See site in english Voir le site en francais
Website skin:
home  download  forum  link  contact

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Windows 8.1 orbiter  (Read 3536 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline gattico

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 289
  • Country: United States us
  • Karma: 4
12 December 2014, 16:27:32
Has anyone run Orbiter on Windows 8.1?
Bought a new PC with Windows 8.1. 
But when I run orbiter I get missing buttons on some boxes:

the boxes appear in d3d9 but graphics are messed up:


I run as admin and in compatibility mode


Offline SolarLiner

  • Global Moderator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 2768
  • Country: France fr
  • Karma: 54
  • a été remercié par Le Créateur
Reply #1 - 12 December 2014, 18:18:30
I fail to see the problem here. All the buttons are there, and none appear disorganized.


Offline gattico

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 289
  • Country: United States us
  • Karma: 4
Reply #2 - 12 December 2014, 18:28:04
Really look at the windows 7 vs windows 8 notice on the windows 8 no ? and red X box. 

Look at the differences in dialogue boxes.  The left is d3D9 see the red box.  But the title is extended into it


Offline Orion

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 719
  • Country: France fr
  • Karma: 2
  • Voler plus haut que le ciel
Reply #3 - 12 December 2014, 19:51:37
You can use ESC :)


Offline gattico

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 289
  • Country: United States us
  • Karma: 4
Reply #4 - 12 December 2014, 21:35:47
What is ESC?


Offline SolarLiner

  • Global Moderator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 2768
  • Country: France fr
  • Karma: 54
  • a été remercié par Le Créateur
Reply #5 - 12 December 2014, 22:20:53
ESC is the Escape key on your keyboard.

As for the little red "close" button, yeah, it's not there, although you can click on it anyway. A bit strance, but it works.
As for the title length, well, this is not a "bug" per se, the title is just too long for the width of the window.


Offline gattico

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 289
  • Country: United States us
  • Karma: 4
Reply #6 - 12 December 2014, 22:35:26
ok.  But in Windows 7 the title is good.  The ? for help isn't seen but is there you can click on it.


Offline SolarLiner

  • Global Moderator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 2768
  • Country: France fr
  • Karma: 54
  • a été remercié par Le Créateur
Reply #7 - 12 December 2014, 22:55:22
Well, all I know is that you can't resolve those bugs, and personally I don't care very much abot them, since they do not alter the gameplay very much.

Sorry! :(


Offline Maxorbiter

  • La
  • Legend
  • ******
  • Posts: 1860
  • Country: Canada ca
  • Karma: 44
  • Le fou des livrées des DGIV (et autre) !!
Reply #8 - 13 December 2014, 13:27:57
Don't worry, is a Windows 8/8.1 problem. You can click on the button, just need aim the good place. ;)
If you don't undersand is because im not really good in English  :sad: :)


Offline Dosage

  • Legend
  • ******
  • Posts: 1917
  • Country: France fr
  • Karma: 1
  • SUCH FORUM
    • Mon Tumblr.
Reply #9 - 13 December 2014, 14:16:32
Yup i've got the same issue. It's just not visible, but you can click it. I'm pretty sure you have figured it out since the last time you came here.


Offline gattico

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 289
  • Country: United States us
  • Karma: 4
Reply #10 - 13 December 2014, 14:20:35
Thanks.  I think the fix is NOT use windows 8.  As a developer I need to see what it looks like and with distorted graphics thats not good


Offline Bibi Uncle

  • Legend
  • ******
  • Posts: 2260
  • Country: Canada ca
  • Karma: 15
    • Site web perso
Reply #11 - 16 December 2014, 00:30:50
This is caused by the fact that Windows 8 removed the ability to draw on the title bar. This feature was deprecated since Windows Vista, because of the WDDM, but was removed on Windows 8. The title bar of every window is drawn by Windows, that's it. If you want to draw it yourself, you just need to create a borderless window and draw it yourself. However, you will have to handle the clicks and the redrawing yourself, including the close and minimize buttons.

Bibi Uncle
"Can't keep my eyes from the circling sky
Tongue-tied and twisted just an earth-bound misfit"

- Learning to Fly, Pink Floyd

Mireille :love:

Offline StarLost

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 648
  • Country: Canada ca
  • Karma: 5
Reply #12 - 16 December 2014, 04:02:06
Not that I've tried it yet, but would would it behave the same way under Windows 8.1 running the Windows 7 emulator?


Offline Bibi Uncle

  • Legend
  • ******
  • Posts: 2260
  • Country: Canada ca
  • Karma: 15
    • Site web perso
Reply #13 - 16 December 2014, 04:36:43
On a virtual machine running Windows 7, it should be rendered correctly. However, it seems a bit complicated for a button...

Bibi Uncle
"Can't keep my eyes from the circling sky
Tongue-tied and twisted just an earth-bound misfit"

- Learning to Fly, Pink Floyd

Mireille :love:

Offline Maxorbiter

  • La
  • Legend
  • ******
  • Posts: 1860
  • Country: Canada ca
  • Karma: 44
  • Le fou des livrées des DGIV (et autre) !!
Reply #14 - 16 December 2014, 19:50:11
Just ignore the problem like all the others Orbinauts on Windows 8 ;)