See site in english Voir le site en francais
Website skin:
home  download  forum  link  contact

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: [Closed] [BETA9] of DeltaGliderIV  (Read 29475 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
28 April 2007, 04:12:52
Only for members of beta team list - Do not post if you're not members - Thanks




BETA 9 of DeltaGliderIV

For a list of DGIV new features and improvment see past beta thread: (closed)
1st: http://orbiter.dansteph.com/forum/index.php?topic=11922.msg183132#msg183132
2nd http://orbiter.dansteph.com/forum/index.php?topic=11925.msg183236#msg183236
3rd http://orbiter.dansteph.com/forum/index.php?topic=11929.msg183340#msg183340
4th http://orbiter.dansteph.com/forum/index.php?topic=11938.msg183499#msg183499
5th http://orbiter.dansteph.com/forum/index.php?topic=11984.msg184212#msg184212
6th http://orbiter.dansteph.com/forum/index.php?topic=11986.msg184353#msg184353
7th http://orbiter.dansteph.com/forum/index.php?topic=11999.msg184727#msg184727
8th http://orbiter.dansteph.com/forum/index.php?topic=12010.msg185107#msg185107



Here's the DGIV BETA 9:

Download:
You must have received a PM with the link to the beta file, please do NOT publish this link.


List of correction since BETA 8:


DGIV:

-Corrected all scenario so control state are correct (ATM AUTO when in ground ROT in space)
-Corrected code so when spawned by editor the default control is ATM AUTO.
-added some sound also when switching control.
-Bug corrected with hover unable to maintain altitude (slowly descending)
-Doc available (see shortcut created by installer)
-Changed D3 (reentry) display
-Reworked completely G calculation, now you have vertical component (head/feets) and total displayed in D3. Also
Negative G are worse for crew.
-New check-list "Vessel limitation chart"
-Changed data on the small Hud.
-Many other stuffs.

PreludeII:
-New advanced base Prelude II, try it ! (see "what cool" scn in "tutorial"  and the mission "beautiful landing on
phobos")


UMmu:
-Solved attachment bug, hand and back could grapple the same object with odd effect.
-Corrected typo.
-Grappling turbopack now inhibit Auto Chute (can be enabled again with "J" key)
-Added an "Orbital Hud" (press "M") for funny missions.
-BUG in Ummu help text: display square at end of lines.
-Solved bug fuel on EVA (RCS fuel not full)
-Solved bug Ummu not moving on lunar ground.



Still On my TODO List:
-News scenario, correction of typo and other things in scenarios.
-documentation (help in english welcome)
-New DGIV download page on this site





Much thanks for testing :)

Dan



Message modifié ( 28-04-2007 04:20 )


Offline Quick_Nick

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 446
  • Karma: 0
Reply #1 - 28 April 2007, 05:53:11
:) :) :)!!!
Finally! Prelude II base!!!
Much thanks for your fantastic work! I am glad that you continue to work on it all in spite of all of life's interuptions.

Quick shower then testing.(another of life's interuptions, lol! ;))



Post Edited ( 04-28-07 05:56 )

-Nick

Offline willy88

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 332
  • Karma: 0
Reply #2 - 28 April 2007, 06:08:08
WOW! The sounds for Prelude II are AMAZING! Maybe you should redo some of the sounds in OrbiterSound?

And I found no bugs so far...



Post Edited ( 04-28-07 06:08 )

_________

Offline sunshine135

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 547
  • Country: United States us
  • Karma: 3
  • I fly by the seat of my pants!
Reply #3 - 28 April 2007, 06:48:28
Holy cow!!! Too much fun. Changing the crew and adding new crew. You have certainly raised the bar far beyond any other add
on Dan. I love the base.


I love the female voice welcome at the beginning, but unfortunately, that is your first bug.

She says Welcome to DeltaGliderV(5) not DeltaGliderIV(4)

Check the .wav file for yourself!!!


Otherwise, what a totally awesome base. I'm with Willy88, the ATC callouts along with the hum of the base are just so cool....

I see room for some custom ATC packagesin the future:

"GL-01 check gear down and contact ground on 122.3 upon arrival"


Just awesome. I'm speechless.


"Sun Dog"

Offline Quick_Nick

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 446
  • Karma: 0
Reply #4 - 28 April 2007, 07:04:11
Successful flight from Phobos-Mars-Phobos(PreludeII-Olympus-PreludeII) Dropped off some cargo. Very nice base Dan!
Note: Don't try to walk around the base. lol. Interesting results. Takes very little RCS to stay floating. Walking causes
drifting into air and then tilting over. Very very low gravity. Hard to keep the DG from floating at least a tiny bit and
slowly crawling across the base. Sort of a challenge, although thrusting downward will plant you in one spot. No bugs
found yet. Good job Dan! BETA10=Gold? :)


-Nick

Offline sunshine135

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 547
  • Country: United States us
  • Karma: 3
  • I fly by the seat of my pants!
Reply #5 - 28 April 2007, 07:15:11
Dan,

Checked out the Extreme Turbochuting and confirmed the bug had cleared where the chute was staying inflated even after
landing.


It works better than perfect!!! I was thinking in Beta 8 how it would be really cool if the individual who was turbochuting
went breathless and the heart rate went up. I was afraid you would say it would take too much change in code. It was a very
nice surprise to see you added that with the UMmu changes you made. Beta 9 was well worth the wait.

I also noted the new mini-hud you created, and the call outs on the control position switch. Many neat little details here and there.

Cheers,



Post Edited ( 04-28-07 07:18 )

"Sun Dog"

Offline R Groszewski

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 114
  • Karma: 0
Reply #6 - 28 April 2007, 07:22:59
All I can say is plain "WOW". Dan, you deserve a truck load of beer and a Porche full 'o cash :gift: . The only thing I
thought was not goodwas when You are in the Prelude II base, then go to the Crew list, and then switch to a Ummu
outside, and enter that Ummu into the base, that person will not enter the crew lis, and will enter a duplicate name
of someone already on the list.  Any answers?


"Air Force Four-Five, it appears your engine has...oh, disregard...I see you've already ejected." -Heard on Scanner, KORD


Offline sunshine135

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 547
  • Country: United States us
  • Karma: 3
  • I fly by the seat of my pants!
Reply #7 - 28 April 2007, 07:53:05
Dan,

Possible bug. The DGIV, when parked in the hangar is showing a sinking about half way into the pavement. I noticed a little
sinking on the pad on landing, but not nearly like below:





"Sun Dog"

Offline aus_pilot

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 38
  • Karma: 0
Reply #8 - 28 April 2007, 09:18:36
Quote
sunshine135 wrote:
Dan,

Possible bug. The DGIV, when parked in the hangar is showing a sinking about half way into the pavement. I noticed a little
sinking on the pad on landing, but not nearly like below:


I think, from memory, that this is an Orbiter limitation - unless your hanger floor happens to be at exact ground level,
you'll have this issue.

I haven't yet installed the new Beta. (I'm downloading it now.) I'll have a look at the Documentation, too. How would you
like edits to be submitted? Or would you prefer one of us to do the whole thing? As I'm happy to do that also.


________________________________________________________________

Do you need launch facilities? Visit Ant  Aerospace at http://antaerospace.freehostia.com


Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #9 - 28 April 2007, 11:58:36
Quote
sunshine135 a écrit:
She says Welcome to DeltaGliderV(5) not DeltaGliderIV(4)


Ooops, to much anticipation :)

Quote
sunshine135 a écrit:
Possible bug. The DGIV, when parked in the hangar is showing a sinking about half way into the pavement.


This question should be in the VVFAQ (very very frequently etc etc) ;)

Phobos is so round that on a big base like this the floor is never at same level, try near airlock, you'll see that you are
over floor and at pad position your weel sunk a bit into ground.

To avoid too uggly visual trouble (half landing gear sunken) I had to lower the ground a bit.

Also making the ground "round" is not a solution, on each different asteroid or planet it will not match and cause
other display error.

As it is yet anyway if one know that it's an orbiter limitation it's not too much a problem
but I bet this question will come often in forums ;)

Dan



Message modifié ( 28-04-2007 12:50 )


Offline streb2001

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 43
  • Karma: 0
Reply #10 - 28 April 2007, 13:41:03
Opening annunciation: "Welcome in DeltaGlider Five" should say "Welcome on board the DeltaGlider Four" or "Welcome to the
DeltaGlider Four"

done.flg :top:

[ED] also these annunciators are still using old voice:

twenty.wav
thrustend.wav
oneminute.wav
countdown1.wav

Nice work!



Post Edited ( 04-28-07 13:54 )


Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #11 - 28 April 2007, 14:01:04
Quote
streb2001 a écrit:
done.flg


Nice detective job ;)
But will you find the easters eggs ? :badsmile: (without reverse enginering and in pm if you find please)

Can someone correct the full text please ? (or give a better one?)

Welcome on board the DeltaGliderIV the most advanced ship of the spacetech company.
We are glad to have you onboard. To get started and learn DeltaGlider4 please run all tutorial scenarios



Did you tried the new "G" display with D3 in atmospheric flight ?
you can even make "zero G bell curve" , I find this very cool
as you can better imagine what the poor crew face during flight ;)

Dan



Message modifié ( 28-04-2007 14:03 )



Message modifié ( 28-04-2007 14:36 )


Offline streb2001

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 43
  • Karma: 0
Reply #12 - 28 April 2007, 14:37:35
"Welcome aboard the Delta Glider Four, Spacetech's latest and most advanced spacecraft. We hope your spacefaring experience
will be  pleasant and safe. To familiarise yourself with your new ship's systems and operations, please run the tutorial
scenarios
."

Is this cheesy enough?

(Sorry, didn't realise it was a secret!) :stupid:


Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #13 - 28 April 2007, 15:02:42
Quote
R Groszewski a écrit:
go to the Crew list, and then switch to a Ummu outside, and enter that Ummu into the base, that person will not
enter the crew lis, and will enter a duplicate name of someone already on the list.  Any answers?

Bug cleared in next beta... list refreshed when a crew enter and you are on this menu.

Thanks

Dan


Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #14 - 28 April 2007, 15:03:59
Quote
streb2001 a écrit:
(Sorry, didn't realise it was a secret!) :stupid:

the welcome voice no, but there is other "easter egg" :badsmile:

Dan


Offline sunshine135

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 547
  • Country: United States us
  • Karma: 3
  • I fly by the seat of my pants!
Reply #15 - 28 April 2007, 15:12:42
Quote
DanSteph wrote:
Phobos is so round that on a big base like this the floor is never at same level, try near airlock, you'll see that you are
over floor and at pad position your weel sunk a bit into ground.

To avoid too uggly visual trouble (half landing gear sunken) I had to lower the ground a bit.


Ah. Such is life when you are trying to land on a potato, but if I didn't bring it up, it would have been a "bug" that
needed reporting. I rather be too verbose than not enough.

Cheers,


"Sun Dog"

Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #16 - 28 April 2007, 15:21:37
Quote
sunshine135 a écrit:
Ah. Such is life when you are trying to land on a potato, but if I didn't bring it up, it would have been a
"bug" that
needed reporting. I rather be too verbose than not enough.

Sure, no problems, good job :top:

Dan


Offline Voyager

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 74
  • Karma: 0
Reply #17 - 28 April 2007, 15:41:54
Damn nice base Dan, had a lovely time flying from Phobos to Mars and back to Phobos. Only the landing was hard again, damn gravity on phobos :P I ended up having to glue the ship to the pad using constant downwards thrust, it just wouldn't stop bouncing :)

I was wondering if you created your own version of 3D surface collision detection, but i see you just used phobos's "real" surface :) I'll put it through it's paces later today, see if any bugs turn up.



Post Edited ( 04-28-07 15:55 )


Offline n122vu

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 150
  • Karma: 1
Reply #18 - 28 April 2007, 17:21:45
Just downloaded the package this morning.  Can't wait to test.  Will be a few days though.  Wife is in the hospital.  

At any rate, I will test as soon as I can to ensure my reported bug(s) are cleared and report my findings.

Thanks again Dan for all of your amazing work.  

Regards,

n122vu



Offline Quick_Nick

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 446
  • Karma: 0
Reply #19 - 28 April 2007, 18:08:03
Quote
Voyager wrote:
I ended up having to glue the ship to the pad using constant downwards thrust, it just wouldn't stop bouncing :)
Can bounce you higher if you do that. You just need to about equal velocity and then go down very very slowly. Then
once touching the ground you may slowly move up a few centimeters and then just thrust down. Basically, don't
thrust down too much, get about as close to 0 as possible.


-Nick

Offline DanSteph

  • Administrator
  • Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 15407
  • Karma: 256
  • Hein, quoi !?
    • FsPassengers
Reply #20 - 28 April 2007, 19:16:20
Quote
Quick_Nick a écrit:
you may slowly move up a few centimeters and then just thrust down. Basically, don't
thrust down too much, get about as close to 0 as possible.

I use the pro500 to null speed at 50cm above ground and then let it drop gently,
no bumps at all.

Dan


Offline Voyager

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 74
  • Karma: 0
Reply #21 - 28 April 2007, 21:42:57
Well my "ram the gear in the paveway" tactic does the trick as well ;). Just throw enough newtons at a problem and it will be
solved. Hehe :)


Offline Voyager

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 74
  • Karma: 0
Reply #22 - 28 April 2007, 23:48:39
Dan,

I may have found a bug (or multiple bugs :(), it happened accidentally. I tried your mission to land on phobos new Prelude II base, and ended up
not braking, so i slammed into phobos, hoven engines, landing gear and the computer we're gone (Blue screen). So i couldn't
use killrot to stop my rotation. I tried to think my way out of this problem, by cutting of the power to the APU, and by
using the battery, restarting it. Then reactivating the generators and then all other systems, thinking my problem was gone,
I tried to killrot....no go on the RCS. I checked the RCS switch, and the control switch was on RCS Rot, so that was not a
problem, still my RCS fails to fire, manually or on AP, yet my main engines and retro engines work like they should.

I have run the same scenario 3 more times, all landing too hard on my gear, and causing the computer to go blue screen on me,
in all 4 cases it was the same. RCS works fine right after crash, yet after performing a hard reboot on my ship's computer,
the RCS doesnt work, while the main and retro engines work fine.

Also a maybe related bug: When i crash i'll get red lights on the HENG, FC and SYS, which seems ok. When i push the alarm
reset switch the SYS light goes away and right after the hard boot of my power systems the FC light is also gone, leaving
only the HENG error light on.

I hope i dont cause you too much work with this Dan :(

EDIT: I did some more checking, and by just cutting power to the main bus and then reactivating the switch (instead of a
complete APU shutdown), the computer rebooted after the blue screen and the Killrot works fine, just like the (undamaged)
engines.

Also, after more checking, shutting down the APU in flight on a undamaged DGIV and rebooting it, causes the RCS engines to
work like they should, so this does seem to be a specific computer related problem.

I've been trying to get the computer to crash by editing the scenario and setting FailComputerBlueScreen 1 but it doesnt seem
to want to respond to my commands, the computer still works normal even after setting FailComputerBlueScreen 1 on all the
scenario's I tried :(

Anyway here are some snibbits from the scenario files, they might shed some light on the situation:

Relevant failures right after crash (all the ones not noted here are set to 0)
  FailGearCollapse 1
  FailLeftMainEngine 0
  FailRightMainEngine 0
  FailHoverEngine 1
  FailRcs 0
  FailSurfaceControl 0
  FailComputer 0
  FailComputerBlueScreen 1

Relevant failures after crash, and after APU reboot:
  FailGearCollapse 1
  FailLeftMainEngine 0
  FailRightMainEngine 0
  FailHoverEngine 1
  FailRcs 0
  FailSurfaceControl 0
  FailComputer 0
  FailComputerBlueScreen 0

Also, I had the FC error light on before i pressed Ctrl-Q to check the DGIV failures by opening the scenario file, and after
i loaded it again, the FC error light was off.



Post Edited ( 04-28-07 23:50 )


Offline streb2001

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 43
  • Karma: 0
Reply #23 - 29 April 2007, 01:15:39
Not sure if this is a bug but I can't get the ascent AP to work in the following:

Landed KSC depart ISS scenario:

Take-off KSC R33.

Throttle back to about 70% when at safe height and speed (about 270m/s)

Select P903S42, Enter, E

Computer immediately asks for Turbo to be engaged (even though < max thrust).

(Engage Turbo, turbo cuts out)

Ascent AP climbs steeply and continues on less than 100% thrust, airspeed drops and eventually stalls. Can't manually set the
throttle while AP engaged.

AP works fine if the throttle is at 100% when AP engaged.

I would expect the AP to throttle up for the climb. The instructions on the flight computer don't specify that ascent AP
should be engaged while at full thrust.


Offline Twilight

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 43
  • Karma: 0
Reply #24 - 29 April 2007, 02:54:02
Sorry for not being a Beta teste and still posting here, but Voyager, I don't think you have a bug.

When you cut power to the APU, you lose all power, including engines. Then you restarted the computer, and forgot
to clear the "loss of power" errors on the engine console, thus, all of your engines are disabled. Just like when you
cut power to the engine on the top panel, then turn it back on, you have to clear the errors before your engines work
agian.

Try that.

As for the other bug, ask the other dan ;]