See site in english Voir le site en francais
Website skin:
home  download  forum  link  contact

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: UCGO BETA Public release 100112  (Read 25417 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Buzz313th

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 31
  • Karma: 0
Reply #25 - 13 January 2010, 18:43:52
Double post because I think the original got burried...


UCGO BUG


Bug with:

All UCGO Vessels capable of loading cargo

Not sure if its a bug or just a weight per cargo limitation


Short description:

Any cargo container over 10000 kg won't load onto Arrow or forklift


Severity

Minor (I suspect there is a weight limitation in the DLL of the module)


Complete description

I made a UCGO cargo container that upon UMMU unpack, spawns a DGIV.  I set the container mass at 23000 kg in the
config file to represent a DGIV with full tanks.  Everything worked fine until I tried loading it into the arrow via the
browse and add cargo on the cargo MFD of the arrow.  First of all, when I browsed to the cargo I made on the arrow
MFD, the arrow cargo mfd showed a weight for the container at 10000kg.  Although the container was configured to
weigh 23000 kg.   I tried loading it onto the arrow, but the MFD said that the ship was full, even though I had
emptied all the cargo before trying to load the DGIV in a box.  I then tried to load it onto the forklift and it would not
load because the Hud on the forklift stated the forklift was full..  I also tried to load it onto the DGIV, but the load
manager also said the ship was full and it wouldn't load.



Reproduce bug

Change the config file for any UCGO cargo container to anything over 10000kg and try loading it onto the arrow or
any other vessles.


Miscallenous

I read the UCGO SDK and looked at the functions and found one that sets the max weight an UCGO vessel can carry.  
The SDK says that the default max weight is 1,000,000 kg or 1000 metric tons for all the cargo on the vessel.  But I
could not find a function that sets the max weight of a single UCGO cargo per vessel.  

I'm not sure if the arrow has a maximum cargo load of 10000 kg as set by the module, or if there is a maximum
weight per cargo coded into the SDK or if this is a bug...


Offline Dambuster

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 39
  • Karma: 0
Reply #26 - 13 January 2010, 22:24:06
Quote
DanSteph wrote:
Quote
Dambuster a écrit:

UCGO BUG

Bug with:

Arrow/UMMU/XR-2
Short description:

EVA transfer oddities


Severity

minor

-Can you try with another name than UCGO_-_XR2 ?
-Can you try to reproduce this bug with the DGIV-2 ?

Thanks

Dan

Ok...with the XR2:  I managed to replicate it using the name 'XR2 - UCGO', however not with one called 'XR2', 'bXR2A'
or 'XR-2'.  When I could recreate it, the name of the invisible UMMU changed depending on the name of the vessel I
was transferring it to.  However, I noticed that when transferring UMMUs from the Arrow to the XR2 (this one was
creatively called 'XR2', Orbiter froze for a second or two each time I hit the 'transfer' button.  One time when I pressed
it fast enough, I wound up with multiple invisible-mesh UMMUs, 'with the names following the same pattern as the
ones above (this time with the name 'XR2' in them).

Update: I just managed to make this happen with a vessel named 'XR2', however the XR2 in question was this time
decompressed, hypoxia'd, and emptied :)- this was during the same scenario as the one where I caused the invisible
UMMUs with Orbiter's freezing.


As for the DGIV-2, I was not able to recreate this as it wouldn't let me transfer crew back into a ship with a damaged
airlock :) (however I'm not convinced there isn't a way to do it with the DGIV-2, I'm afraid I don't have the time to look
for one right now though).



Post Edited ( 01-13-10 22:24 )


Offline Tefal

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 96
  • Karma: 0
Reply #27 - 13 January 2010, 22:59:02
The SEL button bug did not surface again today. Strange.


Offline anemazoso

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: 0
Reply #28 - 14 January 2010, 04:54:34
Question. :wonder:

How does one change the Ummu mesh to female? I went through the docs and found nothing.  If this info is being held back for
final release I understand. Just wanted to know because both end users and developers will want to know.

Thanks,
Chad



Offline jgrillo2002

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
  • Country: United States us
  • Karma: 5
Reply #29 - 14 January 2010, 05:05:16

UCGO BUG


Bug with:

UMMU, UCGO Vehicles


Short description:

server bouncing of vessels while on ground and moving


Severity

Serious


Complete description

All Vessels such as cars, mmus , etc all bounce very severely with the slightest movement. it makes an unplayable experience


Reproduce bug

Set date to 2081


Miscallenous

not sure why this is happening but from what I heard it might be due to the formula of predictions of planet positions on orbiter



Post Edited ( 01-14-10 05:28 )


Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #30 - 14 January 2010, 09:56:56
Quote
jgrillo2002 a écrit:
Reproduce bug

Set date to 2081


Miscallenous

not sure why this is happening but from what I heard it might be due to the formula of predictions of planet positions on
orbiter

Yes, unfortunately this is an orbiter bug, this is why all scenario date are at 2001
which is near the "ref" date I think.

I submited this bug to martin but I'm not sure it will be cleared for 2010:
http://www.orbiter-forum.com/project.php?issueid=200

Dan


Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #31 - 14 January 2010, 10:11:54
Quote
cinder1992 a écrit:
Complete description

Ok, I was on the moon with a auto-deploy probe, and accidently relesed my other probe from arrow whilst making a base, 15
seconds later, orbiter had a hissy fit and CTD'd.

Unable to reproduce. Can you reproduce it and tell me how you do exactly and
post the scenario ?

thanks

Dan


Offline cinder1992

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
Reply #32 - 14 January 2010, 10:23:06
alright, just let me attempt to re-create it. the scenario was sort of lost in the blue.


Offline Tefal

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 96
  • Karma: 0
Reply #33 - 14 January 2010, 10:25:46

UCGO BUG


Bug with:

Cars


Short description:

Cars stuck when time acceleration on


Severity

Change request (pretty please? :D)


Complete description

Cars freeze when the time factor is set to higher than 1x. While understandable, it'd be nice if they would still be able to
run at 10x to speed up loading, unloading, refueling and transportation over medium/large distances (think Ascension Island)...

Of course, there might be a very good reason why you locked them at anything higher than 1x...

Miscellaneous

Sorry Dan, I know this must sound like I'm ungrateful, but if you're going to release the thing and dive into FSP thereafter,
I'd better try to get my not-so-humble wish fulfilled before that. Otherwise I will really have to disassemble the DLL and
modify the check in assembly ;)



Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #34 - 14 January 2010, 10:42:01
Quote
Tefal a écrit:
Short description:
Cars stuck when time acceleration on

Sorry Cars acceleration might cause all sort of problem and is not in my view of "realism"
acceleration might be good for vessel while trips are very long but for cars it would just
look as a funny cartoon.

Last I can spend the next 2 month trying to fulfill all user's view of "cool"
changes or features but I'm really out of time yet. ;)

Appart criticals bug I'll release the things as it is.

Dan



Message modifié ( 14-01-2010 11:34 )


Offline Tefal

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 96
  • Karma: 0
Reply #35 - 14 January 2010, 11:07:27
Quote
DanSteph wrote:

Sorry Cars acceleration might cause all sort of problem and is not in my view of "realism"
acceleration might be good for vessel while trips are very long but for cars it would just
look as a funny cartoon.

Last I can spend the next 2 month trying to fulfill all user's view of "cool"
change or feature as I'm really out of time yet.

Appart criticals bug I'll release the things as it is.

Dan

No problem - it's your add-on after all, you decide. Well, I tried. :siffle:


Offline gattico

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 337
  • Country: United States us
  • Karma: 15
Reply #36 - 14 January 2010, 14:47:16
I think on his you have to select the mesh.  There is not a male & female mesh for each suit.  I suppose one could make one
and just name the mesh Fsceintist,...

The female non suit meshs are UMmuSCIX02X &  UMmuTECHX02X.
Quote
anemazoso wrote:
Question. :wonder:

How does one change the Ummu mesh to female? I went through the docs and found nothing.  If this info is being held back for
final release I understand. Just wanted to know because both end users and developers will want to know.

Thanks,
Chad




Post Edited ( 01-14-10 15:14 )


Offline Dambuster

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 39
  • Karma: 0
Reply #37 - 14 January 2010, 15:00:47
I was just thinking about what I posted earlier about the UMMUs, and when transferring UMMUs between the Arrow and
other vehicles I noticed that in the menu you use to change vessel focus (F3), when you transfer a UMMU you see a
name pop up in the list for a split second, and then vanish.  Is it possible that the bug I reported is just this UMMU in the
process of transferring getting stuck?


Offline Logifech

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: 0
Reply #38 - 14 January 2010, 15:53:03
Hey Dan What Cars and Cargos are in The Full Version Include?
and can you make Flashlight on The Ummu it's better when the Ummus are working at night??


Offline Tefal

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 96
  • Karma: 0
Reply #39 - 14 January 2010, 15:58:39
Quote
Logifech wrote:
Hey Dan What Cars and Cargos are in The Full Version Include?
and can you make Flashlight on The Ummu it's better when the Ummus are working at night??

AFAIK, lighting from a source other than the Sun is not supported by Orbiter yet, although it has been implemented as some
kind of demo hack before...



Offline sunshine135

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 547
  • Country: United States us
  • Karma: 3
  • I fly by the seat of my pants!
Reply #40 - 14 January 2010, 15:59:02
Quote
gattico wrote:
I think on his you have to select the mesh.  There is not a male & female mesh for each suit.  I suppose one could make one
and just name the mesh Fsceintist,...

The female non suit meshs are UMmuSCIX02X &  UMmuTECHX02X.
Quote
anemazoso wrote:
Question. :wonder:

How does one change the Ummu mesh to female? I went through the docs and found nothing.  If this info is being held back for
final release I understand. Just wanted to know because both end users and developers will want to know.

Thanks,
Chad



Sex Change Operation!  :lol:

You can also create your own meshes ;)


"Sun Dog"

Offline anemazoso

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: 0
Reply #41 - 14 January 2010, 18:03:55
Quote
gattico wrote:
I think on his you have to select the mesh.  There is not a male & female mesh for each suit.  I suppose one could make one
and just name the mesh Fsceintist,...

The female non suit meshs are UMmuSCIX02X &  UMmuTECHX02X.

Thank you sir. That worked :)


Offline jgrillo2002

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
  • Country: United States us
  • Karma: 5
Reply #42 - 14 January 2010, 19:06:14
Quote
DanSteph wrote:
Quote
jgrillo2002 a écrit:
Reproduce bug

Set date to 2081


Miscallenous

not sure why this is happening but from what I heard it might be due to the formula of predictions of planet positions on
orbiter

Yes, unfortunately this is an orbiter bug, this is why all scenario date are at 2001
which is near the "ref" date I think.

I submited this bug to martin but I'm not sure it will be cleared for 2010:
http://www.orbiter-forum.com/project.php?issueid=200

Dan
Just read it. ant its  a pain in the ass to always use 2001 as a fix. I really hope martin makes a fix for this
version along with the 2010 version



Offline jgrillo2002

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
  • Country: United States us
  • Karma: 5
Reply #43 - 14 January 2010, 19:23:22
----------------------------------------------------------------------
COPY ALL TEXT BELOW, REPLACE "()" BY YOUR TEXT AND POST IN BETA THREAD
----------------------------------------------------------------------



UCGO BUG


Bug with:

Waypoint Editor and at the guide for Waypoint Editor


Short description:

This should be "AI"




This should be "AI to test"


Severity

typo


Complete description

Some typos that need to be fixed


Reproduce bug

Go to waypoint editor and help of the waypoint editor

Miscallenous
I would suggest others to look around for typos



Offline TonyZ2525

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
Reply #44 - 14 January 2010, 19:29:33
HI Dan
First i would like to say Thanks for the Great New System.This will Change Orbiter At least as much As Vinka's Spacecraft 3
does.Your Effort is Really appreciated.....I only have one problem and that is the same one that vonneuman stated in post
number 1208 on the Orbit-Hanger Forum .I also find the control setup VERY akward and difficult with the steering and
acceleration keys seperated.I am sure that many people like me grew up in the gaming world using the mouse and
keyboard for control and are accustomed to using one hand for movement and the other for looking around with the
mouse.Having to use both hands on the keyboard to drive does not allow for using the mouse to look around while driving
and takes away from a lot of the immersion of the experience.Especially for later when there will hopefully be many more
buildings and roads to look as other people start building worlds and cities of their own.Would it be very difficult to just add
the accleration and brake keys to the keypad 8 and 2 as well as the arrow keys for control.this would give many people a
much more enjoyable and natural feeling driving experience and would leave the other hand free for other controls or the
mouse.Thank you for your patience and all your efforts so far and i hope all is well both with you and your family for the
coming year.

Thanks again
TonyZ2525


Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #45 - 14 January 2010, 20:00:53
Well, you have a point with "gamer" but mine is as follow:

Real gamer have a joystick usually and controlling cars with I/O keypress
is missing all the smoothness of a progressive control. ;)

Using joystick you can brake/turn/accelerate with much more progressiveness
and you'd still one hand free for mouse.

I would agree to change controls howewer but yet it's too late.
Every change in code this late is dangerous I may introduce odd bug/miss a doc
update or file while repacking and last and not least I'm sure everyone have at least
2-3 things that he would like to be changed in UCGO. So if I put my finger
in "minor" change I will still be here the next two month and I can't do that,
my customers would hang me.

Thanks for posting anyway.

Dan


Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #46 - 14 January 2010, 23:03:26
Quote
Tefal a écrit:
Short description:
RCS thrusters visible on humans (suitless UMMUs) when an autopilot is active

Mhhh... thanks for this report, howewer I'll leave as it is for several reason, some mentionned above.
Other being that if I disable thruster with flightsuit on base with low gravity humain might be uncontrollable.
(as you can't walk on ground)... so better not to add a bug to solve an annoyment.

Dan


Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #47 - 14 January 2010, 23:05:42
Quote
Buzz313th a écrit:
Short description:

Any cargo container over 10000 kg won't load onto Arrow or forklift

As said in PM this is the upper limit, one can't put 10 ton in 1 meter cube.
If you really want to cheat with huge base packed in small cargo just
put a low weight. Result is the same and more vessel could carry it.

Dan


Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #48 - 14 January 2010, 23:09:13
Quote
Logifech a écrit:
Hey Dan What Cars and Cargos are in The Full Version Include?
and can you make Flashlight on The Ummu it's better when the Ummus are working at night??

You have almost the full version already. ;)

Dan


Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #49 - 14 January 2010, 23:12:09
Quote
jgrillo2002 a écrit:
Bug with:

Waypoint Editor and at the guide for Waypoint Editor
This should be "AI to test"


Severity

typo

Typo solved in doc but not in DLL , I preffer to not recompile when it's not stricly necessary.

Best

Dan