See site in english Voir le site en francais
Website skin:
home  download  forum  link  contact

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: [Closed] [BETA10] of DeltaGliderIV  (Read 42125 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #25 - 06 May 2007, 16:04:16
Quote
picto a écrit:
Pas vu l'ombre d'une ombre noire. Texture parfaite sous tous les angles. :wonder:

Bonne carte graphique, bon matos ;)

Dan


Offline Quick_Nick

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 446
  • Karma: 0
Reply #26 - 06 May 2007, 16:30:19
Quote
Quantum Burrito Meal wrote:
When I was flying in the atmosphere, I deliberately caused G-LOC. My captain (the only person aboard) passed out,
but I could still control the craft.
I think I've noticed that in many versions. I sort of like it because I can keep flying, lol. I just get G-LOC and see I
need to not do whatever I did again.


-Nick

Offline Voyager

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 74
  • Karma: 0
Reply #27 - 06 May 2007, 18:01:59
I didn't have the Z buffer heatshield bug, in the original, as well as replacements A, B, C, D the heatshield was fine.
Nothing wrong that i could see. I tried running Orbiter in Windowed and Fullscreen mode, fullscreen at 1280x1024x32 and
windowed at 1024x960x32, and like i said no problems.

Orbiter Settings (other then already specified):
- Complex flight model
- Limited Fuel
All visual effects except for Cloud Shadows and Specular Ripples
Active modules: OrbiterSound, ScnEditor, transx
Video Settings: Always enumerate devices on, all other checks off.
no Joystick.

Running:
Windows XP SP1
DirectX 9.0c (latest)

Hardware:
Nvidia 8800GTS 640 Mb graphics card
Asus P5B-E Plus motherboard
2GB Corsair TwinX dual channel memory

The rest of my system specs could be irrelevant.

Voyager


Offline Pagir

  • Legend
  • ******
  • Posts: 4522
  • Karma: 1
Reply #28 - 06 May 2007, 18:38:02
Same for me:

I have a slight Z buffer bug with the "A" version, but it's perfect in the "B" version.

So I didn't test "C" and "D".

Pagir

"Cheap carte graphique, matos enough good for me til betaing FsP for FSX..."


Pagir

Offline kipper

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 29
  • Karma: 0
Reply #29 - 06 May 2007, 19:58:40
Fine with B across a lot of different resolutions and video setups.


Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #30 - 06 May 2007, 20:51:27
Great, thanks to all for testing, seem "B" is the way to go.

Cheers

Dan


Offline willy88

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 332
  • Karma: 0
Reply #31 - 06 May 2007, 20:58:31

DELTAGLIDERIV BUG


Short description:

Airbrake stays on during reentry.


Severity

minor


Complete  description

While reentering, if you deploy the air brake, the air brake does not get ripped off.


Reproduce bug

Start the "Whats Cool - Reentry heat shied", start autopilot, deploy air brake.


Miscallenous

Quite unrealistic, the air brake would be torn off.


_________

Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #32 - 06 May 2007, 21:27:25
Quote
willy88 a écrit:
Airbrake stays on during reentry.
Quite unrealistic, the air brake would be torn off.

This "bug" will tay like this, changing would involve a lot of coding
with risk of horrible bugs so it will need one more beta, more time etc etc...

Thanks anyway for submitting :beer:

Dan


Offline Voyager

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 74
  • Karma: 0
Reply #33 - 06 May 2007, 21:48:45
I already posted these bugs in the Beta 9 thread, but you might have missed it Dan. Anyway, as it persists in Beta 10
as
well, i'll resubmit it.


DELTAGLIDERIV BUG #1


Short description:

Last action stuck in computer when exiting a program incorrectly

Severity

Minor (if involving Main/retro engines), Serious (if involving RCS thrusters)

Complete  description

When in Null relative speed autopilot (Pro500Spec0) or in Auto Docking Autopilot (Pro300Spec0) for example when
the program
is running a manouvre, like firing engines, and you do not stop the program properly, by suddenly activating killrot, or
prograde for instance, the computer will switch over to the other program but the last action of the AP will still be in
the
DGIV's controls, in this case, the engines keep running, you can manually cut the engines by pressing * off course,
but *
doesnt work if the RCS thrusters are stuck running.

Reproduce bug

Open the AutoPilot Docking scenario in the what's cool folder. Run Pro500Spec0, wait until it's in Step 2 and then hit
numpad
5 to killrot. The Null relative speed program will have been replaced by the killrot program but the RCS thrusters will
still
be running, and no way to shut them off.


[Edit by dansteph] I removed the #2 and posted below PLEASE ! one bug per post so I can tag them
separately - Thanks.


Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #34 - 06 May 2007, 21:52:12

DELTAGLIDERIV BUG #2


Short description:

Upon activating killrot when another program is still active the display will give incorrect program information

Severity

Minor

Complete  description

When the Null relative speed autopilot (Pro500Spec0) or Auto Docking Autopilot (Pro300Spec0) is running and you
abrubtly like
in the bug above switch over to killrot, the screen on the computer isn't cleared properly, still showing the Null relative
speed information, but with the killrot program code (Pro200Spec0). See picture below for more information:


Reproduce bug

Open the AutoPilot Docking scenario in the what's cool folder. Run Pro500Spec0, and when activated, press numpad 5
to killrot.

Miscallenous

Switching to another panel clears the bug, as well as activating killrot twice forces the page to be refreshed.


Lastly, one minor typo, not worth making a whole bug report for: -When pressing the Disp button (or D key) option 9
reads
"Antenna / data transfert" again. I clearly remember the spelling was corrected in Beta 8 to "Antenna / data transfer",
did
you change it back accidentally?

[Originally posted by voyager]



Message modifié ( 06-05-2007 21:54 )


Offline Voyager

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 74
  • Karma: 0
Reply #35 - 06 May 2007, 22:01:30
Sorry Dan, my bad


Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #36 - 06 May 2007, 22:05:26
Quote
Voyager a écrit:
Sorry Dan, my bad


No probs ;)

"Data transfer"also solved, it was never cleared because I searched by "data transfert" or "data transfer"
and there was none as there was another spelling mistake:  "Antenna / data tranfert" (missing "S")

Dan



Message modifié ( 06-05-2007 22:09 )


Offline Voyager

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 74
  • Karma: 0
Reply #37 - 06 May 2007, 22:09:44
EDIT: ah never mind this post then, we posted and edited our posts so quickly things kinda got out of sync ;) I already deleted and made a fresh Orbiter install to make sure it wasn't a problem on my side :)



Post Edited ( 05-06-07 22:18 )


Offline n122vu

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 150
  • Karma: 1
Reply #38 - 06 May 2007, 22:33:08
I did encounter the Z buffer heat shield bug.  "B" version of the heat shield mesh also worked best for me.  

Quote
Pagir wrote:
Note that me average FPS is more in the 20s.


I am seeing the FPS in the 20s also in external view when running the "What's Cool -> Heat Shield" scenario.  

System and Orbiter configuration as follows:

XP Pro Service Pack 2
Pentium 4 @ 2.0 Ghz
1.0 GB RAM (PC2100)
256MB Sapphire (ATI) Radeon 9250 (PCI Bus)
*EDIT* - running Windows in 16-bit video mode

*EDIT* - running Orbiter in 16-bit video mode
Active Visual Effects - Planetary: Cloud Layers; Horizon Haze; Planet Night Lights
General Effects:  Vessel Shadows; Reentry Flames; Particle Streams

Selected Parameters - Complex Flight Model, Limited Fuel

Stars - Count=3000, Brightness=1.00, Contrast=1.00

Active Modules - ExtMFD, Framerate, InterMFD, OrbiterSound, ScnEditor, transx

Other installed add-ons: None

**EDIT** Dan - sorry for not using the form, and posting outside the requested format.  I feel framerate issues are not "bug" material but are related to user/machine configuration.  Probably does not belong in this thread.  Perhaps should go in another topic/thread.  Again my apologies.

Sincerely,
n122vu



Post Edited ( 05-06-07 22:36 )


Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #39 - 06 May 2007, 22:56:05
Quote
n122vu a écrit:
**EDIT** Dan - sorry for not using the form, and posting outside the requested format.  I feel framerate issues are
not "bug" material but are related to user/machine configuration.  Probably does not belong in this
thread.  Perhaps should go in another topic/thread.  Again my apologies.
Sincerely,
n122vu


No probs, the form are made for that: I can now distinguish beetween "real bug" and discussions. (and this is more a
discussion than an issue)

About framerate you didn't mention your screen resolution, my thought is this:

on my crappy 1.7 GHZ Geforce2 TI4200 (dated four years ago) I got 39 FPS on "performance test worse"
in 1152x864 resolution. And 75 FPS 8o during the "reentry heat shield" in 1152x864 (all orbiter effects ON, external
view) (just tested yet)

The reentry mesh is only 300 poly and the texture a 512x512, if you get really worse framerate I would say your
hardware is not good OR you pushed the resolution or graphic effect to far for your hardware.
Anyway for the possibility it offer the DGIV is highly optimised, if my four years computer can run it at 75FPs the problem is not in the DGIV.

(I just checked, seem the Radeon 9250 is far below TI 4200 wich is also completely outdated yet)

Ti4200 power  ! (2002 card)

Notice my old "1.7" computer served me really well :love: Never a crash and a good combinaison of hardware &graphic card  made that I can still run most game on it. (but now I preffer my 3.2Ghz 7800 GTX of course ;) )



Dan



Message modifié ( 06-05-2007 23:07 )


Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #40 - 07 May 2007, 00:12:43
Quote
Voyager a écrit:
Last action stuck in computer when exiting a program incorrectly
[/b][/color]

Seem solved, to check in next beta please.


Quote
Voyager a écrit:
Upon activating killrot when another program is still active the display will give incorrect program information

Seem solved also,

Much thanks for reporting,

Cheers

Dan


Offline aus_pilot

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 38
  • Karma: 0
Reply #41 - 07 May 2007, 03:58:19
Just did some heat shield testing, and these are my results:

Version A: Many Z-Buffer errors. Happens if camera is being moved or stationary.

Version B: Some Z-Buffer errors while camera is being moved, no errors while camera is stationary.

Version C: No errors under any tests.

Version D: No errors under any tests.

This was done on a Radeon 9600Pro with Catalyst 6.7 drivers at 128081024 32Bit.


________________________________________________________________

Do you need launch facilities? Visit Ant  Aerospace at http://antaerospace.freehostia.com


Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #42 - 07 May 2007, 04:03:38
Quote
aus_pilot a écrit:
This was done on a Radeon 9600Pro with Catalyst 6.7 drivers at 128081024 32Bit.

Much thanks for your test. Isn't the 9600 PRO a 3-4 years old card ?

Anyway I'll take the mesh that is error free for all peoples, if it's "C" no problem.

Dan


Offline willy88

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 332
  • Karma: 0
Reply #43 - 07 May 2007, 04:09:17
Shouldn't the "seat-belt" button say "space suit"? Users may get confused as to why the seat-belt button puts on space suits.


_________

Offline Quick_Nick

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 446
  • Karma: 0
Reply #44 - 07 May 2007, 04:23:33
Quote
Quantum Burrito Meal wrote:
When I was flying in the atmosphere, I deliberately caused G-LOC. My captain (the only person aboard) passed out,
but I could still control the craft.
I THINK the same may happen in hypoxia and hyperoxia. Someone would have to confirm this first though, as I am
not totally sure. Hopefully this is helpful and not another anoying nonhelpful post.


-Nick

Offline MattNW

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 333
  • Karma: 0
Reply #45 - 07 May 2007, 04:26:57
Quote
DanSteph wrote:
Quote
aus_pilot a écrit:
This was done on a Radeon 9600Pro with Catalyst 6.7 drivers at 128081024 32Bit.

Much thanks for your test. Isn't the 9600 PRO a 3-4 years old card ?

Anyway I'll take the mesh that is error free for all peoples, if it's "C" no problem.

Dan

9600 Pro here too and yes it's a couple of years old but solid as a rock and handles FSX at 25+ FPS in all but the worst
situations. Even then it's still flyable but a little stuttery.

Shield A still has problems. Shield B is OK on  my machine as well as C & D. Can't tell any difference between shield C and
Sheild D so C sounds like a safe bet.


Offline sunshine135

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 547
  • Country: United States us
  • Karma: 3
  • I fly by the seat of my pants!
Reply #46 - 07 May 2007, 04:47:17
Dan:

Here are my test results:

Compaq 6010US 1.4 GHZ AMD Athalon Processor with 1 GB of RAM and ATI PCI 128 MB Graphics card.
Orbiter 2006 P1 with DGIV, and OrbiterSound add ons/ Aerobrake MFD/ IMFD.

Mesh A:

16 Bit- Slightly noticible z effect and frame rate of 15 to 19
32 Bit- Noticible z effect at the end of the reentry cycle with framerate around 17

Mesh B:

16 Bit- No issues 19 FPS rate
32 Bit- No issues 17 FPS rate

Mesh C:
16 Bit- No issues 16 to 17 FPS
32 Bit- No issues 17 FPS rate

Mesh D:
16 Bit- No issues 16 FPS
32 Bit- No issues 15 FPS


I prefer the Mesh C.


"Sun Dog"

Offline n122vu

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 150
  • Karma: 1
Reply #47 - 07 May 2007, 04:48:11
Quote
DanSteph wrote:
About framerate you didn't mention your screen resolution

I was also running at 1152x864 resolution.  

I think the bottleneck for my machine is the fact that I am using a standard PCI bus, not AGP or PCI express.  I only
have PCI slots in ths machine :grrr: otherwise I would be running a GeForce 6600 GT card, which I sold to a friend
when I found it was not compatible with my previous PC's mobo chipset.  

I guess I will have to live with it.  Our new addition came 12 weeks early :gift: , and is in the intensive care
unit :sad: .  All our funds have been diverted for her, and the new PC I was planning to build this summer has been
cancelled.  

Thanks for the advice,

n122vu



Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #48 - 07 May 2007, 08:04:44
Wow, I didn't tought that about all the testers use *hem sorry guy* outdated hardware. Notice it's not a
problem but I admire your courage, if it run at 20 FPS during reentry I wonder how much you get in other situation
(for example "test worse situation" or take-off with all the smoke)

What is more strange is that you all get 1/3 of the FPS I have with a 1.7 GHZ machine wich is dated four years ago. (I
admit anyway the TI4200 was a very good graphic card at this time)

This show the importance of a good graphic card and a well balanced hardware ;)



Dan



Message modifié ( 07-05-2007 08:14 )


Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #49 - 07 May 2007, 08:10:10
Quote
n122vu a écrit:
I guess I will have to live with it.  Our new addition came 12 weeks early :gift: , and is in the intensive care
unit :sad: .  All our funds have been diverted for her, and the new PC I was planning to build this summer has been
cancelled.  


You mean you had a baby that was born too early ? in this case, first let me congrat you for her birth.
I really wish that all will be well for her !

Dan



Message modifié ( 07-05-2007 10:32 )