See site in english Voir le site en francais
Website skin:
home  download  forum  link  contact

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: [closed] UCGO beta test ver 091130  (Read 51367 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline tl8roy

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 113
  • Karma: 0
Reply #50 - 01 December 2009, 07:22:26
hmm, I was unable to stop at all.


TL8

"To Learn Programming you need not know the language but how to copy and paste."

Offline Xyon

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 35
  • Karma: 0
Reply #51 - 01 December 2009, 11:14:10
Quote
sunshine135 wrote:
When you put it back on the platform, it has to be near what it was like when you offloaded it. I believe for the sake of
realism, you would want it like this. You would also have a Ummu at the base of the platform marshaling you back on to
it.

I don't believe that changing the tolerances here is the answer, Dan. Maybe some markings on the lift so you know
where the
front tire should be lined up. If the Azure is centered, then it should lift. Otherwise, the rover would jam in between the
lift and the frame.


Seconded; I think it'd add a realism aspect as well as a visual aid to re-docking the rover - in real life you'd probably have
that yellow and black tape marking out the "parking space". I tried to park it with a UMMu stood next to it backing it up
as suggested and it's quite a challenge to find the right spot.

I can't find the quote but I agree that a "-" button to scroll backwards through the lists on the Arrow VC right panels
would be helpful.


Offline Xyon

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 35
  • Karma: 0
Reply #52 - 01 December 2009, 12:05:02
Not sure if it's a bug or not but I find on occasion my RCS systems stop working. It's happened once with the Arrow and
once with a stock DG I was trying to dock with it - I can see the RCS exhaust flame in the external view but the ship's
attitude doesn't change at all. I can't suggest anything for reproduction, because it seems to happen at random, but last
time it happened I was in Features and Demonstrations > Mother Ship - Arrow Freighter 18 scenario. Launched from
moon into a rather eccentric orbit because I wasn't paying attention and thought to spawn in a stock DG to try to dock with the Arrow. Used scenario editor to spawn it in, copy orbital elements from Arrow and burn main engines to get some
distance for docking. RCS froze up on the way back.



Post Edited ( 12-01-09 12:15 )


Offline gattico

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 337
  • Country: United States us
  • Karma: 15
Reply #53 - 01 December 2009, 13:12:38

UCGO BUG


Bug with:

(Ummu)


Short description:

(Which base is she in and Ummu movement)


Severity

(minor)


Complete description

(On the base construction scenario.  Which base is Ummu-Lola in?  but in the Ummu movement I use 1/3 keypad for
the rotation that works fine.  but if I use 8 forward and 2 reverse I get odd effects.  I pressed 8 for forward nothing
happened then it moved but backwards away from the objects.  Same for #2 but I move toward the object.  I also
started tilting, as seen in the image.)


Reproduce bug

(I started the base construct scenario.  Ummu movement was good at first in any direction.  I switch to Ummu-lola and
moved
her if seem ok.  Switched back to UMmu_Capt-Peter_John and then when I pressed 8 for forward he moved backward)


Miscallenous

(
)


Offline the.punk

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 80
  • Karma: 0
Reply #54 - 01 December 2009, 13:51:11

UCGO BUG


Bug with:

Cars


Short description:

Cars driving into each other if in AI mode.


Severity

minor

Complete description

When you have AI on with some cars you will notice that they sometines drive into each other. Also in AI cars dance.

Reproduce bug

Start AI cars dance scenario and scwith to TRUCKAI1. Then wait to about 50 sec and you will notice a forklift driving
through it.

Miscallenous

I think it's an minor bug.



Post Edited ( 12-01-09 20:10 )



Offline the.punk

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 80
  • Karma: 0
Reply #55 - 01 December 2009, 13:55:12
Quote
gattico wrote:

UCGO BUG


Bug with:




Short description:

Orbiter appears to CTD on the "Construct a base by unpacking cargos" Scenario.


Severity

CTD

Complete description

(Orbiter appears to CTD on the "Construct a base by unpacking cargos" Scenario.)


Reproduce bug

(Load the "_UniversalCarsandCargos (UCGO) \ Features demonstrations - Learning \ Construct a base by
unpacking
cargos.scn "  it should CTD)


Miscallenous

(If you have comments or something to add)

I also cannot reproduce this.



Post Edited ( 12-01-09 20:10 )



Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #56 - 01 December 2009, 14:05:34
Quote
the.punk a écrit:
Short description:
Cars driving into each other if in AI mode.

This would require complete collide/position check with a complexe avoiding AI code that can lead to other bugs. (while
avoiding a car enter in collision with a building, vessel, cargos etc)

As orbiter doesn't manage collision it would take too much time, subject to bugs etc.

So noted as "solved"

Thanks

Dan


Offline the.punk

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 80
  • Karma: 0
Reply #57 - 01 December 2009, 14:13:03
Quote
DanSteph wrote:
Quote
Shadow Addict a écrit:
Short description:
Unlimited fuel

The problem is that the Probe must work in a lot of very differents situations. The guy that release it very far from an
heavy planet (requering A HUGE fuel) as well as someone that release it close to a light moon.

This is why I've set a very low fuel consumpution..

Maybe I've exagerated a bit ? :)
I may lower a bit the number but still on normal release it will only use a few fuel to prevent extreme situation.

what y a think ?

Dam

I think you could higher the consumtion a bit.



Post Edited ( 12-01-09 20:11 )



Offline the.punk

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 80
  • Karma: 0
Reply #58 - 01 December 2009, 14:14:06
Quote
DanSteph wrote:
Quote
the.punk a écrit:
Short description:
Cars driving into each other if in AI mode.

This would require complete collide/position check with a complexe avoiding AI code that can lead to other bugs.
(while
avoiding a car enter in collision with a building, vessel, cargos etc)

As orbiter doesn't manage collision it would take too much time, subject to bugs etc.

So noted as "solved"

Thanks

Dan

Yeah. It also a very minor thing.

Really great work dan.



Post Edited ( 12-01-09 20:11 )



Offline gattico

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 337
  • Country: United States us
  • Karma: 15
Reply #59 - 01 December 2009, 14:48:39
I installed this on another PC and now it works great.  I see the base she is in and Ummu worked.  Also the scenario worked.
 I guess I need to install a fresh copy of orbiter.


Quote
gattico wrote:

UCGO BUG


Bug with:

(Ummu)


Short description:

(Which base is she in and Ummu movement)


Severity

(minor)


Complete description

(On the base construction scenario.  Which base is Ummu-Lola in?  but in the Ummu movement I use 1/3 keypad for
the rotation that works fine.  but if I use 8 forward and 2 reverse I get odd effects.  I pressed 8 for forward nothing
happened then it moved but backwards away from the objects.  Same for #2 but I move toward the object.  I also
started tilting, as seen in the image.)


Reproduce bug

(I started the base construct scenario.  Ummu movement was good at first in any direction.  I switch to Ummu-lola and
moved
her if seem ok.  Switched back to UMmu_Capt-Peter_John and then when I pressed 8 for forward he moved backward)


Miscallenous

(
)


Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #60 - 01 December 2009, 15:15:29
Quote
gattico a écrit:
I installed this on another PC and now it works great.  I see the base she is in and Ummu worked.  Also the scenario worked.
 I guess I need to install a fresh copy of orbiter.

Yes but your other install/PC may have revealed major bugs that would appear also on other installation. I need to know what
caused this and if UCGO really have nothing to do with the problem.
"Install on another PC or fresh orbiter" would not be an option.

So I need a maximum information about your other PC installation.

-What OS do you use ? (XP, vista other)
-In wich folder is Orbiter installed ? (complete path)
-Are you certain you use a normal version of Orbiter/060929/P1 (not a patched one ?)
-Any addon really special that you use ? Something special with this install ?
-Base not appearing is not normal at all, I saw a line in your config

Code: [Select]
VSOP87(B) Earth: Precision 1e-008, Terms 2564/2564
[glow=yellow,2,300]BaseObject: Parse error 1[/glow]
Module Moon.dll [API v.041022]

This is why base doesn't appear but I have no idea why it doesn't work on your PC.

-Did the UCGO install went fine ? no problem, error message ?
-

Much thanks

Dan

PS: I think the CTD came from the Shuttla because it was landed at "UMmu base" and this base wasn't declared, so all seem to relate to this base problem.



Message modifié ( 01-12-2009 15:21 )


Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #61 - 01 December 2009, 15:32:08
Quote
DanSteph a écrit:
Quote
gattico a écrit:
I installed this on another PC and now it works great.  I see the base she is in and Ummu worked.  Also the scenario worked.
 I guess I need to install a fresh copy of orbiter.


Can you please check that you have the file:

...\Meshes\UMmu\BaseEpsilon.msh

And that it does have a size of about 50kb

Check also if the following files exist:

...\Textures2\UMmu\BaseMoonExt.dds
...\Textures2\UMmu\BaseMoonRoof.dds
...\Textures2\UMmu\BaseMoonFloor.dds
...\Textures2\UMmu\BaseMoonSide.dds


And that they don't have a zero size.

Much thanks !

Dan



Message modifié ( 01-12-2009 16:15 )


Offline sunshine135

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 547
  • Country: United States us
  • Karma: 3
  • I fly by the seat of my pants!
Reply #62 - 01 December 2009, 15:33:30
Quote
DanSteph wrote:
-What OS do you use ? (XP, vista other)
-In wich folder is Orbiter installed ? (complete path)
-Are you certain you use a normal version of Orbiter/060929/P1 (not a patched one ?)
-Any addon really special that you use ? Something special with this install ?
-Base not appearing is not normal at all, I saw a line in your config

Code: [Select]
VSOP87(B) Earth: Precision 1e-008, Terms 2564/2564
[glow=yellow,2,300]BaseObject: Parse error 1[/glow]
Module Moon.dll [API v.041022]

This is why base doesn't appear but I have no idea why it doesn't work on your PC.

-Did the UCGO install went fine ? no problem, error message ?
-

Much thanks

Dan

PS: I think the CTD came from the Shuttla because it was landed at "UMmu base" and this base wasn't declared, so
all seem to relate to this base problem.


Especially modules....Modules screw everything up!!!


"Sun Dog"

Offline the.punk

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 80
  • Karma: 0
Reply #63 - 01 December 2009, 15:40:52
You could also install it again on your old installation. Deactivate all modules look if it works. And if it works you can
activate on module then another and then another...



Post Edited ( 12-01-09 20:11 )



Offline sunshine135

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 547
  • Country: United States us
  • Karma: 3
  • I fly by the seat of my pants!
Reply #64 - 01 December 2009, 15:46:32
Dan,

Quick question about the Azure rover in the Arrow's lift. This may be in the documentation later on. I tried the probe
scenario and auto-landed the Arrow. I lowered the lift from the outside and loaded 3 Ummus. I drove the rover around and back
onto the lift, and thought I would be cute- trying to store the rover with two of the three Ummus inside. The lift responded
by saying- closing, but it never closed. I tried closing it as an action area and from inside as well.

Now, instead of reporting it as a bug, is that a "fail-safe" to make sure you don't leave your Ummu accidentally? Also, I
find it unrealistic that you could not board or depart the Azure from inside the Arrow, but understand that you are also
having to come up with a balance between realism, programming, and poly-count. I just want to make sure this is operating as
you desire.

Thanks,


"Sun Dog"

Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #65 - 01 December 2009, 16:02:25
Quote
sunshine135 a écrit:
onto the lift, and thought I would be cute- trying to store the rover with two of the three Ummus inside. The lift responded
by saying- closing, but it never closed. I tried closing it as an action area and from inside as well.

You tried with action area right ?

Yes this is a safety measure because UMmu inside rover would be lost. There is no way for Arrow to know who's inside and
transfert them once stowed. But it's also realist, I don't think safety would allow stowing operation with someone inside the
cars.

Message inside Arrow tell that it can't operate with a full rovers.

There is a bug anyway, action area should not respond "stowing" but an error message. But I don't think I can change that
because when the check is done it's too late to change the action area. Well, I suppose we would have to live with this one ;)

Cheers

Dan


Offline the.punk

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 80
  • Karma: 0
Reply #66 - 01 December 2009, 16:32:46
Ok. I like the new system in scenario editor. It's more organized and should be easier to choose the cargo or car you
want to add. :top:



Post Edited ( 12-01-09 16:33 )



Offline picto

  • Legend
  • ******
  • Posts: 5014
  • Country: France fr
  • Karma: 24
  • Criiii Crii Crii
Reply #67 - 01 December 2009, 16:32:55
Arrow is full with holes... :trucdeouf:
Dan, you really made a great work, but, sometime, optimization is dangerous... ;)





Message modifié ( 01-12-2009 16:33 )

Pic

Offline the.punk

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 80
  • Karma: 0
Reply #68 - 01 December 2009, 16:42:08
As I started the scenario Enroute to Jupiter's Moons and I noticed that the ISS has big angular vel. I saw the ISS
rotating in 10x mode. When you go to scenario editor you will see that it has angular velocity. I didn't want to post
this as I bug since this is no real bug. Just abit too much angular vel for ISS.



Post Edited ( 12-01-09 20:12 )



Offline Shadow Addict

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
  • Karma: 0
Reply #69 - 01 December 2009, 16:42:23
The scenario editor system looks great, it'll be very helpful to have that organization.



Post Edited ( 12-01-09 17:10 )


Offline sunshine135

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 547
  • Country: United States us
  • Karma: 3
  • I fly by the seat of my pants!
Reply #70 - 01 December 2009, 16:53:13
Quote
DanSteph wrote:
Quote
sunshine135 a écrit:
onto the lift, and thought I would be cute- trying to store the rover with two of the three Ummus inside. The lift responded
by saying- closing, but it never closed. I tried closing it as an action area and from inside as well.

You tried with action area right ?

Yes this is a safety measure because UMmu inside rover would be lost. There is no way for Arrow to know who's inside and
transfert them once stowed. But it's also realist, I don't think safety would allow stowing operation with someone inside the
cars.

Message inside Arrow tell that it can't operate with a full rovers.

There is a bug anyway, action area should not respond "stowing" but an error message. But I don't think I can
change that
because when the check is done it's too late to change the action area. Well, I suppose we would have to live with this one ;)

Cheers

Dan


Yes, I tried the action area and from inside the Arrow. We can live with this by ensuring it is in the Operations Manual ;)

I'm also with Shadow- I like the organization!!!



Post Edited ( 12-01-09 17:13 )

"Sun Dog"

Offline the.punk

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 80
  • Karma: 0
Reply #71 - 01 December 2009, 17:49:52
Yeah. Nice file system.

EDIT: I just made a flight with Arrow to moon. Tested it with IMFD and it works. Also Autoburn funcion works well.



Post Edited ( 12-01-09 17:51 )



Offline Etudiant spatial

  • Legend
  • ******
  • Posts: 1204
  • Country: France fr
  • Karma: 0
Reply #72 - 01 December 2009, 18:22:19
_____________________________________________________________________________________________

UCGO BUG
_____________________________________________________________________________________________



Bug with:
Artificial gravity


Short Description:
The speed of the artificial gravity is low in 10x


Severity:
Moderate


Complete descripton:
If in the Arrow cargo, the artificial gravity is running, the mecanism turn at ~1tr/5s. But in 10x, the speed of the
artificial gravity is of 1tr/min.


Reproduce bug:
In the Arrow cargo, in 10x, running the aritificial gravity.


________________

In thrust, we trust.

Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #73 - 01 December 2009, 18:43:03
Quote
Etudiant spatial a écrit:
The speed of the artificial gravity is low in 10x

Can someone reproduce this ?

By design I force the rotation to be the same in every time acceleration. As Arrow is often used with it a wheel that would
turn like a mad would not look good.

Litle variation may be possible in rotation but not 1/5 difference.

Thanks

Dan


Offline Etudiant spatial

  • Legend
  • ******
  • Posts: 1204
  • Country: France fr
  • Karma: 0
Reply #74 - 01 December 2009, 18:49:06
From 10x to 100 000x, the speed of the artificial gravity is more low. :trucdeouf:


________________

In thrust, we trust.