See site in english Voir le site en francais
Website skin:
home  download  forum  link  contact

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: [closed] UCGO beta test ver 091209  (Read 33593 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline sunshine135

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 547
  • Country: United States us
  • Karma: 3
  • I fly by the seat of my pants!
Reply #25 - 09 December 2009, 20:31:52
Dan,

I have confirmed that all of my bugs are corrected. BTW I loved the turbochutting with the UCGO cargo, but I left him riding
the cargo and now I'm sad to report that Peter Dawson is dead!

:sad:


"Sun Dog"

Offline insanity

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
  • Karma: 0
Reply #26 - 09 December 2009, 20:39:35
Try turbo-shooting and then deploying the cargo. I've never seen so many tables with parachutes.



Offline sunshine135

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 547
  • Country: United States us
  • Karma: 3
  • I fly by the seat of my pants!
Reply #27 - 09 December 2009, 20:44:51

UCGO BUG


Bug with:

Arrow Freighter and Ships with a modified (2D or Virtual) Cockpit


Short description:

Any ship with a modified cockpit attempting to dock to the Arrow will change to the Orbit Hud if F8 is pressed.


Severity

Minor


Complete description

If you are about to dock or docking to the arrow and your ship has a 2D or Virtual cockpit, pressing F8 changes the hud type
back to Orbit. This is annoying when docking and trying to get a better view.


Reproduce bug

Dock any type of ship that has a virtual or 2D cockpit (Delta Glider, DGIV) to the Arrow and switch between the cockpits
using F8.


Miscallenous

Someone described this in the last thread as an Orbiter bug. When I tested the autodock scenario to the ISS, this bug did not
happen. It happens consistently with Arrow though. If this is going to be tacked up as an Orbiter bug, so be it, but it
should be listed under known issues in the Change Log. I can almost guarantee someone will complain about this when UCGO goes
out of beta.


"Sun Dog"

Offline the.punk

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 80
  • Karma: 0
Reply #28 - 09 December 2009, 20:49:59
Quote
JackJL wrote:

UCGO BUG


Bug with:

Cars


Short description:

Vehicle specific help not showing


Severity

Minor


Complete description

No vehicle specific help is shown when pressing 'h' in cars which have files for vessel specific help. In the AuthorNote
folder inside Meshes several txt files are defined. According to the readme there, these should be shown in car, when
pressing H.

Tested with all the cars which should have it (Azure, Chrysler, Landspeeder, Flatbed and fuel.


Reproduce bug

Open scenario "Drive all cars". Enter one of the cars mentioned above. Pressing h only shows default help.


Miscallenous

Tried Shift-H which does nothing

Hmm. The custom help also doesn't show up form me. Though I think I have seen the special help in the last beta.




Offline Murdock

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 44
  • Country: Italy it
  • Karma: 0
Reply #29 - 09 December 2009, 21:11:35
Quote
Murdock wrote:
Quote
DanSteph wrote:
Quote
Murdock wrote:
Bug with:
cars
Short description:
No car mesh
Severity
unable to determine



Wow !

-Try to disable any other modules that will get ride of eventual third party problem.
-Did you used the installer or any other way (copy/JSGME)
-Do you use custom scenario ?
-What's your install path and OS ? (Vista , XP ?)

There is no logic in this one, if Orbiter can't find a mesh it CTD usually. If you can select
cars it mean that the module is correct and meshes are loaded. So !!????
An OS or Gfx card problem  ? but why Arrow & other display ok !???

Can you also post the orbiter.log ?

Dan

Enabled modules: OrbiterSound, Rcontrol, ScnEditor, transx.
Video card detected by Orbiter: Direct3D HAL (intel(R) 82852/82855 GM/GME Graphics Controller).
Resolution: 1024x768 16bpp (I know it's shity but it's an old laptop).:sad:
Standard Installer used.
Cars don't work in any scenario but I used only the UCGO package ones.
Install path: C:\Documents and Settings\VIRGILIO\Desktop\BETA.
OS: WIN XP PRO SP2.

I include orbiter.log and orbitersound_log

**** Orbiter.log
Build Sep 29 2006 [v.060929]
Devices enumerated: 4
Devices accepted: 3
==> RGB Emulation
==> Direct3D HAL
==> Direct3D HAL (Intel(R) 82852/82855 GM/GME Graphics Controller)
Found 0 joystick(s)
Module DGConfig.dll [API v.060425]
Module AtlantisConfig.dll [API v.060425]
Module Rcontrol.dll [API v.050206]
Module ScnEditor.dll [API v.060425]
Module OrbiterSound.dll [API v.060425]

OrbiterSound 3.5 ver. May 13 2007  Log Started
***********************************************

Vessel AR01 requested an ID, returned= 0 OK
attempting focus change...
Focus not ready bypassing focus change - Ok
Attempting RenderViewport initialisation...
Attempting GetStartValue initialisation...
Passed GetStartValue - Ok
Initialising directsound...
directsound initialised - OK
Passed RenderViewport - Ok
Attempting Mp3 initialisation...
MP3 found in playlist =  1
Mp3 initialised - Ok
Focus changed attempting to load vessel wave
Focus changed load vessel wave - OK
attempting focus change...
Attempting GetStartValue initialisation...
Passed GetStartValue - Ok
Focus changed attempting to load vessel wave
Focus changed load vessel wave - OK
focus changed - Ok
Attempting to close viewport...
Attempting to kill DirectSound...
DirectSound killed - OK
Passed CloseRenderViewport - Ok
Exited to Orbiter Launchpad - OK

Passed ExitModule - Ok
Passed initModule - Ok
Passed ExitModule - Ok
Passed initModule - Ok
Passed ExitModule - Ok
Passed initModule - Ok
Passed ExitModule - Ok

The only thing I can think is that I used a brand new install with only Orbiter and Orbitersound 3.5

NO DGIV or UMMU was installed before UCGO.
I don't know if this might be an issue. :wonder:

I will try a new install with DGIV first

By the way, tomorrow I'm supposed to fly a French aircraft:

   ** MIRAGE 2000 **   :up:

Dan,
I posted this on previous thread but you anticipated me with a new version.
I will install it on a new orbiter installation with DGIV on it and see what happen.
Sorry, I was supposed to do it today but I couldn't do it for a VERY GOOD REASON.
Tomorrow I'll send you some pictures of the MIRAGE 2000 and myself at FL 250!!
:up:



Offline JackJL

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 22
  • Karma: 0
Reply #30 - 09 December 2009, 21:42:28
Feature Report :)

UCGO cars can have docking ports defined! Just put a DOCKLIST in the config file as normal. I have tried defining 2 ports.

When docked with dock 1, UMMU functions are taken over with the dock - I.E. it will transfer crew to/from a DGIV.
UMMUs cannot be transfered from the car out of dock 2 to a DGIV, but they will be accepted in.

This allows a dockable space station module that will EVA UMMU's (definable within the vehicle). And can also store UCGO cargo.

A further pet idea I've had with this is a re-entry lifeboat. It consists of a car, capable of carrying a couple of cargoes
and some UMMU's. This has 2 docks. Another vessel would have 1 dock, rockets and a big heatshield. This would be docked to
dock2 of the car. Dock 1 of the car would be docked to the ISS (or wherever).

In the event of an emergency the UMMU's could board the car, load some survival supplies in the cargo (inflatable hab etc.).
They would undock, use the other vessel's engines to deorbit and fall through re-entry. They would then undock and jettison
the cargo, then bail out themselves. They could gather on the ground, set up a base and await rescue!


Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #31 - 10 December 2009, 00:23:31
Ok great ! while one test all the extreme things like pushing a baby stroller with solid powder booster the other try every
strange idea he can. :ptdr:

The perfect beta team :top:

Without joke I love when peoples push things beyond what they where intended for. This is a bit what I do with Orbiter
(I was the first to do nuclear explosion in Virtual Sailor simulator) and this is what you are doing with UCGO.


Quote
JackJL a écrit:
In the event of an emergency the UMMU's could board the car, load some survival supplies in the cargo (inflatable hab etc.).
They would undock, use the other vessel's engines to deorbit and fall through re-entry. They would then undock and jettison
the cargo, then bail out themselves. They could gather on the ground, set up a base and await rescue!

Hey great idea, I think I'll also add a rescue inflatable boat/car...
To be jettisoned over bailout area on sea. UMmu could board it and drive it.

I'll see if I have time for this..

Dan


Offline Nemoricus

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 39
  • Karma: 0
Reply #32 - 10 December 2009, 00:42:27
It would need a parachute. Do you think that you can make it so that any car can be outfitted with a parachute? If it's too
much to do right now, feel free to disregard.


Offline Nemoricus

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 39
  • Karma: 0
Reply #33 - 10 December 2009, 01:16:15
Dan, the ISOTAP needs more emergency thrust. I edited away Earth's atmosphere, flicked an ISOTAP at nearly escape velocity at it, and watched the results. It smacked into the Earth twice. Hard. The first time it bounced off at somewhat lower but still high velocity. Then it adjusted its orbit and hit again, this time tumbling for a good distance before coming to a stop.

Also, the ISOTAP needs to allow the user to use time acceleration above 100x under certain circumstances. I released the ISOTAP at just under 150 Mm up and it took quite some time to reach Earth under 100x.

Also, a countdown for payloads that autorelease would be a good thing.



Post Edited ( 12-10-09 01:20 )


Offline Nemoricus

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 39
  • Karma: 0
Reply #34 - 10 December 2009, 01:25:51
Dan, what exactly does the "not landed" unpack condition do for Cargo? I'm going to have to check it out.

It and the "Landed" condition appear to do nothing. What are they supposed to do?

Also, if you hit Alt-X repeatedly in a UMmu, the analyzing message will play over itself.



Post Edited ( 12-10-09 01:38 )


Offline reekchaa

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 649
  • Country: United States us
  • Karma: 2
Reply #35 - 10 December 2009, 01:51:47
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
UCGO BUG
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bug with:

Arrow freighter - VC room

Short description:

Double-Take (visual hiccup) when looking out window, then moving LEFT or RIGHT

Severity

minor detail

Reproduce bug

Load: Features/Mother ship - Arrow Freighter 18
Do not touch mouse... Right from virtual cockpit, Hit CTRL+ALT+UP to watch move to view window. Once at window, hit
CTRL+ALT+LEFT or CTRL+ALT+RIGHT and see a Double-Take 'hiccup' in the animation (repeated turn) before view
returns to captains chair. Changing views mid-anim to the window has no repeating hiccup.
* The Hole in Hull is patched, but animation double-take still persists. *

Miscallenous

no biggie... just a stutter/hiccup.

~ the Reekchaa

Offline Nemoricus

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 39
  • Karma: 0
Reply #36 - 10 December 2009, 01:56:29
UMMU BUG


Bug with:

Grabbing items onto a UMmu's back.


Short description:

UMmu's can't grab items onto their back if the item is further than 1m from them. It says that you only need to be within
three meters of the item you're grabbing.


Severity

Minor


Reproduce bug

Take any UMmu and approach an item. Attempt to grab it onto the UMmu's back. You can't do it until you're within 1m.


Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #37 - 10 December 2009, 06:36:39
Oh oh oh ...

Drivable With VC and sea ambient sound :lol:










Dan



Post Edited ( 12-10-09 06:36 )


Offline JackJL

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 22
  • Karma: 0
Reply #38 - 10 December 2009, 08:28:32
That's a great boat! Just be sure to jettison the beer on re-entry also :)

EDIT: Just noticed the subtitle on the boat picture :lol:



Post Edited ( 12-10-09 09:56 )


Offline alrik

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • Karma: 0
Reply #39 - 10 December 2009, 08:38:17
Hehehe good boat, i can't wait to start testing on the next beta the whole thing :)


Offline the.punk

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 80
  • Karma: 0
Reply #40 - 10 December 2009, 12:37:36
That's nice. If it's in the packed cargo mode can you drive i when unpacked?




Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #41 - 10 December 2009, 13:58:37
Quote
the.punk a écrit:
That's nice. If it's in the packed cargo mode can you drive i when unpacked?

Sure...

Dan


Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #42 - 10 December 2009, 14:06:22
Quote
Nemoricus a écrit:
Dan, what exactly does the "not landed" unpack condition do for Cargo? I'm going to have to check it out.
It and the "Landed" condition appear to do nothing. What are they supposed to do?
Also, if you hit Alt-X repeatedly in a UMmu, the analyzing message will play over itself.

It mean that the countdown for unpack would only run
1= if landed
2= if free flight

So you can have a cargo as rescue boat that would chute until ground then only unpack, or another one as the probe that would
only unpack if not on ground.

Dan


Offline Garyw

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 0
Reply #43 - 10 December 2009, 14:52:50
I've already added a boat to test out the ucgo configs and it works well and is so simple even I got it right first go!

Love the inflatable idea!!


Offline JackJL

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 22
  • Karma: 0
Reply #44 - 10 December 2009, 14:58:23
Further to the re-entry lifeboat idea, I've made a couple of test meshes - Pictures here
http://www.orbiter-forum.com/album.php?albumid=246

Can hold 6 people & 2 cargoes. I would recommend packing a boat & transponder, unless it's James Bond and his girl du jour.
The I recommend a lifeboat and champagne!



Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #45 - 10 December 2009, 15:07:46
Quote
sunshine135 a écrit:

UCGO BUG
Bug with:

Arrow Freighter and Ships with a modified (2D or Virtual) Cockpit


Short description:

Any ship with a modified cockpit attempting to dock to the Arrow will change to the Orbit Hud if F8 is pressed.

Sorry I'm lost with this one. I think there is a problem but I'm new to VC and It seem to me that Orbiter doesn't
save VC/cockpit setting per vessel basis.

Open DG Mk4 in orbit.scn (stock dg) switch to VC with F8, switch to ISS then back-> Bam ! Orbit Hud.

Any thought ?

Dan


Offline sunshine135

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 547
  • Country: United States us
  • Karma: 3
  • I fly by the seat of my pants!
Reply #46 - 10 December 2009, 15:52:38
Quote
DanSteph wrote:
Quote
sunshine135 a écrit:

UCGO BUG
Bug with:

Arrow Freighter and Ships with a modified (2D or Virtual) Cockpit


Short description:

Any ship with a modified cockpit attempting to dock to the Arrow will change to the Orbit Hud if F8 is pressed.

Sorry I'm lost with this one. I think there is a problem but I'm new to VC and It seem to me that Orbiter doesn't
save VC/cockpit setting per vessel basis.

Open DG Mk4 in orbit.scn (stock dg) switch to VC with F8, switch to ISS then back-&gt Bam ! Orbit Hud.

Any thought ?

Dan


Interesting. On that scenario, I did not have an issue with the HUD sticking in Orbit HUD mode in the Mk4 scenario. I too am
at a loss. Since you are experiencing that happening, then I would say we are troubleshooting what is more likely to be an
Orbiter problem versus a UCGO problem. Perhaps it is happenstance that it is only happening to me when trying to dock to the
Arrow.


"Sun Dog"

Offline the.punk

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 80
  • Karma: 0
Reply #47 - 10 December 2009, 16:00:53
Quote
DanSteph wrote:
Quote
sunshine135 a écrit:

UCGO BUG
Bug with:

Arrow Freighter and Ships with a modified (2D or Virtual) Cockpit


Short description:

Any ship with a modified cockpit attempting to dock to the Arrow will change to the Orbit Hud if F8 is pressed.

Sorry I'm lost with this one. I think there is a problem but I'm new to VC and It seem to me that Orbiter doesn't
save VC/cockpit setting per vessel basis.

Open DG Mk4 in orbit.scn (stock dg) switch to VC with F8, switch to ISS then back-&gt Bam ! Orbit Hud.

Any thought ?

Dan

I also can't dublicate this problem with orbit hud. Not with UCGO and not in a stock scenario. it could be an orbiter
bug...




Offline sunshine135

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 547
  • Country: United States us
  • Karma: 3
  • I fly by the seat of my pants!
Reply #48 - 10 December 2009, 16:02:21
Quote
Nemoricus wrote:
Dan, the ISOTAP needs more emergency thrust. I edited away Earth's atmosphere, flicked an ISOTAP at nearly escape velocity at
it, and watched the results. It smacked into the Earth twice. Hard. The first time it bounced off at somewhat lower but still
high velocity. Then it adjusted its orbit and hit again, this time tumbling for a good distance before coming to a stop.

Also, the ISOTAP needs to allow the user to use time acceleration above 100x under certain circumstances. I released the
ISOTAP at just under 150 Mm up and it took quite some time to reach Earth under 100x.

Also, a countdown for payloads that autorelease would be a good thing.


Something disturbs me about this one Dan. I went into a 50M X 500M km elliptical Orbit around Jupiter and wanted to test
launching the probe into the atmosphere of Jupiter. I launched The AP performed well into the deorbit burn, but the "idiot"
freaked out when the Apa and Pea distances became the same. After that, the probe just sort of tumbled between 46M and 44M km.

I feel for the ISOTAP. I think sometimes he tries to do too many things for too many people. I can identify with that
:badsmile:


"Sun Dog"

Offline Fox-Terrier

  • League of
  • Legend
  • ******
  • Posts: 1426
  • Country: Switzerland ch
  • Karma: 28
  • :D
Reply #49 - 10 December 2009, 17:09:40
a small bug :
oxygen cargo doesn't have it's image for the scenario editor

nice idea the boat ! will it do nuclear explosions ? :lol: