See site in english Voir le site en francais
Website skin:
home  download  forum  link  contact

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Shuttle Fleet 4.8 (or latest publicly consumable version) and all the trimmings.  (Read 413 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline slaintemaith

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: 0
16 January 2017, 23:13:31
I asked this over at the other forum, but perhaps I'll get an answer here...

Is there a current, proper, functional way (that's documented) to set up the old 2010 version with DX9 and the payloads, and a working AutoFCS, and Edwards AFB, and a pretty KSC, and...  You get the point.

I've tried various install methods/orders and am not having much in the way of luck.

Thanks in advance for help!

Slaintemaith.


Offline Milouse

  • Legend
  • ******
  • Posts: 1134
  • Country: France fr
  • Karma: 70
Reply #1 - 17 January 2017, 19:40:08
Hello,

At my knowledge, there's no documentation explaining how set up a complete install of Shuttle Fleet and all related addons. It takes time for having these addons working all together. :)


Milouse


Offline jgrillo2002

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 119
  • Country: United States us
  • Karma: 1
Reply #2 - 25 January 2017, 02:28:52
You should read the documentation from each addon. for AutoFCS, you need to go to the Orbiter_ng.cfg and change this line
"EchoAllParams = False"

to

"EchoAllParams = TRUE"


Offline slaintemaith

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: 0
Reply #3 - 25 January 2017, 03:14:27
I have.  I've done that with -both- Orbiter_ng.cfg and Orbiter.cfg.  (doesn't work if you don't do both.)


Offline Milouse

  • Legend
  • ******
  • Posts: 1134
  • Country: France fr
  • Karma: 70
Reply #4 - 26 January 2017, 12:30:51
Hello,

I have found again some personal notes (3 years ago) for having AutoFCS working :
install Orbiter 2010P1 (100830), then Gazza's STS payloads v2.01, then David413's STS Payloads Expansion Pack for Fleet V4.8, then David413's  Space Shuttle Fleet V4.8 Release 2. Don't forget the TRUE parameter, thanks Jgrillo. ;)
Then, you can install Papyref's Shuttle Fleet - KLC et AutoFCS upgrade too (pack for hires tiles, animated shuttle pads, and updated scenarios, if you want).

http://www.orbithangar.com/searchid.php?ID=2481
http://simviation.com/1/browse-Space+Orbiter-111-0
http://simviation.com/1/browse-Space+Orbiter-111-1
http://francophone.dansteph.com/?page=addon&id=166

You are going to have two AutoFCS modules available for activating in Launchpad ; choose one et don't activate the other (both was working separatly on my test install).


Milouse


Offline slaintemaith

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: 0
Reply #5 - 26 January 2017, 13:14:48
Thank you very much!  I shall give this a go (after I get some coffee).

Post Merge: 27 January 2017, 00:25:54
The short answer is "Nope."  It worked once, sort of, but then something rewrote the Orbiter_NG.cfg (making it much longer--but still keeping the TRUE setting TRUE) and nothing pops up in the AutoFCS box anymore.
I've also had this where it -did- work, but the entries were truncated, and one couldn't tell which bases were which.

Also STS Guidance doesn't work for circularizing.
Tried installing the 'updated' version of that as well.

Nope.

I got frustrated on the other forums and gave up.
Probably going to wind up doing that here.  There's just too many hoops to jump through with this program, and it just feels obsolete.  =(

Thanks again for your time!

« Last Edit: 27 January 2017, 00:25:54 by slaintemaith »

Offline jgrillo2002

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 119
  • Country: United States us
  • Karma: 1
Reply #6 - 15 February 2017, 22:10:44
You also need to add the base at the coordinates in the Earth.cfg file. Im sorry that I didnt mention this earlier.

Here is my example

Code: [Select]
BEGIN_SURFBASE
DIR Earth\Base
EDW: -117.92 +34.892
KSC: -80.675 +28.5208
VBG: -120.5694 +34.7345
ZZA: -1.0467 +41.6683
END_SURFBASE

Hope this helps.