See site in english Voir le site en francais
Website skin:
home  download  forum  link  contact

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: DGIII alpha release 02.07 feedback here (CLOSED)  (Read 21562 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
07 February 2004, 22:17:42
As usuall :)


"So here is the new alpha version of the DGIII

download here:
http://orbiter.dansteph.com/index.php?disp=dgIII

And here we go for the fifth thread about the DGIII alpha


Dan"


Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #1 - 07 February 2004, 22:23:51
Pffffff don't ask me my name,
I'm brain fried !
the antenna panel took me the whole day after all.
(who is the :worry: that said "3 hours" :rant: )

I hope the antenna and panel will not eat too much framerate.

Anyway happy flying,  (or CTD if I have forget something :)


Dan


Offline MattNW

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 333
  • Karma: 0
Reply #2 - 07 February 2004, 22:25:09
Geez, I checked the download page about two minutes ago and it still had the older release. Now
you just posted the new one and it's got two hits allready. :applause:


Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #3 - 07 February 2004, 22:25:07
One is mine for download checking ;)


Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #4 - 07 February 2004, 22:26:10
Nice chat room uh ? :)


Offline MattNW

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 333
  • Karma: 0
Reply #5 - 07 February 2004, 22:31:20
Don't know what's getting more traffic. Your forum or the Alpha Download Page.


Offline ChristopherT

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 64
  • Karma: 0
Reply #6 - 07 February 2004, 22:43:23

 It was 5 hits when I grabbed it.  :)  I'm looking forward to trying Dan's version of the DG3 Rescue
scenario.  I've been reading up on TransX all day long trying different ways to get from Europa
to Io. :rant:  My head is as full of math as Dan's is of DG3 code!  :wonder:

       Christopher


Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #7 - 07 February 2004, 23:28:53
In my scenary Io is in sight not far I tried the direct method
but was a bit shy on the thrust... and crashed  somewhere.

I'll try again now that it seem that I have some free time :)

Dan


Offline ChristopherT

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 64
  • Karma: 0
Reply #8 - 08 February 2004, 00:04:00
DanSteph wrote:

> In my scenary Io is in sight not far I tried the direct method
> but was a bit shy on the thrust... and crashed  somewhere.
>
> I'll try again now that it seem that I have some free time :)
>
> Dan

  I did the same thing, crashed into something during a 100x sprint toward Io.  :)  I have to
say, the latest version of the DG3 is awesome!   :applause:  I love the way the AE35 turned
out.  That alone was worth the wait.  

  I must say that this new scenario has me sitting back and hitting the books again.  It's easy to
take off from KSC and hit the ISS, but this is ten times harder if you haven't learned the MFD's.  
  :wonder:

  Already I've printed out the TransX manual, downloaded the Interplanetary MFD and a bunch of
tutorials.  Tonight I'll do some reading and practice some more.  :)  Sooner or later I'm going to
get it right and do it by the book, then I'll be psyched!  

     Christopher


Offline Leemon

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 30
  • Karma: 0
Reply #9 - 08 February 2004, 00:31:39
Yikes!  8o

I just looked at the passenger list on the mining ship, and I definitely want to rescue them now! :)

The antenna is a terrific add-on.  Thank you for letting us select from all of the available Orbiter
objects!  I know this was a lot of work for you.

Lee



Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #10 - 08 February 2004, 00:40:39
Well,

I'm in orbit around Io :)

I suggest strongly you put huge reserve fuel.

I was a bit generous on the acceleration from europe and I was finaly
rushing toward Io at more then 100'000 km/h
that was the more stressing braking I made in Orbiter.

It seem jupiter put a stong variable when you try to acquire a good orbit
it varied in no time beetween mo km and hundred...

Also the instrument become crazy, some have jupiter as reference and some other Io
even if my Orbit hud is on Io (CTL-R to set the reference) the autopilot prograde and retrograde
seem to be stuck in jupiter's orbit.... useless.

Anyway the picture where an absolute beauty, even in 1x time I can SEE  Io
rushing on me while trying to brake with the turbo and all the power at max.
I passed at less than 40km high the first orbit but with a speed of 50'000kmh :)

Using a lot of correction and the surface MFD ref Io I tried finally to less my speed
(the orbit MFD seem to say fake things during a long time) this is how I went finaly
to a round Orbit.... pfeeew...

Better for you because If I recall well ChrisT, Spets, Leemon, MattNW and reechkaa
are onboard the mining vessel.... :)

I would not qualify this flight as "easy" If you have a good feeling of what hapen and
doesn't thrust to much the MFD but more the Orbit hud vector and your feeling
I think it will goes well.

I don't think I'll include this scenary as it is in the final version perhaps a more easy
where the mining ship is already around europa  (the view when you enter the
scenario is nice isn't it ?)

I return flying I have some guy to rescue :)

Dan



Post Edited (02-08-04 00:42)


Offline ChristopherT

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 64
  • Karma: 0
Reply #11 - 08 February 2004, 01:44:27
DanSteph wrote:

> I don't think I'll include this scenary as it is in the final version perhaps a more easy where the
> mining ship is already around europa  (the view when you enter the scenario is nice isn't it ?)
>
> I return flying I have some guy to rescue :)
>
> Dan

 Speaking of the view!  :)  Whatever changes you made to the panel graphics this time round, I
can actually see every switch and panel at 800x600x16 without distortion.  I occured to me
when I was placing the mining ship into orbit that I could actually read ALL the gauges
properly. :)  So don't make any changes to the panel, I'm growing rather fond of it being
normal.   :wonder:  Tommorrow I'm going to take some test flights to see if the new panel
appearance will be the new status quo or just a fluke.  :)

         Christopher


Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #12 - 08 February 2004, 02:24:58
You are saved :)





And now the odd things: I didn't make any change to the panel :wonder:

Usually in 800x600 you must scroll but the panel should look good.....
mhhh wait... perhaps you changed the "panel scale" of the "parameter" tab
ot the Orbiter launchpad ?

Anyway if you computer can afford that I recommand 1152x864 the panel is
made for this resolution, will cover the whole screen without distortion or blank area.

Dan


Offline jgrillo2002

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
  • Country: United States us
  • Karma: 5
Reply #13 - 08 February 2004, 02:27:44
Dan. Two words...  GREAT JOB!!!. I really like the attannea part. Thanks a million. oh I still have
that font problem. I dont think the code that u made in the cfg is not compatible for my OS. please
check



Offline reekchaa

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 649
  • Country: United States us
  • Karma: 2
Reply #14 - 08 February 2004, 02:29:48
Ahhh!  Somebody... Save me!  :)
A Very Challenging Mission!!  Great Fun... I gotta study a little more manual as well!


~ the Reekchaa

Offline ChristopherT

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 64
  • Karma: 0
Reply #15 - 08 February 2004, 05:18:44

 Thanks, Dan! Looks like you made a great catch!  I haven't changed any of the
settings in the launchpad.  This version just seems more stable panel-wise.  When
I do get some distortion, I can F3 to another vessel, F3 back to the DG3 and the
panel will be clear again.  That lasts till I quit Orbiter.   :wonder:  :)  
  You're right about having to scroll the screen, but I'm used to that.  If I didn't have
to I'd probably get bored!  :)  :applause:

  Thanks, Dan!

           Christopher


Offline Wilko

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 76
  • Karma: 0
Reply #16 - 08 February 2004, 05:33:57
Thought of a great idea if we ever do implement minor/major failures in full swing:

MIPAS (Malfunction Indication and Pilot Alert System):

This would either be part of the flight computer or an entirely new MFD. Like I've said previously,
the 747-400 uses a similar system called EICAS, which does generally the same thing that this
would.

When you do a cold start on the DGIII, it will display maybe a page or two of data which is
incorrect for its current mode of flight (an example being 'HUD power off'). There would be a colour
code system. Red would indicate a serious fault (like complete power loss, or something similar)
yellow would be a minor malfunction, and white would be a system indicator which could be
corrected but it doesn't need to be for a safe flight.

As you start up the DGIII, the yellow and red warnings would disappear as they are corrected
before takeoff. Once you are done, you can see anything that you have missed out on. Any faults
that happen during the flight would be posted on the MIPAS page until they are fixed.

MIPAS would monitor:

-Electrical systems
-Life support sytems
-Hull integrity (not a perfect indication of integrity though)
-Fuel systems
-Doors/Compartments status (includes nosecone, outer door, inner door, radiator doors, antenna
doors, landing gear doors, canopy and anything else Dan decides to add with a door :))
-Tire pressure/temperatre, and landing gear struts (intelligently, not all landing gear struts would
fail at once.. imaging skidding down the runway nose first because the nose gear collapsed :))

MIPAS would make the current failure warnings/system messages window and the 'check vessel
state display' invalid, compressing a lot of information into one system.

If anyone wants any pictures or info about the -400 EICAS system I'm happy to provide, as its
rather unique and great for pilots. This might not even be used until DGIV...


Offline Wilko

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 76
  • Karma: 0
Reply #17 - 08 February 2004, 05:55:37
Also Dan are you planning on updating the hover thrusters with the same bell-shape like the main
thrusters?


Pierre, LFPG

  • Guest
Reply #18 - 08 February 2004, 08:33:38
Hi All!

If you want some information about the B747-400 and full EFIS/EICAS support, have a close look at
Aerowinx Precision Suimulator "PS1.3" at http://www.aerowinx.de
There is a demo available at http://www.e-flight.com/ps1.htm
And I have a small website http://mapage.noos.fr/b744-PS13/cockpit.html
Sure, such an EFIS/EICAS-like system could be great for DGIII... for me both PS1.3 and Orbiter/DGIII are
the 2 best sims on Earth (and in space!) for sure!
Hope it helps... and enjoy!

Pierre, LFPG, STV1010 ( http://www.stevens-va.de )


Offline Wilko

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 76
  • Karma: 0
Reply #19 - 08 February 2004, 10:22:50
^ Thats exactly what I got the idea from! In a sense I've actully used the EICAS system. Hey I'm
only young, but technically I can fly that big bird :)


Pierre, LFPG

  • Guest
Reply #20 - 08 February 2004, 11:34:00
Hi Wilko!

Glad to read that you know about PS1.3! Sure this simulator matches the way of thinking simulation that
people using Orbiter appear to have: great software, and higfh quality free addons that enhance greatly
the quality of the simulation!
Now switching back to my DGIII orbiting Earth to try a rendezvous with ISS... in a few orbits!

Pierre, LFPG, STV1010
http://mapage.noos.fr/b744-PS13/cockpit.html


Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #21 - 08 February 2004, 12:50:53
I'll have a look, for now I have another bug to resolve
if you have both DGIII one will have its antenna look weird.

Dan LFLI ;)


Offline ChristopherT

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 64
  • Karma: 0
Reply #22 - 08 February 2004, 14:57:21
DanSteph wrote:

> I'll have a look, for now I have another bug to resolve
> if you have both DGIII one will have its antenna look weird.
>
> Dan LFLI ;)

 That's okay, last night I played hooky and went on an MMU tour of the ISS.  :)  I only got
partway up the first section before getting low on fuel and having to find a docking port.  I am
impressed with the modeling of the DG3 and the ISS. Going EVA through the DG3 is a nice way to
see some of the finer details close up.  :applause:

  Christopher


Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #23 - 08 February 2004, 15:11:50
Antenna bug resolved (not released yet)

I'm doing now the antenna's computer display where you will also be allowed
to download a new firmware for the computer. (one of the random failure
planed is a random crash of the computer due to bad software)

Once done I think I'll try to do an EVA part with a new mesh, so you will be
able to go outside to fix some things.

Dan


Offline jgrillo2002

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
  • Country: United States us
  • Karma: 5
Reply #24 - 08 February 2004, 18:25:17
Great idea Dan. you go do that :)