See site in english Voir le site en francais
Website skin:
home  download  forum  link  contact

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: [closed] BETA 4 Of DeltaGliderIV (fourth beta release)  (Read 34380 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline FordPrefect

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
Reply #25 - 08 January 2007, 01:25:38
Hey Dan,

this is only a sidenote, maybe you can take a look at it. Would it be possible to make the mesh for the gold visor of the
uMMU helmet (the 'virtual cockpit's' view) less opaque and less shiny? If you have the sun behind yourself, the reflectance
of the material makes it almost impossible to look through the visor. Also, I think the opacity could be lowered as well (it
darkens the view drastically) and maybe altered to a more "brownish" than yellow colour --> that's only a guess though, I've
never looked through a gold-tinted visor in my life *sigh*:wonder: If I've seen correctly, the exterior uMMU models' helmet
is a different mesh than the virtual cockpit's helmet mesh, so the changes needed only to be done with the latter, the
exterior model looks just fine.

Thanks for listening, your work is outstanding!

:beer:



Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #26 - 08 January 2007, 01:26:37
Quote
Peskie a écrit:
Installer
- Text "(don't use registry at all)" should be "(doesn't use registry at all)"
- The folder input field can be highlighted and selected from but is not
  directly editable (for when you want to type or paste in a path instead of
  'browsing' for it).
- The "Install Complete" message box references the FAQ for the DGIII.
- In the above and on the main screen the "DGIV more download" text should
  be "DGIV more downloads"


Will correct the typo, howewer the dir box will remain like that, few people type the path
and it will save me some time to not do it.


Quote
Peskie a écrit:
CustomHud.exe
- The mode list box looses focus when the mouse wheel is used (unlike all
  the other list boxes in this dialog.
:

I may have a look... not sure it's very important.


Quote
Peskie a écrit:
Dg4config.exe
- All the list boxes loose focus when the mouse wheel is used.
....


Will correct typo and perhaps make some changes, howewer as the HUD config
this is not a prog that peoples will use everyday so I don't think I'll spend a lot
of time making it top user friendly... (also the code is an horror, this config is dated
3 or four years ago with an outdated MFC compiler... either I redo it completely
either I'll leave it like now appart typo)

Quote
Peskie a écrit:
There are some unexpected interactions with the airlock when docked to another
DGIV.


I can make a full secure undocking with locked button and keyboard unless the airlock
is in right configuration... howewer I'm balanced because of the nice surprise some
may have to explode the ship because he undocked with airlock full.... On the good side
howewer it's very difficult to have a correct configuration if I let this happen, there
is a lot of case to be taken in account with code , two doors, airlock,pressure, other ship,
a nightmare to code... (the code is already very long)

I Still balance on that...

Quote
Peskie a écrit:
 It will let me
transfer crew with just the outer doors open, it would be nice if it
required the inner doors to be open as well.


Was done on purpose to simplify the EVA, if you must empty/open/close two doors/fill
each crew, after 5 members you'll be :grrr: For those that love that, nothing prevent
them to make the whole manipulation.

Quote
Peskie a écrit:
After undocking, the craft with both airlock doors open was only able to
close the outer door; then the inner door was inop (the green light went
out) and although the chamber green light came on the switch was inop as
well.  And even though the pressure increased with appropriate sounds
the chamber pressure lights stayed off (the inner door still open).
...
Then, with all the doors open the read outs indicated that
the two ships still had different atmosphere conditions (pressure, CO2%,
temp, etc).  When they're connected the atmosphere should be mixed.  Or
prevent one of the doors from opening if the conditions are too
different (in particular pressure).


There will never be any concistency beetween docked ship for simples reason:
DGIV can be docked to a lot of various non DGIV ships, it's very difficult in Orbiter
to exchange information beetween ships. Also the number of cases that you must
handle is already great with one ship's airlock but with two ship it become a nightmare.
The code wasn't designed for such complexity at first so it become hard to modify it
and I'm not sure that the time spend on this is a time well spend. Howewer I'll have
a look about the worse case concerning the airlock *if possible* in a reasonnable time.


Quote
Peskie a écrit:
Also the crew hypoxia sound played (heavy breathing) even though they
all had their suits on.
The message about all crew dead (due to temp I think) also came up even
though they had their suits on and all survived.
Even with bad conditions taping the seatbelt sign off and back on reset
the O2 reserve to 600 minutes.  I'd hope that the crew would be smart
enough to NOT remove their suits if their ship was exposed to space.


That's bug, will have a look.


thanks for complete comments,
and a LOT of thanks for all scenarios typo corrected in the zip you send me...
as said it will save me a lot of time and it's a well done job ! :wor:

Best

Dan



Message modifié ( 08-01-2007 01:33 )


Offline DocHoliday

  • Legend
  • ******
  • Posts: 2475
  • Karma: 2
Reply #27 - 08 January 2007, 01:55:26
May have discovered a bug (sorry if it was mentioned earlier)

Problem:
- Cargo gets replaced with random passengers if you EVA the Captain.

Description:
- If you have cargo (and not passengers) option selected and you go on EVA with the pilot, the cargo is replaced by 5
astronauts (pilot and 4 pax) and you cannot get back inside the DG4 (since there are no free seats).

Reconstruction:
- Try AutoPilot docking (Tutorial scenarios) and exit the craft. In my case the pilot was replaced by Capt Rodrigues and 2
passengers with names as well as 2 passengers WITHOUT names (may indicated another bug).

Possible cause:
- I'm assuming the procedure that "promotes" a passenger to pilot status gets confused if there is cargo on board. So as
there are no pilots it just "creates" them.

Hope you can recreate it and sort it out.


~~~

"Mood is a matter of choice. I choose to have fun!" -Vidmarism No 15

Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #28 - 08 January 2007, 05:26:54
Ah thanks , I know what happen... Cargo is set if there is the number "5" as crew variable...
one eva=4 wich is full crew... damn... should have been a bug on the DGIII also.

Dan


Offline Cale

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: 0
Reply #29 - 08 January 2007, 06:28:20
Just tried AFCS 2P1 with Beta 4.  Had to set re-entry distance to 5.50 to survive, but noticed that I had a lot more
energy when I got to the Cape.  Still had to burn the main engines at about 50% for a bit to keep going as I got to
within 20 km of the HAC.  Also, the flight director didn't guide me properly to fly a Left-handed turn, but that isn't a big
deal.  I've got the ILS tuned on the HSI, plus GPCMFD, so I can do it alone from there.

Still, nice to know there's a program that you can use for a safe (well, relatively speaking.  The nose heated up and
hit the red numbers for about 10 sec at 60km alt) re-entry and gets you close to the landing site.

Great job Dan!  Will there be an update for the SkinSDK?

Cheers,

Cale


Offline Cairan

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 28
  • Karma: 0
Reply #30 - 08 January 2007, 09:31:32
Okay, it's not really a bug, maybe more of a feature, but one thing I find ... peculiar... is related to Mars...

If I put the Seat Belt sign on, then reduce pressure to near 0 in the DG with the Cabin settings, we can't open the airlock
doors even if the pressure is balanced...

There should be a "Equalize Pressure" switch somewhere in there...

Yet another request :P


Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #31 - 08 January 2007, 15:59:16
Quote
FordPrefect wrote:
this is only a sidenote, maybe you can take a look at it. Would it be possible to make the mesh for the gold visor of the
uMMU helmet (the 'virtual cockpit's' view) less opaque and less shiny? If you have the sun behind yourself, the

The gold visor is totally useless, it's only intended as a fun stuff... As it glow yet it give
really the impression of a "gold visor" but it can also lower dramatically your FsP I hesitate...
If I let it unusuable (as now) at least it will prevent people to use it more than few second
just for the fun.

Dan


Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #32 - 08 January 2007, 16:03:02
Quote
Cale wrote:
Great job Dan!  Will there be an update for the SkinSDK?


On the first post of this thread there is an advice ;)

Quote
DanSteph wrote:
ABOUT SKINS:
The new skins are definitively not compatible anymore with third party skin, I'll publish a new skin SDK
in the meaning time.


Publishing it yet would be useless as I may still change some things.

Dan



Message modifié ( 08-01-2007 16:03 )


Offline Mok

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 100
  • Karma: 0
Reply #33 - 08 January 2007, 17:55:34
Quote
Cairan a écrit:
Okay, it's not really a bug, maybe more of a feature, but one thing I find ... peculiar... is related to Mars...

If I put the Seat Belt sign on, then reduce pressure to near 0 in the DG with the Cabin settings, we can't open the airlock
doors even if the pressure is balanced...

There should be a "Equalize Pressure" switch somewhere in there...

Yet another request :P

Is not related only for Mars. In space too. If we reduce pressure to 0, we can't open all airlock doors.

And more disturbing, the cockpit explodes if we force him, while it should not. (why ? The two pressures are normally equal...)


Offline Spence

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Karma: 0
Reply #34 - 08 January 2007, 19:46:09
I love this addon of course. However, I have found two minor bugs that haven't been reported with the most recent
release.
The first, when I used the scenario editor to spawn a dg IV in the same location as another, then I did the pre take
off checks and started to taxi, and whilst the two were not docked, and were in earth's atmosphere, with neither
airlocks or nose cone open, my spawned dg was suddenly completely destroyed, and debris flew several metres in
the air, yet I was displayed the message 'BANG!!! You Undocked with the outer airlock open and airlock full...by
chance your inner airlock was closed, you sustained some damage but your safe'.
Secondly, the wheels when taxiing have a tendancy to madly turn in circles at 90 degrees to the proper place.
My only suggestion for possible future possible improvement would be a sensor MFD-esqe custom HUD or actual HUD.
Whilst I appreciate the same effect could be done with the old sensor MFD itself, I believe it might add to the
experience of the DVIV, mostly because a similar feature is apparently going to be on the Symphony Base, and it
might make the two craft fit in more if they had mild likenesses (in any planned joint scenarios)
Thanks


'To See A World In A Grain Of Sand'

Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #35 - 08 January 2007, 19:49:45
Quote
Spence a écrit:
the wheels when taxiing have a tendancy to madly turn in circles at 90 degrees to the proper place.

Never heard or had this one... inconsistency beetween installed files ?
Did you tried to install after a fresh boot, can you reproduce this bug
and tell me how to do ?

Dan


Offline david23

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
Reply #36 - 08 January 2007, 20:02:06
Quote

Quote
I am experiencing problems in the scenario "The tranworld express company" (note the typo . If I launch one
of the gliders and set it to ascent autopilot shortly after takeoff, then do the same thing with the next glider and then
switch back to the first one, the animation of the (retracted) wheels seems to be messed up (they stick out of the top
of the mesh).


My best bet is that gear speed limit was outpassed and the gear broke... can you check please, go to cockpit and see
if there is a warning.

Thanks all for testing !

Dan


Nope, no warning in cockpit. Also, the status of the gear seems fine, i can still extend/retract it and even did a successful
reentry, only the graphics seem to be messed up. During the extend/retract animation the gears are spinning around through
the ship like crazy.



My guess is that there is something wrong with the new "rotating wheel" feature.



Post Edited ( 01-08-07 20:02 )


Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #37 - 08 January 2007, 20:52:45
[EDIT: bug solved see next post]

Ok seem then related to two vessels in scenario having mixed value somewhere...
Maybe same problem that experienced Spencer ?

Can you reproduce this bug each time so I can have it myself ?

Dan


Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #38 - 09 January 2007, 02:00:52
Okay Bug cleared, please try this DLL and see if it's gone for you also:
http://www.dansteph.com/publie/DeltaGliderIVGear.zip

How to reproduce it:
-Take the "transworld company" scenario.
-Hover pilot PRO200SPEC7 take off with first DGIV, raise Gear.
-Roll with the 2nd DGIV
-BUG

Thanks for finding & reporting this bug (to both of you)

Dan



Message modifié ( 09-01-2007 02:05 )


Offline n122vu

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 150
  • Karma: 1
Reply #39 - 09 January 2007, 05:44:11
Dan,

I found 2 bugs, both related to MFD function on the DGIV.

1.  If launching 2 DGIV (likely true with more than 2, but I only used 2), MFDs do not function independently in the
vessels.  Example: Setting left MFD to Orbit for GL-01 does the same in GL-02.  Also, when using an MFD that requires
target input, such as Align Planes or Orbit Sync, each time you switch ships you must re-enter target info.  Not sure if
this is a bug with Orbiter itself and the way it handles MFDs or with the DGIV.

2.  When switching to other vessel or external view, when returning to cockpit panel view, the Right MFD button
labels all default to the Surface MFD labels, but retain correct functionality for the MFD mode being displayed.


FYI - I just fired up my Orbiter installation that still has the DGIII.  Both of these bugs occurred in that instance as well.

Regards,
n122vu



Offline Jimmy the Llama

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
Reply #40 - 09 January 2007, 08:20:48
Hello all,
The DGIV is really neat with all the new functions.
However, I have encountered an issue with crashing (not the game, the spacecraft)
When the glider crashes and breaks into little bits, the game crashes. I'm not sure if there's a file missing or some
other issue.
Please help, and thanks in advance


Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #41 - 09 January 2007, 11:16:49
Quote
Jimmy the Llama a écrit:
However, I have encountered an issue with crashing (not the game, the spacecraft)
When the glider crashes and breaks into little bits, the game crashes. I'm not sure if there's a file missing or some
other issue.


Please try to disable all other modules in launch pad and see if the problem still appear.

If yes: can you reproduce it and give me how ?
If not: can you track the module that cause the problem ? (allow them one by one until you have the problem)

Also do you use the latest DGIV beta and do you use Orbiter with patch P1 ?

Thanks & best regards

Dan



Message modifié ( 09-01-2007 11:26 )


Offline Jimmy the Llama

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
Reply #42 - 09 January 2007, 14:29:38
Dansteph, I found it :)
It has something to do with the fuel MFD.
I suppose it has something to do with the wreck's fuel, and fuel MFD can't work or something like that.
Is there a possible work around with the DGIV, the MFD itself, or will I not be able to run the MFD at all?


Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #43 - 09 January 2007, 15:00:39
For MFD perhaps I have a solution but I need precise informations:
How can this reproduce this bug 100% of the time ?

Do you use the MFD in another ship than the one that crash or only
in the one that crash ? In this case I may disable the MFD just before
deleting the DGIV.

This still have to do with other module or MFD having object handle
of one DGIV, as DGIV is deleted the handle is not valid anymore
and you have a CTD when the module/mfd try to access a ship that
doesn't exist anymore. (handle point to invalid memory location)

Bad programming practice, MFD or module should keep the NAME of
an object and get it's handle from name every frame, this ensure
that the handle is always valid. Orbiter deletion of Object is
a perfectly valid procedure. Bug can occure also with third party module/mfd
and MMu or turbopack as those object are deleted also.

Appart those third party module/mfd problem it seem now DGIV is
CTD proof (unless someone find a new DGIV bug)

Dan



Message modifié ( 09-01-2007 15:14 )


Offline AndyMan

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 38
  • Karma: 0
Reply #44 - 09 January 2007, 18:58:14
Dan, I think I have a bug, but I can't really report it at all. Intermittently, Orbiter will freeze with the DGIV in LEO. It
seems to be always during coasting, IE: No special actions being performed. It doesn't happen at a specific time
consistantly, and it doesn't seem to matter what modules are on or off. I am unable to reproduce it, or tell you what
causes it, but I have only experienced it with the DG-IV. Not much help, I know, but just to let you know.


Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #45 - 09 January 2007, 20:09:25
Maybe system spec ? DGIV is more demanding than DGIII, graphic card, mem ?

Did you tried on a fresh Orbiter 2006+P1 install ?

Dan


Offline sunshine135

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 547
  • Country: United States us
  • Karma: 3
  • I fly by the seat of my pants!
Reply #46 - 09 January 2007, 21:14:33
I have noticed the same thing with the DGIV at 100X in LEO. I am running an AMD 1.4Ghz 224MB memory and only a 32MB graphics
card. My assessment has been that it is my low specs that are causing this problem, and I barely meet minimums to run orbiter
anymore. In external view, my MP3s are even choppy, but that has been ever since Orbiter 2006 was released last May.

Only solution for me- hardware upgrade.

AndyMan- What are your system specs?


"Sun Dog"

Offline AndyMan

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 38
  • Karma: 0
Reply #47 - 09 January 2007, 22:19:22
I am running an AMD 2.2 Ghz with 1 gig of memory, plus a Radeon X700 Graphics card. I am able to run Flight Sim X
with most of the bells and whistles, so it makes me doubtful that it is computer specs being the cause here. In
addtion Dan, I tried it with a clean unzip of orbiter, then adding in orbiter sound, and had the crash with both. It
seems to happen more often with time acceleration, especially 100 or over, but it happens even without time
acceleration. I really don't know.


Offline pile0nades

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: 0
Reply #48 - 10 January 2007, 01:34:41
I can't seem to select the Default skin in DGIV config. When I open Orbiter, it switches to the Medical skin. Selecting any
other skin works.


Offline KellyW

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
Reply #49 - 10 January 2007, 01:40:47
First, just let me say DG IV is the best. Huge thanks to Dan. I have been an Orbiter user since the flying brick days.

I think I have found a small bug. If I unload the crew (boarded the mothership) they still die from high Gs.
DGIV is the best lander ever, and I llike to use it w/o cheat mode, but I also like to zip around in a mothership at light
speed. We might also want an unmaned high G flight profile that would end with docking with another ship or station.

thanks again for the DG IV,...can't wait for the SymphonyIV base