

Direction could be forward or reverse


I was able to duplicate this once, but it took an awful lot of forward/back/forward/back for me to duplicate it. Once I
stopped the vehicle and cycled the forward and back again, the issue cleared up.


"Sun Dog"