See site in english Voir le site en francais
Website skin:
home  download  forum  link  contact

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: (closed) DGIV beta test 20120313  (Read 11099 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
13 March 2012, 17:13:38
Welcome to DGIV beta test ver 20120313 (DX9)


1-This thread is only for registered beta tester feedback, all other post will be deleted.
2-If you want to register for beta testing see below "Register for beta testing"


Current version test special instructions

Please review the changelog.txt, check "your" bug and what was changed
test and repost bugs or remark that where not taken in account.

Changelog:
http://www.dansteph.com/publie/ChangeLog.txt


Bug reporting form

Please use the text form in the link below to report bugs: It's important !
http://www.dansteph.com/publie/beta_form.txt

Please follow "your" bug and once cleared (probably with a new version) check and
confirm in beta test thread that the bug is gone. It may be a good idea to keep a
list of "your" bugs.



Feedback

Feedback are importants, please be verbous, precise, don't hesitate to write what you
think or post anything you want about beta. I'm working 12h/24h on code so sometime
I may forget the big picture. Use the form above for bugs. Keep me informed of any status
change if you can't test anymore for example.

Never forget that the final quality of addons depend enterely of YOUR TESTS.

Much thanks for your help :beer:


Registering for beta testing

Send me a pm.



Much thanks !

Dan



Post Edited ( 03-15-12 16:25 )


Offline luki1997a

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: 0
Reply #1 - 13 March 2012, 18:33:28

DGIV FPS report

My framerates scenario performance_test_best:
-Main pannel: 160-165 FPS
-Upper pannel: 158-162 FPS
-Bottom pannel: 125-130 FPS
-External view: about 300 FPS

My framerates with GDI compatibility:
-Main panel: about 140 FPS
-Upper pannel: 132 FPS
-Bottom pannel: 137-140 FPS(No FPS drop like w/ no GDI)

My hardware specs:
-Graphic card ZOTAC Nvidia with CUDA 9800GT 1GB(simply Nvidia GeForce 9800GT with 1GB VRam)
-CPU Intel Core 2 Quad; 4 Cores for 2,5 GHz
-4 GB RAM DDR3
-Windows 8 Consumer Preview 32 Bit

Miscallenous
Check scrolling of bottom and upper pannel. There are black lines on both sides.

I've a small question: did you use speech synthesis to make voice in DGIV(for example "gear up" info, or cool "atmospheric autopilot engaged")?

Regards, Łukasz



Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #2 - 13 March 2012, 18:45:50
Great report, thanks.

About speech I used a site that translate text in voice but I don't remember the adress.

Quote
luki1997a a écrit:
Miscallenous
Check scrolling of bottom and upper pannel. There are black lines on both sides.

You mean on the side or top bottom ? What screen width do you have ?

Dan


Offline luki1997a

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: 0
Reply #3 - 13 March 2012, 19:01:39
I've 1280x1024. Here are screenshots:



about speech, was it AT&T engine? Have you edited the voice? How? Sorry for these questions, I can't stop myself:)

Regards, Łukasz



Offline Cras

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 101
  • Country: United States us
  • Karma: 3
Reply #4 - 13 March 2012, 20:22:15
Just installed it.

Running with D3D9 client RC44 on Orbiter 2010p1
Windows Xp Professional SP2 x64
GTX580, i7 @4GHz, 12 GB RAM
1920x1200x32 resolution

With GDI on load up the default KSC to ISS scenario that comes with the DGIV pack:
Frame rate
external: 264
Main panel: 223
Upper pannel: 325
Lower panel: 277


Orbiter | SSMS2007 | FSX

Offline Ripley

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 98
  • Country: Italy it
  • Karma: 12
    • My Orbiter section on www.tuttovola.org
Reply #5 - 13 March 2012, 23:55:06
Standard Scenario "Earth Scenery"->"Landed KSC departure to ISS"
Full Screen @ 1680x1050x32 60Hz

--------------------------------------

Disable Vsync = off
GDI off

overhead panel 60fps
middle panel 60fps
bottom panel 60fps

temporary (1-2 secs) fps hit when switching from:
overhead to middle: 50%
middle to overhead: 25%
middle to bottom: 15%
bottom to middle: 55%

--------------------------------------

Disable Vsync = on
GDI off

overhead panel 208fps
middle panel 176fps
bottom panel 150fps

temporary (1-2 secs) fps hit when switching from:
overhead to middle: 45%
middle to overhead: 10%
middle to bottom: 20%
bottom to middle: 50%

--------------------------------------

Disable Vsync = off
GDI on

overhead panel 213fps
middle panel 185fps
bottom panel 155fps

temporary (1-2 secs) fps hit when switching from:
overhead to middle: 50%
middle to overhead: 10%
middle to bottom: 15%
bottom to middle: 50%

--------------------------------------

Disable Vsync = on
GDI on

overhead panel 208fps
middle panel 145fps
bottom panel 150fps

temporary (1-2 secs) fps hit when switching from:
overhead to middle: 45%
middle to overhead: 10%
middle to bottom: 20%
bottom to middle: 50%

--------------------------------------

PANEL GLITCHES

- black vertical line on left side of overhead panel when scrolling it horizontally to the right
- one-pixel wide blank vertical line to the right of middle panel when scrolling it horizontally to the left (can see the background behind it)
- two black vertical lines to each side of the bottom panel when scrolling it horizontally.

--------------------------------------

My setup:
MoBo Asus P5BF
XP Home SP3
CPU Intel Core2Duo E6600
RAM Kingston HyperX 4Gb
Video ATI Radeon 4890 VaporX 1Gb
DirectX 9.0C


Offline Astronut25

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: 0
Reply #6 - 14 March 2012, 00:32:56
Fullscreen window
"Performance_test_worse" Scenario
GDI only
initial camera position: 78
interior main panel: 72
lower panel: 53
upper panel: 59

GDI/DirectX
initial camera position: 78
interior main panel: 68
lower panel: 50
upper panel: 56


True Fullscreen
GDI only
initial camera position: 182
interior main panel: 130
lower panel: 80
upper panel: 90

GDI/DirectX
initial camera position: 220s
interior main panel: 130s
lower panel: 80s
upper panel: 100s


Computer Specs
Intel Core 2 6700 @ 2.875 GHz
NVidia GeForce GTS 250 1GB
4GB DDR2 RAM
Vista 64-bit

3DMark06 Benchmarks
3DMark      11117.14286
  SM2.0      5207.571429
  HDR/SM3.0   5655.428571
  CPU      2195



Post Edited ( 03-14-12 01:01 )

"Earth is the cradle of humanity, but one cannot Eternally live in the cradle." - Konstantin Tsiolkovsky

Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #7 - 14 March 2012, 11:25:19
Thanks for your tests,

It seem the worst framerate is logically on vista.



Quote
Ripley a écrit:
PANEL GLITCHES

- black vertical line on left side of overhead panel when scrolling it horizontally to the right
- one-pixel wide blank vertical line to the right of middle panel when scrolling it horizontally to the left (can see the background behind it)
- two black vertical lines to each side of the bottom panel when scrolling it horizontally.

overhead and bottom black line might be bad design yet (I wanted to simulate panel's part but it's badly done I'll rework that)
Middle panel transparent  vertical line might be a bug, do you have a screenshot ?

EDIT: I have seen a white line (transparent) on the right of the middle panel, I think it's your bug, I mark it solved, you'll have to check if it's gone in the next beta.


Incoming in next version: with a res of at least 1920 4 MFD on middle panel:




Dan



Post Edited ( 03-14-12 12:05 )


Offline Ripley

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 98
  • Country: Italy it
  • Karma: 12
    • My Orbiter section on www.tuttovola.org
Reply #8 - 14 March 2012, 12:08:14
Hi Dan.
Sorry, no screenshot at this time (I'm at work).

...But this is my "artistic" representation of the cockpit view.
Sky is blue, grass is...well...green, and the black box is the panel: what I mean is that you can see the grass at the right of panel, just one pixel wide.



Never mind. I've read your EDIT above.



Post Edited ( 03-14-12 12:09 )


Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #9 - 14 March 2012, 12:13:23
Quote
Ripley wrote:
...But this is my "artistic" representation of the cockpit view.
.

Nice design :badsmile:

Quote
Ripley wrote:
Never mind. I've read your EDIT above.

Yep, seem it was the problem, thanks for report.

Dan


Offline Ripley

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 98
  • Country: Italy it
  • Karma: 12
    • My Orbiter section on www.tuttovola.org
Reply #10 - 14 March 2012, 14:33:12
Post deleted
Sent by PM.



Post Edited ( 03-14-12 14:43 )


Offline Cras

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 101
  • Country: United States us
  • Karma: 3
Reply #11 - 14 March 2012, 21:28:15
I know the goal for this is D3D9 client compatibility, but should I also run this in D3D11 and report the results?


Orbiter | SSMS2007 | FSX

Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #12 - 15 March 2012, 01:54:58
Quote
Cras wrote:
I know the goal for this is D3D9 client compatibility, but should I also run this in D3D11 and report the results?

Yes please.

Dan


Offline jarmonik

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 35
  • Karma: 1
Reply #13 - 15 March 2012, 13:56:38
Core 2 Duo 2.8GHz, 4GB
nVIDIA GTX 460, 1GB
Windows 7

Fullscreen Window, "Performance_test_worse" scenario.

External: 350
Glass Cockpit: 400
Main Panel: 285
Upper Panel: 275
Lower Panel: 250 - 180

-------------------------------------

There is so called "Render Target GDI" conflict in the right most display in a lower panel, when the heart rate dispaly is shown. This will reduce the frame rate about 30%. It might be possible to solve the situation by targeting the colorkeyed blitting commands directly into the panel background surface instead of display's sub-surface. (Note: to restore the framerate back to a higher level, must switch to a main panel and return)

There's an other similar conflict in the artificial horizon display but I am unable to detect any significant framerate drom from it. Probably (2-5%). SketchPad might be an option but it's probably not worth of the efforts to change it.

There is a minor error reported by the client. I suppose the client could ignore errors like this but I have decided to keep the reporting tolerance pretty high because it will help to debug the client.

Code: [Select]
(557: 29.58s 1650us)(0xFA4)[ERROR] D3D9ClientSurface::CopyRect() Failed
(558: 29.58s 2872us)(0xFA4)Source Rect (168,0,200,-1) (w=32,h=1) HANDLE=0x162A9200 (???)
(559: 29.59s 2894us)(0xFA4)Target Rect (0,0,32,-1) (w=32,h=1) HANDLE=0x162A7998 (???)
(560: 29.59s 2912us)(0xFA4)Target name is ??? Handle=0x162A7998 size (32,40)
(566: 29.59s 3007us)(0xFA4)Source name is ??? Handle=0x162A9200 size (200,200)

It's caused by source and target rectangles being outside the surface. (negative value). Can't produce with every scenario but it will occur in "Docked to ISS" when switching between panels.

« Last Edit: 15 March 2012, 14:33:20 by jarmonik »

Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #14 - 15 March 2012, 14:33:20
Quote
jarmonik a écrit:
There is a minor error reported by the client. I suppose the client could ignore errors like this but I have decided to keep the reporting tolerance pretty high because it will help to debug the client.

Great , that will be helpfull, I'm also for low error tolerance.
I'll have a look at this.

Dan


Test finished for this version, thread closed see next beta release here:
http://orbiter.dansteph.com/forum/read.php?f=2&i=15109&t=15109




Post Edited ( 03-15-12 16:34 )

« Last Edit: 15 March 2012, 14:33:20 by DanSteph »