See site in english Voir le site en francais
Website skin:
home  download  forum  link  contact

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: [closed] UCGO beta test ver 091209  (Read 33594 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
09 December 2009, 07:54:10
Welcome to UCGO beta test ver 091209


1-This thread is only for registered beta tester feedback, all other post will be deleted.
2-If you want to register for beta testing see below "Register for beta testing"


Current version test special instructions

Please review the changelog.txt, check "your" bug and what was changed
test and repost bugs or remark that where not taken in account.

Changelog:
http://www.dansteph.com/publie/ChangeLog.txt


Bug reporting form

Please use the text form in the link below to report bugs: It's important !
http://www.dansteph.com/publie/beta_form.txt

Please follow "your" bug and once cleared (probably with a new version) check and
confirm in beta test thread that the bug is gone. It may be a good idea to keep a
list of "your" bugs.



Feedback

Feedback are importants, please be verbous, precise, don't hesitate to write what you
think or post anything you want about beta. I'm working 12h/24h on code so sometime
I may forget the big picture. Use the form above for bugs. Keep me informed of any status
change if you can't test anymore for example.

Never forget that the final quality of addons depend enterely of YOUR TESTS.

Much thanks for your help :beer:


Registering for beta testing

Team is complete yet sorry... maybe later ?
(appart if you are an Orbiter VIP of course, if it's the case then pm me)



Much thanks !

Dan


Offline JackJL

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 22
  • Karma: 0
Reply #1 - 09 December 2009, 14:52:18

UCGO BUG


Bug with:

UMMU, Turbopack, Cargo


Short description:

Parachute deployed on cargo whilst grappled by turbopacking UMMU

Severity

Detail


Complete description

Once a cargo (I tried a box of tables) has parachuted once. If grappled by a UMMU with a turbopack, when the turbopack is
ascending the parachute of the cargo will appear. The cargo will behave normally if released.


Reproduce bug

On earth, grapple a box of tables and use the turbopack to drop them from altitude. The chute will deploy normally. Land your
UMMU and grapple the box up again, using the hover autopilot set a high upward speed. The drouge chute of the cargo will
deploy whilst ascending. If you set to hover or descend the main chute will deploy


Miscallenous

It doesn't appear to affect the flight characteristics at all, just the visual appearance

EDIT: On restarting a scenario with a UMMU flying with hover autopilot, whilst grappling cargo. UMMU rotates to the right, can be countered with RCS engines, but turn is persistent. Dropping the cargo stops the rotating force



Post Edited ( 12-09-09 14:59 )


Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #2 - 09 December 2009, 14:56:56
I didn't thought it was possible to turbolift one cargo :)

Much thanks, I'll see that.

Dan


Offline Fox-Terrier

  • League of
  • Legend
  • ******
  • Posts: 1426
  • Country: Switzerland ch
  • Karma: 28
  • :D
Reply #3 - 09 December 2009, 16:58:22
what use can we do of a gas station on earth, since these cars don't have fuel tanks ?



Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #4 - 09 December 2009, 17:00:52
I must change the station image, cars don't have tank yet (ucgo 3.0?) but if you hit "get o2 or fuel from station" in arrow
when near this gas station your tank will be refueled.

I should still do the "space station" this one will be usefull, you can send it in europa orbit then refuel there for your
return trip.

Dan


Offline sunshine135

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 547
  • Country: United States us
  • Karma: 3
  • I fly by the seat of my pants!
Reply #5 - 09 December 2009, 17:05:00
Quote
DanSteph wrote:
I should still do the "space station" this one will be usefull, you can send it in europa orbit then refuel there
for your
return trip.

I agree Dan. An on Orbit refuel station would be wonderful for Europa. It would make a nice "midpoint" refuel stop for going
to the rest of the outer planets also. Maybe a fuel/ pleasure station!

:D


"Sun Dog"

Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #6 - 09 December 2009, 17:08:46
For yet it will be only huge tank + solar panel and two dock (for DGIV or other vessel refuelling)
Notice such station like cargo don't need any programming, just a mesh and a special parameter
in config file.

I started doing it 15 day ago but the result was very bad so I'll restart from scratch.

Dan


Offline Fox-Terrier

  • League of
  • Legend
  • ******
  • Posts: 1426
  • Country: Switzerland ch
  • Karma: 28
  • :D
Reply #7 - 09 December 2009, 17:09:49
could you add a warning message : LOW FUEL or something like this please ?



Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #8 - 09 December 2009, 17:13:59
Quote
Fox-Terrier a écrit:
could you add a warning message : LOW FUEL or something like this please ?

Sorry no, I can't do it roughly the code might be complex with a button reset warning and do it also for o2 etc etc...
Maybe for Arrow's 3.0 version but yet I should cut in features there is still a lot of work and I'm short in time
(Ummu mesh, more ucgo mesh, sdk doc, cars doc etc)

Dan


Offline Fox-Terrier

  • League of
  • Legend
  • ******
  • Posts: 1426
  • Country: Switzerland ch
  • Karma: 28
  • :D
Reply #9 - 09 December 2009, 17:25:48
Quote
DanSteph a écrit:
I must change the station image, cars don't have tank yet (ucgo 3.0?) but if you hit "get o2 or fuel from station"
in arrow
when near this gas station your tank will be refueled.

I should still do the "space station" this one will be usefull, you can send it in europa orbit then refuel there
for your
return trip.

Dan

that would be nice !



Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #10 - 09 December 2009, 17:39:33
Quote
JackJL a écrit:
Short description:

Parachute deployed on cargo whilst grappled by turbopacking UMMU


Droping cargo with UMmu is TOOO fun :lol:
Good idea jack, I'm sure other will have this idea and the chute deploying in any case was a bug.

Bug cleared for next beta version.
Now the chute will open only below 2500m IF the vertical speed is lower than -6 m/s

Dan


Offline the.punk

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 80
  • Karma: 0
Reply #11 - 09 December 2009, 18:01:24
Ok. I tested the landspeeder again. And with 90 engine power I need about 4 sec for 100 km/h. And with 500 engine
power I jump to 100km/h. It lookes like my bug is fixed. :)




Offline JackJL

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 22
  • Karma: 0
Reply #12 - 09 December 2009, 18:18:30
That's great dan, I think a cargo that transforms into a flock of paper planes is in order!

Also, I don't know if this is a bug or a feature, UMMU's with turbopacks are now a lot slower than before.


Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #13 - 09 December 2009, 18:46:50
Thanks for feedback Mr Punk ;)
Jack: it's a feature, the weight of carried things slow down the UMmu.

Dan


Offline the.punk

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 80
  • Karma: 0
Reply #14 - 09 December 2009, 18:51:29
Dan: Is the speed limited to 500 km/h?




Offline Fox-Terrier

  • League of
  • Legend
  • ******
  • Posts: 1426
  • Country: Switzerland ch
  • Karma: 28
  • :D
Reply #15 - 09 December 2009, 18:57:52
my bug has disappeared too ! thanks

Quote
the.punk
Dan: Is the speed limited to 500 km/h?

do you want a car or a vessel ? :damn:



Offline the.punk

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 80
  • Karma: 0
Reply #16 - 09 December 2009, 19:08:29
Quote
Quote
the.punk
Dan: Is the speed limited to 500 km/h?

do you want a car or a vessel ? :damn:


I know 500 is enough but I just want to know if this is the speed limit.




Offline insanity

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
  • Karma: 0
Reply #17 - 09 December 2009, 19:14:55
all of my bugs seem clear. Nice job on the AI reverse.



Offline JackJL

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 22
  • Karma: 0
Reply #18 - 09 December 2009, 19:26:53

UCGO BUG


Bug with:

Cars


Short description:

Vehicle specific help not showing


Severity

Minor


Complete description

No vehicle specific help is shown when pressing 'h' in cars which have files for vessel specific help. In the AuthorNote
folder inside Meshes several txt files are defined. According to the readme there, these should be shown in car, when pressing H.

Tested with all the cars which should have it (Azure, Chrysler, Landspeeder, Flatbed and fuel.


Reproduce bug

Open scenario "Drive all cars". Enter one of the cars mentioned above. Pressing h only shows default help.


Miscallenous

Tried Shift-H which does nothing


Offline Fox-Terrier

  • League of
  • Legend
  • ******
  • Posts: 1426
  • Country: Switzerland ch
  • Karma: 28
  • :D
Reply #19 - 09 December 2009, 19:46:02
perhaps he hasn't finished yet ...
but why would you need a specific help ? the keys don't change, there are just some specifications like a radar
animation on azure, an animation on fueltruck, a certain number of cargo place etc.

plus, it is "easy" to make a new car. no codes. imagine if the author has to give a specific help that appears on the screen
like Dan's help, it would be much more complex.



Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #20 - 09 December 2009, 19:47:37
wow... don't know what happened here it worked previously... !? :trucdeouf:

I'll check.

Yes the limit is 500. I know you love extreme things but... ;)

Dan



Post Edited ( 12-09-09 19:50 )


Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #21 - 09 December 2009, 19:49:09
Quote
Fox-Terrier wrote:
perhaps he hasn't finished yet ...
but why would you need a specific help ?

example:

Code: [Select]
[u]Model specific help or author note:[/u]

Azure Mars Rover model by Dansteph

Press "5" to toggle radar animation

Model designed for Mars exploration based on my view of
rover in the robinson's trilogy "Green Mars"

can carry up to four crew member and two cargos.


---------------------
WHANT TO ADD A CAR ? ---------------
---------------------
Doing new cars for UCGO does not
require any programming, just a mesh
and a config file. See complete
help in doc.
------------------------------------


As you see author may want to put a specific help or their name or whatewer.
In this case I added also a litle advertisment for cars authors.

Dan



Post Edited ( 12-09-09 19:54 )


Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #22 - 09 December 2009, 19:52:35
EDIT: I know what happened...

As I moved the config to UCGO folder for scenery editor the filename is not the same.
I should exclude the path "UCGO/Cars" from the filename.

This show one freaking things: clearing bugs or adding feature can introduce new bug.
This is why as we approach a release its more and more dangerous to make changes

Dan


Offline the.punk

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 80
  • Karma: 0
Reply #23 - 09 December 2009, 19:59:29
Quote
DanSteph wrote:
wow... don't know what happened here it worked previously... !? :trucdeouf:

I'll check.

Yes the limit is 500. I know you love extreme things but... ;)

Dan

500 is ok I think. Normaly I wouldn't have noticed it but as I messed around with the engine power (everything must
be tested) I noticed it. It's ok that it is 500.




Offline Fox-Terrier

  • League of
  • Legend
  • ******
  • Posts: 1426
  • Country: Switzerland ch
  • Karma: 28
  • :D
Reply #24 - 09 December 2009, 20:07:36
Quote
DanSteph a écrit:
Quote
Fox-Terrier wrote:
perhaps he hasn't finished yet ...
but why would you need a specific help ?

example:

Code: [Select]
[u]Model specific help or author note:[/u]

Azure Mars Rover model by Dansteph

Press "5" to toggle radar animation

Model designed for Mars exploration based on my view of
rover in the robinson's trilogy "Green Mars"

can carry up to four crew member and two cargos.


---------------------
WHANT TO ADD A CAR ? ---------------
---------------------
Doing new cars for UCGO does not
require any programming, just a mesh
and a config file. See complete
help in doc.
------------------------------------


As you see author may want to put a specific help or their name or whatewer.
In this case I added also a litle advertisment for cars authors.

Dan
Dan:
I don't know if we understood us all correctly :
I understood that JackL wants to have one "help" pro car, and that the code text example that you mention doesn't show up. I
think that you never wrote a specific help for the azure (because I have never sawn it)

I don't know if your code gives the ability to show the text directly in the car or if it is just in the text files like doc ?