See site in english Voir le site en francais
Website skin:
home  download  forum  link  contact

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: UCGO and Orbiter 2010  (Read 10047 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline sunshine135

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 547
  • Country: United States us
  • Karma: 3
  • I fly by the seat of my pants!
11 June 2010, 16:49:33
Dan,

I was looking through compatibility issues with Orbiter 2010 in O-F. I came across the bug post:

 Originally Posted by garyw  View Post
 I've managed to make it repeatable. Maybe someone can test the steps and confirm?

If you launch the _UniversalCarsandcargo->features demonstration->construct a base by unpacking cargo scenario then do the following:

unpack carg1
unpack carg02
unpack carg12
quit
restart
all three unpacked modules work
pack carg02
quit
restart
all are packed.
I can now confirm it, thanks for making it repeatable. No CTD issues like Xyon had, but definitely the same bug you experienced.


This appears to be pretty minor, but since it impacts playability, I thought you might like to look at it if you had some spare time    :wall:    (who has spare time???)

Cheers,


"Sun Dog"

Offline Tefal

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 96
  • Karma: 0
Reply #1 - 19 June 2010, 21:50:39
I can also reproduce this kind of bug. It's easier, actually - try this on a scenario with packed cargos:

1. Unpack a cargo.
2. Quit to the launchpad, then launch (Current state).
4. The cargo is still somehow unpacked.
5. Quit to the launchpad a second time, then launch (Current state) once more.
6. Poof! The cargo gets packed.

The "Construct a base by unpacking cargos" works wonders to test this bug. With the packed beam lights, what happens is even funkier: three of them get repacked after one reload. The two remaining get repacked after the second reload, but the light beams they emit stays hanging above the ground.

My base on Titan just packed itself up again :sad:

Tefal



Offline Tefal

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 96
  • Karma: 0
Reply #2 - 19 June 2010, 22:44:45
After a bit of fumbling, here is an observation. This is a zombie-packed module, as described above:

Code: [Select]
CARG01:UCGO\Cargos\CargoBaseModule
  STATUS Landed Moon
  POS 33.4383477 5.1235075
  HEADING 29.56
  AFCMODE 56
  CargoUnpacked 1
END

Note the AFCMODE 56, which seemingly comes from Orbiter 2010. This line seems to (indirectly?) cause the problem - neither AFCMODE 55 nor AFCMODE 57 will cause it. With CargoBaseModule, AFCMODE 56 above CargoUnpacked 1 will turn your base module into a module that is unpacked but does not look like it. The UMMUs can still breathe in it without a suit, for instance.

Other cargoes suffer from the same problem, but with other values for other cargo -   AFCMODE 48 for CargoBaseControl, AFCMODE 24 for CargoLandingBeacon, AFCMODE 16 for CargoBaseLight... Each and every cargo has a NUMBER OF DOOM it seems to be assigned by an Orbiter suddenly gone tyrannical after unpacking.

AFCMODE starts at 48 for an unpacked CargoBaseModule, gets set to 56 OF DOOM after unpacking, ends up with 112 if you repack it but back to 56 (... of doom etc.) if you unpack it again.

Orbiter's documentation is silent on what this AFCMODE line ought to be, and O-F doesn't seem to have anything helpful about it either.

I'm confused, but I guess I/one could write some kind of DLL module that nudges the values OF DOOM to more innocent ones when the simulation gets closed and the state gets saved...

Tefal



Offline sunshine135

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 547
  • Country: United States us
  • Karma: 3
  • I fly by the seat of my pants!
Reply #3 - 25 June 2010, 17:24:13
I am running into several bugs with Orbiter 2010 and UCGO. One thing I notice is if you are Europa for instance, and you egress out of the Arrow, you are okay, but your o2 readings are zeroed out. When you try to go back into the Arrow, the Arrow says you are dead. So, my zombie Ummus now inhabit the Arrow and are shown on the manifest, but are all dead!!!

Also, I duplicated the exit out of Orbiter bug and come back in. If you have unpacked a cargo in a scenario, and exit the scenario. Then you come back into the current scenario, the cargo is repacked.

A third bug has to do with a Ummu in the Azure Rover. If you unload a Ummu from the Arrow and place him inside of the Azure, exit the scenario, and then come back into the scenario, you Ummu will have disappeared.

My gut feeling is that these are newer variables that may be all related within Orbiter 2010. It is also obvious that Dan has not been here in awhile. He is likely wrapped up with programming on his "pay for" software. Until such time as Dan can look at UCGO amd Ummu again, it is supported only for 2006, and you use it at your own risk on 2010.

:merci:


"Sun Dog"

Offline Ormindo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: 0
Reply #4 - 17 July 2010, 14:02:30
That's too many zombies for me. Call a Paladin.


Offline phagedarc

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: 0
Reply #5 - 04 August 2010, 19:23:16
I don't know if anyone has noticed and I could be wrong. but the afcmode only seems to be in files saved by orbiter. Not in one's that we're written, ( like with note pad) and saved. I used note pad to edit one of these saved files and removed the afcmode line, and when I ran the file, it was unpacked. like it should be. I also found that one's with an afcmode 7, were unaffected.



Post Edited ( 08-04-10 19:51 )


Offline Voyager

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 74
  • Karma: 0
Reply #6 - 06 December 2010, 23:48:53
Hi everyone,

Perhaps a quick fix for your problems. If you replace the AFCMODE in your scenario file to AFCMODE 120, all modules will be correctly unpacked. Dont ask me what AFCMODE is, or why you need to use it though. I've only found it on the orbiter forums.

Voyager



Offline ASFalcon13

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
Reply #7 - 01 February 2011, 05:14:13
Looks like the AFCMODE 120 fix isn't a perfect fix either.  The next time you save/quicksave, AFCMODE gets set back to whatever Orbiter wanted to set it to beforehand, and then you lose functionality again if you save off of that quicksave, just like before. :(


"There is an art, it says, or rather, a knack to flying. The knack lies in learning how to throw yourself at the ground and miss."
- from "The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy" by Douglas Adams

Offline greyrogue715

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
Reply #8 - 16 April 2012, 23:14:34
I am trying to use the UMmu 1.5 patch but I keep getting a message saying "No dll found with UMmu 1.5 bug - OK"

What is this telling me?

Thanks.
Andrew



Offline greyrogue715

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
Reply #9 - 16 April 2012, 23:32:14
This is from Orbitor diagnostic tool:

Why are all of these meshes missing?  Are they not needed, or do I have to find them somewhere?

Thanks again,
Andrew

Scenarios directory found: OK.
Meshes directory found: OK.
Config directory found: OK.
Base.cfg found: OK.
Vessels directory found: OK.

VINKA's SPACECRAFT ADDON
----------------------------------------------------
Multistage directory found: OK.
  Multistage.cfg found: OK.
  Multistage.dll found: OK.

  Multistage2.cfg found: OK.
  Multistage2.dll found: OK.

Spacecraft directory found: OK.
  Spacecraft.cfg found: OK.
  Spacecraft.dll found: OK.

  Spacecraft2.cfg found: OK.
  Spacecraft2.dll found: OK.

  Spacecraft3.cfg found: OK.
  Spacecraft3.dll found: OK.

INSTALLATION ISSUES
--------------------------------------
C:\Users\ciaassn\Desktop\Orbiter 100830\Config\Vessels\CVELTitan\2PLCarr.cfg
MISSING MESH CVELTitan/2PLCarr.msh.

C:\Users\ciaassn\Desktop\Orbiter 100830\Config\Vessels\CVELTitan\2PLPAF.cfg
MISSING MESH CVELTitan/2PLPAF.msh.

C:\Users\ciaassn\Desktop\Orbiter 100830\Config\Vessels\CVELTitan\Int10_8.cfg
MISSING MESH CVELTitan/int10_8.msh.

C:\Users\ciaassn\Desktop\Orbiter 100830\Config\Vessels\CVELTitan\Int13_10.cfg
MISSING MESH CVELTitan/int13_10.msh.

C:\Users\ciaassn\Desktop\Orbiter 100830\Config\Vessels\CVELTitan\RSRM.cfg
MISSING MESH CVELTitan/RSRMW.msh.

C:\Users\ciaassn\Desktop\Orbiter 100830\Config\Vessels\CVELTitan\SRM-E.cfg
MISSING MESH CVELTitan/SRM4.msh.

C:\Users\ciaassn\Desktop\Orbiter 100830\Config\Vessels\CVELTitan\SRM-N.cfg
MISSING MESH CVELTitan/SRM0.msh.

C:\Users\ciaassn\Desktop\Orbiter 100830\Config\Vessels\CVELTitan\SRM-S.cfg
MISSING MESH CVELTitan/SRM1.msh.

C:\Users\ciaassn\Desktop\Orbiter 100830\Config\Vessels\CVELTitan\SRMUE.cfg
MISSING MESH CVELTitan/SRMUE.msh.

C:\Users\ciaassn\Desktop\Orbiter 100830\Config\Vessels\CVELTitan\SRMUW.cfg
MISSING MESH CVELTitan/SRMUW.msh.

C:\Users\ciaassn\Desktop\Orbiter 100830\Config\Vessels\CVELTitan\SRM-W.cfg
MISSING MESH CVELTitan/SRM5.msh.

C:\Users\ciaassn\Desktop\Orbiter 100830\Config\Vessels\CVELTitan\Titan_Cluster_Interstage.cfg
MISSING MESH CVELTitan/titanClint.msh.

C:\Users\ciaassn\Desktop\Orbiter 100830\Config\Vessels\CVELTitan\Titan_Cluster_Stage.cfg
MISSING MESH CVELTitan/titanClust.msh.

C:\Users\ciaassn\Desktop\Orbiter 100830\Config\Vessels\CVELTitan\Titan_Mid_Section.cfg
MISSING MESH CVELTitan/titan2i.msh.

C:\Users\ciaassn\Desktop\Orbiter 100830\Config\Vessels\CVELTitan\Titan_Stage_First.cfg
MISSING MESH CVELTitan/titan21.msh.

C:\Users\ciaassn\Desktop\Orbiter 100830\Config\Vessels\CVELTitan\Titan_Stage_Second.cfg
MISSING MESH CVELTitan/titan22.msh.

C:\Users\ciaassn\Desktop\Orbiter 100830\Config\Vessels\CVELTitan\Titan34_Stage_First.cfg
MISSING MESH CVELTitan/titan34_stage1.msh.

C:\Users\ciaassn\Desktop\Orbiter 100830\Config\Vessels\CVELTitan\Titan34_Stage_Second.cfg
MISSING MESH CVELTitan/titan34_stage2.msh.

C:\Users\ciaassn\Desktop\Orbiter 100830\Config\Vessels\CVELTitan\Titan45_Stage_First.cfg
MISSING MESH CVELTitan/titan45_stage1.msh.

C:\Users\ciaassn\Desktop\Orbiter 100830\Config\Vessels\CVELTitan\Titan45_Stage_Second.cfg
MISSING MESH CVELTitan/titan45_stage2.msh.

C:\Users\ciaassn\Desktop\Orbiter 100830\Config\Vessels\CVELTitan\TitanC_Mid_Section.cfg
MISSING MESH CVELTitan/int10_13.msh.

C:\Users\ciaassn\Desktop\Orbiter 100830\Config\Vessels\CVELTitan\TitanC_Stage_Second.cfg
MISSING MESH CVELTitan/titanC_stage2.msh.

C:\Users\ciaassn\Desktop\Orbiter 100830\Config\Vessels\CVELTitan\TitanI_Stage_Second.cfg
MISSING MESH CVELTitan/titanI_stage2.msh.

C:\Users\ciaassn\Desktop\Orbiter 100830\Config\Vessels\CVELTitan\UA1003E.cfg
MISSING MESH CVELTitan/UA1003E.msh.

C:\Users\ciaassn\Desktop\Orbiter 100830\Config\Vessels\CVELTitan\UA1003W.cfg
MISSING MESH CVELTitan/UA1003W.msh.

C:\Users\ciaassn\Desktop\Orbiter 100830\Config\Vessels\CVELTitan\UA1205AE.cfg
MISSING MESH CVELTitan/UA1205AE.msh.

C:\Users\ciaassn\Desktop\Orbiter 100830\Config\Vessels\CVELTitan\UA1205AW.cfg
MISSING MESH CVELTitan/UA1205AW.msh.

C:\Users\ciaassn\Desktop\Orbiter 100830\Config\Vessels\CVELTitan\UA1205E.cfg
MISSING MESH CVELTitan/UA1205E.msh.

C:\Users\ciaassn\Desktop\Orbiter 100830\Config\Vessels\CVELTitan\UA1205W.cfg
MISSING MESH CVELTitan/UA1205W.msh.

C:\Users\ciaassn\Desktop\Orbiter 100830\Config\Vessels\CVELTitan\UA1207E.cfg
MISSING MESH CVELTitan/UA1207E.msh.

C:\Users\ciaassn\Desktop\Orbiter 100830\Config\Vessels\CVELTitan\UA1207W.cfg
MISSING MESH CVELTitan/UA1207W.msh.

C:\Users\ciaassn\Desktop\Orbiter 100830\Config\Vessels\CVELTitan\UA1208E.cfg
MISSING MESH CVELTitan/UA1208E.msh.

C:\Users\ciaassn\Desktop\Orbiter 100830\Config\Vessels\CVELTitan\UA1208W.cfg
MISSING MESH CVELTitan/UA1208W.msh.

C:\Users\ciaassn\Desktop\Orbiter 100830\Config\Vessels\ISSR\Fregat.cfg
MISSING MESH r7_SZ\Fregat.msh.

C:\Users\ciaassn\Desktop\Orbiter 100830\Config\Base.cfg
MISSING TEXTURE Cape21.dds.

C:\Users\ciaassn\Desktop\Orbiter 100830\Scenarios\Wallops Island\MinotaurELV launch from Wallops Island.scn
MISSING CFG FILE Minotaur.cfg. (Do not use this scenario)


Offline Ripley

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 98
  • Country: Italy it
  • Karma: 12
    • My Orbiter section on www.tuttovola.org
Reply #10 - 17 April 2012, 10:54:47
Quote
greyrogue715 wrote:
I am trying to use the UMmu 1.5 patch but I keep getting a message saying "No dll found with UMmu 1.5 bug - OK"

What is this telling me?

Thanks.
Andrew

If you see this message after installing some of Dan's add-ons (OrbiterSound 3.5, DG IV-2, UMMU 2.0 or UCGO 2.0), I guess you shouldn't worry about this.

« Last Edit: 17 April 2012, 10:54:47 by Ripley »