See site in english Voir le site en francais
Website skin:
home  download  forum  link  contact

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: DGIII alpha release available part 4 (CLOSED)  (Read 20741 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline reekchaa

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 649
  • Country: United States us
  • Karma: 2
Reply #25 - 31 January 2004, 04:50:07
Beauty Inner Door Details, opening up into the gear closet.  Now just needs a thru passage to the
passengers, and then highly detailed animations of each getting suited up, and transitioning thru
each door and popping out for an EVA.  :)
Thanks for the Quick Rev2, the Mars startup had me bequazzled.


~ the Reekchaa

Offline MattNW

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 333
  • Karma: 0
Reply #26 - 31 January 2004, 05:16:33
Minor bug here: If you save a scenario while docked with both airlock doors open, when you start
up again from "Current State" the airlock is unpressurized even though the doors are open to the
station.

Start the scenario at ISS and open both doors. Close Orbiter and restart with "Current State". The
doors will still be open but the airlock will read unpressurized.


Offline Spacingbluefrog

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 96
  • Karma: 0
Reply #27 - 31 January 2004, 11:34:39
Hi Dan,

DGII was my favorite of all time, but this one is in my heart forever! :)
Not a lot of time to test, I just take "landed at KSC" scenario and engage autopilot ascent.
Perfect orbit insertion!

Now....the complain : system message display says "air intake auto closing", but on the lower panel, air
intake button was still active, and I have to put it  off manually. As you can see, nothing dramatical!

I hope I will have more time to play with this wonder, and shake her a little bit harder...

See you on ISS soon...

________________________________________________________________________________
In space, nobody can ear you scream...

In space, nobody can hear you scream...

Offline Krytom

  • Legend
  • ******
  • Posts: 1058
  • Karma: 0
Reply #28 - 31 January 2004, 11:53:40
Hi Dan
Would i be possible to add a MMU like on the Atlantis add-on? If so would it be possible to have
the pilot or passengers leaving the spacecraft then once they dock back again they enter the
spacecraft.

Also it would be cool to have the inner airlock door move, so that you can see it as well as hear it.

Just ideas.

Krytom


Offline Krytom

  • Legend
  • ******
  • Posts: 1058
  • Karma: 0
Reply #29 - 31 January 2004, 11:54:20
Sorry missed the 't' on it.


Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #30 - 31 January 2004, 14:02:21
Just made some test to eject the canopy, it work.
Unfortunately I can't add this because it will cause problem
with skin (the canopy will not be textured the same)

Anyway this  code will help me for additionnal part
such as mmu, tank etc etc (no promise just idea)

krytom: the inner door move already in the 040130_rev2 available.


Salut bluefrog,
Bon, je continue en anglais ;)

The button allow the automatic open/close of the air intake.
So the air intake will open himself when the airflow is sufficient on earth
and close also when the airflow will goes down.

if the button is off the air intake is forced to closed in any case.

Dan


Christopher Tarana

  • Guest
Reply #31 - 31 January 2004, 14:26:51

 Dan, lots of aircraft have canopies that are different colors than the aircraft itself.  Most common
is a flat, matte black used to reduce glare.  During combat you might see a canopy from one
aircraft being used to replace a battle damaged one (cannibalizing).  Don't let that little issue
hold you up.  Interesting effect that would be (canopy jettison).

 Now, under the topic of fantasy wishes for DG III Mk. IV  since we have all these failures that
can go wrong, I was wondering if you could give us a way to fix things...

  http://www.dansteph.com/publie/forum/news/exhaust.jpg

  Notice the door(s) on the side of the DGIII hull at the rear.  The long narrow ones with the
notched top.  If we could animate those so they open from top down, include some engine
graphics on the hull, and add some foot clamp graphics on the inside of the door, we'd have
another reason for EVA's.  Different images on either side of the hull could represent different
systems.

  Okay, that's my fantasy wishlist - back to alpha testing.  No problems reported!  :applause:

       Thanks, Dan!
 
                    Christopher



Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #32 - 31 January 2004, 16:58:34
The idea is good, I'll keep it handy...
The litle problem while making complex things like that
is I don't think that many user would use it.

---BRAKING NEWS: ISS BADLY NEED REPLACEMENT HARDWARE---
---YOUR MISSION IF YOU ACCEPT IT WILL BE TO BRING 3.5 TON---
---OF VARIOUS MATERIAL TO IT..... end of transmission---

Now you can set a crew with the DG3Config OR a payload
that weight about 3.5 Ton. You will have a lot of different
package displayed in the cabin instead of passengers.

I'll see if I can add two or three things more and release
a new version with this feature.

Dan


Christopher Tarana

  • Guest
Reply #33 - 31 January 2004, 18:23:16
DanSteph wrote:

> The idea is good, I'll keep it handy...
> The litle problem while making complex things like that
> is I don't think that many user would use it.
   That's why I put it under DGIII Mk IV, I figured it needed to mature! :)  

>
> ---BRAKING NEWS: ISS BADLY NEED REPLACEMENT HARDWARE---
> ---YOUR MISSION IF YOU ACCEPT IT WILL BE TO BRING 3.5 TON---
> ---OF VARIOUS MATERIAL TO IT..... end of transmission---
>
> Now you can set a crew with the DG3Config OR a payload
> that weight about 3.5 Ton. You will have a lot of different
> package displayed in the cabin instead of passengers.
   Have you ever played "Streets of Sim City?"   :applause:


> I'll see if I can add two or three things more and release
> a new version with this feature.
>
> Dan
        Cool!  :)

          Thanks, Dan!

                  Christopher


FetDaniel

  • Guest
Reply #34 - 31 January 2004, 21:41:23
Bug:
It's still possible to use the airbrake when dead.



EndeavourCmdr

  • Guest
Reply #35 - 31 January 2004, 22:34:15

>Author: Christopher Tarana
>Date:   01-31-04 14:26

>Notice the door(s) on the side of the DGIII hull at the rear. The long narrow ones with the
>notched top. If we could animate those so they open from top down, include some engine
>graphics on the hull, and add some foot clamp graphics on the inside of the door, we'd have
>another reason for EVA's. Different images on either side of the hull could represent different
>systems.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

>Author: DanSteph
>Date:   01-31-04 16:58

>The idea is good, I'll keep it handy...
>The litle problem while making complex things like that
>is I don't think that many user would use it.


----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Dan, Actually I think many users would use it. I for one know I would, especially if random failures
were implemented.  Now what would be really interesting is if the EVA to repair the system,
actually fixed that system. Im not exactly sure how something like that could be implemented, I
imagine the coding on that would be complicated. But it WOULD indeed be a very cool feature, and
if a random failure did occur, and an EVA was the only way to repair certain problems, then it
would be a very used feature =)
Maybe it could be implemented by putting an invisible docking port on the outside of the hull ,
about a foot away from the hull engine door. The pilot would leave his seat (simulated by
removing the mesh for the pilot, and adding a mesh and vessel for the MMU, inside the airlock. The
pilot would maneuver to the door, and "dock" with it, simulating himself locking the MMU into place
for the repairs. Once docked, the engine door could be opened, and a hidden "elapsed time"
counter could run, and matched against a ranomly generated "repair time" for that system. After
being "docked" (doing the eva to repair that system) to the door for that random time, a bell
would go off, letting you know the system was now repaired.
Then you could close the access door, and "undock", simulating unattaching yourself from the hull,
and then you could use the MMU to get back into the ship. The main problem would be disabling
the front docking port so that the MMU could pass through it both out and in, to get into the
airlock. Once in the airlock, and the doors closed, the mesh and vessel for the MMU would be
destroyed, the pilot mesh would be restored in its proper position in the cockpit, and the front
docking port would once again become active.
Just a few ideas, but I think IF it could be done, it would add QUITE a bit of fun, fear, and realism.
I for one, would LOVE this feature.

But its just an idea. Like many others here.


Spets

  • Guest
Reply #36 - 31 January 2004, 23:38:23
an idea for the life support system:

have a yellow line indicate the atmospheric pressure and oxygen content of whatever
planet/station you are landing on. the ISS would not have the same pressure as Mars, nor as
Earth. when you land or dock, you need to equalize the pressure between the external source
(station or earth) and the internal atmosphere, otherwise you would die due to explosive
decompresion or compression. that way I can take off with the pressure set to earth, but i'll need
to change it to the pressure onboard the ISS when I dock there, or I could die.


Offline canadave

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 531
  • Country: Canada ca
  • Karma: 0
Reply #37 - 31 January 2004, 23:42:21
I think this discussion raises an interesting point for me.  The larger question that it raised for me
is: How complex does Dan want the DG3 to get?

Theoretically, it seems to me that there are an almost limitless number of suggestions like this (an
interesting idea, by the way).  But I think although it would probably be a cool feature to have, the
thing is, there are many "cool things" that would be nice to have, and that many people would
probably use; but if Dan tried to implement all of them, he'd probably wind up going crazy.  At
some point, he's probably going to want to draw the line and say, "OK, this is it for now."

Cheers,
Dave


Christopher Tarana

  • Guest
Reply #38 - 31 January 2004, 23:59:22
canadave wrote:

> I think this discussion raises an interesting point for me.
> The larger question that it raised for me
> is: How complex does Dan want the DG3 to get?
>
> At  some point, he's probably going to want to draw the line and
> say, "OK, this is it for now."
>
> Cheers,
> Dave

  That's why I suggested it for the DG3 mk IV, it's nothing that has to be done, but I know that EVA
was mentioned in passing and that would be the next logical step.  Actually EndeavourCmdr
already found a partial flaw in my idea.  I had only considered the MMU as a EVA tool, not as a ship
within a ship.  :)

     Christopher


Offline C3PO

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 159
  • Karma: 0
Reply #39 - 01 February 2004, 00:34:34
First of all, excelent work!!!!:top: as always.:applause:

The EVA idea is good, but  maybe too complex. The problem with the docking port can be solved by
having NO docking port on the EVA. Just use attachment points instead.

My suggestion is a revised accent autopilot. In the new Orbiter you can get to orbit with more fuel
if you FLY the glider to 20km altitude before going ballistic. :)
This can probably be done by editing the PRO903SPEC.txt. I'll look into that later.

I've got a small request for the PRO200SPEC7 auto hover. Would it be possible to make it work
without auto level? It would be great for flying like a helicopter using pitch and bank to control the
Hspeed. Then you could just engage the auto level for the final landing. Or at least keep the
function working at greater angles then 30 degrees. The exact Vspeed isn't so important when
you are higher then 3-4km.

I've come across two minor bugs:

1: You can't destroy the wheel brakes no matter how much you try. Even when the gear has
collapsed, they still work. 8o

2: If you are sitting on a pad, and open the Fuel hatch, leave the input valve shut, and select Main
tanks, dump some fuel, and close the dump valve again, then the main tank is magicaly filled
instantly.

This baby is going to be great when it's finished.

Cheers :beer:

C3PO

PS. You haven't forgotten about the next Orbitersound version? The silence of empty space ;)


Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #40 - 01 February 2004, 00:52:18
Dave Wrote:
>he's probably going to want to draw the line and say, "OK, this is it for now."


this raise one important question that will also give the answer
to where is going the DGIII:

Why do I all this ?  hundreds hours of work absolutely for free ?
The answer is : for the fun and the challenge.

So If I have fun and find something interesting to do, I'll do it. If not I will not.
As simple as that ;)

Anyway when your 4 old son tell you "I never see you those day dad" there is perhaps
time to think about an end ?

But the end isn't for today I have a fun and challenging stuff to do :)

Cheers,

Dan


Offline reekchaa

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 649
  • Country: United States us
  • Karma: 2
Reply #41 - 01 February 2004, 01:30:14
>Anyway when your 4 old son tell you "I never see you those day dad" there is perhaps
time to think about an end ?

AHHHH! :(  
The Request lines are Closed!  It's perfect!  Please don't make your son have to say those words!  
I'm sorry I ever teased everyone with the EVA idea...  If your babies need some daddy time...
PLEASE feel free to tell us all to go to... you know where.

You're living in Paradise with a wonderful family... No use stressing over the increasing demands of
a buncha space-geek wannabees  :)


~ the Reekchaa

Offline Krytom

  • Legend
  • ******
  • Posts: 1058
  • Karma: 0
Reply #42 - 01 February 2004, 01:32:56
I believe i have the same problem with the passenger names as "zgrillo2004". For example i write
the name 'Steve' and I quit come back into the config exe and it is now 'Steveer' or somthing like
that. This name will be used while flying as well. I have XP, not sure if that has anything to do with
it.

This may sound like i'm complaining but i'm not, the DG3 is the BEST add-on for orbiter ever. I am
just pointing out a bug.

Just wondering if it can be fixed?

Krytom


Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #43 - 01 February 2004, 01:40:00
C3PO:

Things goes often wrong too fast when "free" hovering
The pro200S7 without HLEVEL would not be able to
handle most "free flyer" style and maintain the vertical speed
so I can almost hear the complaint about it ;)

Anyway to make it fly like an helicopter as it is now you must
just insist a bit to counteract the Hlevel pilot. Then release the joy
when your done. (I use a mixed of pitch 30°, bank and thruster in LIN
to fly it in "heli" style)

Weel brake still work when collapsed ? I thought I resolved this bug
some version ago, wich one you do fly ?

About ascent AP it's as simple as adding some number in a txt file.

Just make some fly writting down your pitch every 2, 5, or 10'000 meter
(less when there is big change, more when there is about no change)

Than copy the PRO903SPEC.txt renaming it for example "PRO906SPEC.txt"
and write your altitude and pitch here.... take-off, fire the PRO906SPEC42 and
see magically you plane following your plan.
If you get a nice result I'll include it in the DGIII.


Here the 903, really simple isn't it ?  (bold are comment not to be added in file)


PROGNAME: Ascent prog       <--- whatewer your want but better with "Ascent" text
TYPE:     ASCENT                   <--- don't change this
ALT: 300    PITCH: 10            <--- edit those line as you want
ALT: 500    PITCH: 10
ALT: 1000   PITCH: 10
ALT: 1000   SNMSG: ENGAGE Turbo pump !  <--- you can send a message at a given altitude
ALT: 1200   PITCH: 10
ALT: 1500   PITCH: 65
ALT: 40000  PITCH: 65
ALT: 45000  PITCH: 52
ALT: 50000  PITCH: 45
ALT: 66000  PITCH: 40
ALT: 80000  PITCH: 40
ALT: 100000 PITCH: 40
ALT: 130000 PITCH: 35
ALT: 150000 PITCH: 30
ALT: 160000 PITCH: 25
ALT: 175000 PITCH: 20
ALT: 190000 PITCH: 15
ALT: 200000 PITCH: 12
ALT: 205000 PITCH: 10
ALT: 210000 PITCH: 08
ALT: 212000 PITCH: 03
ALT: 212500 PITCH: 01
ALT: 213000 PITCH: 0
ALT: 400000 PITCH: 0                <--- Last line very high to avoid problem
ENDPROG:



PS did you tried the 903 starting it at 20'000 meter ? I think it will still
work... so you'll just need to edit pitch for altitude less than 20'000 for
your 906 :)

PS2  I you do it, be sure to be at midle thrust setting to avoid trouble
with other settings


Cheers,

Dan


Offline Dave Grover

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 48
  • Karma: 0
Reply #44 - 01 February 2004, 02:20:08
Dan:

The latest version of the DGIII is wonderful  . . .  so far!

I just took off out of the Cape and flew to the ISS.  I am now in safe-mode docked there.

I love the new Configuration Check functions of the Flight Computer.  But I have a question.  I
ascended to orbit and ran the orbiting check.  It said to turn off the Gear Hydraulics, set the Life
Support to only A or B, and extend the Radiator.  I did these things (completely shutting down the
B system), and then ran it again.  It told me "O2 and N2 tanks not set to Auto"!  I was
going, "Huh?"  :wonder:  The O2 and N2 tanks for A were in Auto, B's were Off.  So, I turned B's
tanks to Auto and ran the check again.  Then it told me no errors.  Is this a bug or a feature?

Thanks.

Grover

P.S.  Now I get to go through reentry and land at the KSC.  Based upon the challenges other pilots have told us about in these threads  . . .  "Hold me!  I'm scared!"  8o



Post Edited (02-01-04 02:24)


Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #45 - 01 February 2004, 03:42:11
I saw lately that there might be a confusion beetween
A & B Life support button and O2 & N2 that are also labeled
"A & B"

Of course the O2 & N2 A & B must always be set to "auto" both
because when one is empty it switch automatically on the other.
(One sleep awaiting that the other who use pump is empty)

It's the Life support button (fan, heating etc etc) A or B that must be turned
off because in contrary of what happen with the tank when they are ON
they run both.  There is two system because of safety it would be bad
to have both goes out because they runned too long time.
At critical flight phase they must be both ON because those phase
doesn't last too long and it's a safety issue to have one system that
can take immediately the relay without any humain intervention.

Anyway I don't know how to label the sys-check reminder to be clear,
it should be a only one short line... any idea ? :wonder:

Dan


Offline MattNW

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 333
  • Karma: 0
Reply #46 - 01 February 2004, 03:53:50
DanSteph wrote:

> I saw lately that there might be a confusion beetween
> A & B Life support button and O2 & N2 that are also labeled
> "A & B"
>
> Of course the O2 & N2 A & B must always be set to "auto" both
> because when one is empty it switch automatically on the other.
> (One sleep awaiting that the other who use pump is empty)
>
> It's the Life support button (fan, heating etc etc) A or B that
> must be turned
> off because in contrary of what happen with the tank when they
> are ON
> they run both.  There is two system because of safety it would
> be bad
> to have both goes out because they runned too long time.
> At critical flight phase they must be both ON because those
> phase
> doesn't last too long and it's a safety issue to have one
> system that
> can take immediately the relay without any humain intervention.
>
> Anyway I don't know how to label the sys-check reminder to be
> clear,
> it should be a only one short line... any idea ? :wonder:
>
> Dan

Rename the "B" Air Recycling system to "Backup Air Recycling". That way you have them
labled "Main Air Recycling" and "Backup Air Recycling" and the N2/O2 systems "A" and "B".


AndrewG

  • Guest
Reply #47 - 01 February 2004, 05:09:14
Hey Dan
Great job for the DGIII - finally a chance to see all those features you've been telling us for
months :)
A little bug I've noticed is with the HUD...AOA, BaseDistance, and BaseHeading don't seem to come
up right (ie...put AOA on a hud and it looks like it's either sticking or only reporting between -1 and
1 degrees.
The base stuff I can't get figures on - I assumed it was picking off the base targeted in map mfd
but I could be wrong.


Spets

  • Guest
Reply #48 - 01 February 2004, 07:14:35
if canopy fails when it is being openned, it still moves to the open position completely before
stopping. it should probably stop right in it's tracks, or eject away from the vessel.


Offline canadave

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 531
  • Country: Canada ca
  • Karma: 0
Reply #49 - 01 February 2004, 07:32:43
> Anyway I don't know how to label the sys-check reminder to be
> clear,
> it should be a only one short line... any idea ?
>
> Dan

Can you clarify what you mean by "sys-check reminder", Dan?

Dave