See site in english Voir le site en francais
Website skin:
home  download  forum  link  contact

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: [closed] OrbiterSound 4.0 - version 31 oct 2012  (Read 9765 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
31 October 2012, 05:29:16
Welcome to OrbiterSound 4.0 beta test ver 20121031


Current version test special instructions

Please review the changelog here:
Changelog: http://www.dansteph.com/publie/ChangeLog_OrbiterSound.txt

Check that your bug are gone and report !


Bug reporting form

Please use the text form in the link below to report bugs: It's important !
http://www.dansteph.com/publie/beta_form_OrbiterSound.txt


Compatible Orbiter version

Orbiter 2010+P1
Orbiter 2010+P1+ DX9 or DX11 (Note: You don't need symlink anymore for DX9 or DX11)
Orbiter 2010+P2 Only version PREVIOUS TO the latest 22 Oct release which is an alpha with many problems as reported by martin.



Feedback

Feedback are importants, please be verbous, precise, don't hesitate to write what you think or post anything you want about beta.  Use the form above for bugs. Keep me informed of any status change if you can't test anymore for example.


Want to be a beta tester ?

Send me a PM, I'll register you on the list and you'll receive instruction and links by PM.


Much thanks for your help :beer:

Dan


Offline Scattykat

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: 0
Reply #1 - 31 October 2012, 11:01:57
This might be a really stupid question but where is the file to remove the box on the bottom left of screen which says:

?

I've noticed it is not there in every scenario eg in the shuttle fleet 4.8 launches but it is in the Antares 2.5 scenarios and in these cases, you can't see the countdown, heading & pitch data.

If one can't remove the box, may I report this as a bug?



Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #2 - 31 October 2012, 11:07:41
This is mandatory for the beta. First to ensure that test are made on the good version, second if the link become public it will ensure there is no version confusion: This is a beta not a final.

I don't want to have peoples using an outdated program and starting to report problems that where solved month ago.

Hope this explain ?

Dan


Offline Scattykat

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: 0
Reply #3 - 31 October 2012, 11:10:57
Hi Dan,

Yes, that explains it :)

:beer:


Offline cslevine

  • Legend
  • ******
  • Posts: 3621
  • Karma: 17
Reply #4 - 31 October 2012, 12:18:16
tested this morning :

All seems to be fine !   :top:



Just one little "documentation" thing :

i think it would be well to mention, in the
_ADD BASE SOUND DOCUMENTATION.txt
that the number of bases waves for a planet is limited to the 200 first in alphabetical order,
so that if someone makes a base sound for "Xichang" or "White Sands" will know exactly why his sound won't play, and that he only has to remove some hundreds of shuttle abort runways and run again  ;)



Offline sunshine135

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 547
  • Country: United States us
  • Karma: 3
  • I fly by the seat of my pants!
Reply #5 - 31 October 2012, 16:11:20
Dan-

The Sequential Editor is now correct with the proper version of Orbiter Sound listed.

Cheers,


"Sun Dog"

Offline MerciMartin

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 399
  • Karma: 4
Reply #6 - 31 October 2012, 17:17:33
hi Dan

When installing OS 4.0 over an existing version, the playlist file is overwritten and then only the new default (really good) mp3 stay.
Should be nice if you could made the new mp3 as the first file of the playlist or ask to remplace while install process.

Another remark : the music is playing above 80 km as i remember but while reentry and under 80 km the music play until the end of the file. In some case of long mp3, the music can play while ship may be landing whereas only in space external view is selected.

I continue to test this great addon.


Offline paddy2

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Country: United Kingdom gb
  • Karma: 0
Reply #7 - 31 October 2012, 19:40:10

ORBITERSOUND BUG


Short description:

Minor typo / grammar on configuration program test buttons


Severity

typo


Complete description

Wording on menu when more than one test sound available to play / test


Reproduce bug

2nd Test Line  (Attitude) and 14th Test Line (Cabin)
"Press test two time"  / "Press test 9 time"

to read

"Press test two times"
and
"Press test 9 times"


Miscallenous

very minor

ALSO
Opening welcome voice which plays when 1st loaded very much better indeed



Offline dgatsoulis

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 32
  • Karma: 15
Reply #8 - 31 October 2012, 21:59:57
I just tested "How to Change vessel sounds".

1.I downloaded a spacecraft3 ship (Millenniumf4), run the scenario, listened to the sounds and exited.

2.I opened the OrbiterSound_log.txt and found this line:
Quote
Info: no config file found for vessel class: MillenniumF4
(That was a relief, I thought that it was going to say "spacecraft3")

3. Copied/pasted and renamed Deltaglider.cfg to MillenniumF4.cfg in the $Orbiterroot\Sound\_CustomVesselsSounds\ directory.

4. I did the same for the Deltaglider directory in the same folder. Now I had a $Orbiterroot\Sound\_CustomVesselsSounds\MillenniumF4\ directory with the same wav files as the Deltaglider directory.

5. I run the "Current state" scenario, and listened to the sounds.

:top:  :top: :top: The sounds were different. (And there were more of them).


Now when I did EXACTLY the same thing for the XR2Ravenstar, the sounds did not change[/b].


ORBITERSOUND BUG

The XR2Ravenstar uses it's own sounds after creating a cfg file and a directory in the _vesselsounds for it

Severity
(Minor, The XR series already have great sounds which can be configured in their own cfg files).

It is just that the doc said
Quote
The cfg files have higher priority than Sound C++ SDK and user's configuration
(SoundConfig.exe). You can therefore overwrite the author's sound programming
and user's settings. Please don't abuse this function.
, so I was expecting to be able to change the XR sounds just by using the same method as for the SC3 vessel in the examle above.
Perhaps a section in the FAQ should be added about the XR vessels?

Is this how it is supposed to work, because the XR series uses it's own cfg files for the sounds as well?

Here is the soundlog when exited the scenario with the XR2Ravenstar.

Code: [Select]
********************************************************
OrbiterSound 4.0 (3D) Build Oct 31 2012 04:28:44
********************************************************

Orbiter version: 100830

Advanced OrbiterSound settings: (Edit: 'Sound/cfg/Editable_Advanced_Configuration.cfg')
-------------------------------
Primary buffer 22050hz 16bits  (default 22050/16)
DopplerFactor 1.00 (default 1.00)
VaccumAttenuationFactor 1.00 (default 1.00)
SoundDistanceFactor 1.00 (default 1.00)
MaxSoundProcessPerSecond 60 (default 60)
MaxAnimCheckPerFrame 10 (default 10)
PlayWhenOrbiterInBackground false (default false)
WriteInLogAllLoadedSound false (default false)
-------------------------------

Orbiter directory:  C:\Users\Δημήτρης\Desktop\OrbiterFresh\
Listing planets winds and bases sounds:
  6 planet wind sound found
  4 bases sound found
Passed initModule - Ok
Vessel XR2-01 requested an ID, returned= 0 OK
Attempting RenderViewport initialisation...
Attempting GetStartValue initialisation...
Passed GetStartValue - Ok
Initialising directsound...
   Sound hardware capabilities: Driver is not certified.
   Maximum hardware mixing buffers: 1.
   Maximum hardware 3D buffers: 0.
quadrophonic.
   Attempt to create Primary buffer: 22050hz 16bits 3d: yes
   3D primary buffer initialised OK
directsound initialised - OK
Passed RenderViewport - Ok
Attempting Mp3 initialisation...
M3U list found attempting loading it.
MP3 found in playlist =  1
MP3 attempting to shuffle playlist...
Only one Mp3 no need to shuffle playlist
Mp3 initialised - Ok
Focus changed attempting to load vessel wave
Info: Sound config found for class: XR2Ravenstar. 16 parameters set.
Focus changed load vessel wave - OK
MFD Requested an ID: LoadMFD-phoenix Assigned ID=0 OK
Attempting to close viewport...
Attempting to kill DirectSound...
-------------------------------
Wav files Statistics:
---------------------
Nbr of wav loaded during simulation: 83
Nbr of wav re-used from memory: 0 (not loaded from disk so not counted in wav loaded)
Max nbr of wav in memory in same time: 83
Nbr of wav failed to load: 0
Nbr of wav not unloaded at exit: 0
-------------------------------
DirectSound killed - OK
Passed CloseRenderViewport - Ok
Exited to Orbiter Launchpad - OK

Passed ExitModule - Ok


“The trouble with quotes on the internet is that it’s difficult to discern if they are genuine.”
-Winston Churchill

Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #9 - 01 November 2012, 07:29:51
Quote
dgatsoulis a écrit:
Now when I did EXACTLY the same thing for the XR2Ravenstar, the sounds did not change[/b].


ORBITERSOUND BUG

Ah well, that is a doc problem:

C++ SDK allow also to replace the 43 default sound, and here effectively the replace of the cfg have highest priority.
But the cfg can't do anything for "private" sound, that are loaded and played independently of the default sound.
For example the DGIV disable the main thrust and use two private sound to play the main thrust.
If you "force" enable the main thrust you'll have two main thrust playing: the default and the private.

That is a problem because I don't know how to explain that clearly and shortly in the doc. Author that use the SDK will understand the difference between default and private sound but I'm not sure this will be clear for others.

Excerpt from doc with proposal of correction:
Quote
Important to know: The configuration files (.cfg) have higher priority than Sound C++ SDK and user's configuration (SoundConfig.exe) concerning the replacement of the 43 default sound and the 20 sound option. This was done so a vessel's sound not be written in stone. You can therefore overwrite the author's replace default sound and user's settings, allowing you to make per-vessel options (you may like aircond or ATC in one and not in others).

Please note that the configuration can't do nothing for private sound that are loaded and played independently from the 43 default sound. An author for example can disable default main thrust and load & play it's own.

Anyway great testing job :beer:



Message modifié ( 01-11-2012 07:30 )


Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #10 - 01 November 2012, 15:10:05
Quote
MerciMartin a écrit:
Should be nice if you could made the new mp3 as the first file of the playlist or ask to remplace while install process..

Aaah, I was thinking about how to not delete the existing list and all my solution where complicated but reading again your post I see you had here a brilliant idea:

Read first the user's list, let the installer overwrite it with the default one, then merge back the old list with it and place/replace the new "calm-spaces.mp3" as first of the list.

Will do it.

Dan



Message modifié ( 01-11-2012 16:36 )


Offline sunshine135

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 547
  • Country: United States us
  • Karma: 3
  • I fly by the seat of my pants!
Reply #11 - 01 November 2012, 17:31:26
Dan,

You could more effectively say this regarding the vessel specific sounds:

If the author of a vessel created a custom, private sound file that disabled the normal sound configuration, then changing the sound configuration file will have no impact on the sounds for this vessel.


Cheers,


"Sun Dog"

Offline dgatsoulis

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 32
  • Karma: 15
Reply #12 - 02 November 2012, 20:39:00
I just finished a 3 hour Orbiter session, playing around with my "regular" addons. I have nothing new to report, everything seems to be working perfectly. Amazingly, I hadn't tested the DGIV or the UCGO, but I trust there won't be any problems there. :)


“The trouble with quotes on the internet is that it’s difficult to discern if they are genuine.”
-Winston Churchill

Offline Scattykat

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: 0
Reply #13 - 06 November 2012, 14:34:48
Just checking in to say that after flying in Orbiter for most of the weekend, I have nothing new to report.

Looking forward to the next beta :beer:


Offline SolarLiner

  • Global Moderator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 2769
  • Country: France fr
  • Karma: 55
  • a été remercié par Le Créateur
Reply #14 - 07 November 2012, 18:38:19
Nothing to report after a long Earth -> Venus -> Mercury fight ... I think there is nothing to change before the public release ...



Offline paddy2

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Country: United Kingdom gb
  • Karma: 0
Reply #15 - 07 November 2012, 19:08:09
Done about 8 hours on and off since the weekend and nothing but good things to report.



Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #16 - 07 November 2012, 19:17:23
Much thanks for reports :beer:

I'll finish with the server soon then resume the beta with the first release candidate.

Dan


Offline cipher169

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: 0
Reply #17 - 07 November 2012, 23:09:48
Everything looks good on my end.


Offline MerciMartin

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 399
  • Karma: 4
Reply #18 - 08 November 2012, 12:12:28
Same here.


Offline cslevine

  • Legend
  • ******
  • Posts: 3621
  • Karma: 17
Reply #19 - 08 November 2012, 13:11:35
( in the DG3, there is no sound animation for the airspeed brake ( CTRL-B  )   )



Offline Ripley

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 98
  • Country: Italy it
  • Karma: 12
    • My Orbiter section on www.tuttovola.org
Reply #20 - 08 November 2012, 17:39:10
Airbrakes should be triggered by "B", not "CTRL-B"...


Offline Proximus

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 0
Reply #21 - 09 November 2012, 11:58:02
Sounding good so far and I have managed not to break any more of my audio equipment!

Excellent work as always :top:


Offline Ripley

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 98
  • Country: Italy it
  • Karma: 12
    • My Orbiter section on www.tuttovola.org
Reply #22 - 09 November 2012, 17:16:44
Quote
cslevine wrote:
(in the DG3, there is no sound animation for the airspeed brake ( CTRL-B  )   )
Quote
Ripley wrote:
Airbrakes should be triggered by "B", not "CTRL-B"...
Can someone confirm this?
The pdf doc (which I translated) says CTRL-B, but I've tried again (on 2 pcs) and it definitely is only "B".


Offline SolarLiner

  • Global Moderator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 2769
  • Country: France fr
  • Karma: 55
  • a été remercié par Le Créateur
Reply #23 - 09 November 2012, 18:29:48
Just went to a (successful) reentry and landing with the DGIV and I used "B" too for speedbrake.



Offline cslevine

  • Legend
  • ******
  • Posts: 3621
  • Karma: 17
Reply #24 - 09 November 2012, 20:09:50
for me, and since the begining i hit CTRL-B...  and i tested only "B" ... and no, for me, that's CTRL-B, with the default Deltaglider DG-3, and with the default Atlantis shuttle.
and the key isn't in the keymap.cfg